We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelers beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Newburgh
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Travelers beware!”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I spent two nights at this hotel. First impression was it looked kinda dated and in need of renovations. Lobby area wasn't too bad but as soon as I got my room key parked and walked into the lower hallway of the guest area it went downhill. The hallway had an odor and the carpets were not very clean. Opening the door to the guest room showed just how unkept the rooms were. Sure the beds were made but the doors were dirty the bathroom was filthy, the floor was disgusting and there was mildew on the caulking on the tub surround. The floor was dirty in the corners and behind the toilet. This hotel is definitely overpriced. I would never stay here again but unfortunately it was the last hotel with vacancy near Orange County Choppers and the event I was attending there.

Room Tip: Choose a room elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTomo170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    101
    116
    107
    98
See reviews for
163
99
69
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This place lacks maintenance and cleanliness.
The matresses need a change, the pool's empty, the room stinks and needs renovation. On top of that, there's a woman who throws you out of the breakfast lounge at 9:30, even if you're still eating!
There are a lot of other options in the area.
I wish I'd paid a bit more and find a better place!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myriam_traveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I got to the hotel bracing myself for the worst.

The reviews were very misleading - I was pleasantly surprised.

The rooms were spacious and clean, the breakfast was full and comprehensively "Continental"

Off the beaten track and right next to Paul Teutul's OCC

Orange County Choppers (OCC) is a custom and production motorcycle manufacturer based in Orange County, New York

A bargain price - will go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
187 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We choose a bad night (weekend) to get a room in Hazelton, PA - Friday night of Nascar weekend at the Pocono Speedway. Had to drive 140 miles to find a non-smoking room for less than $199.00.
The Comfort Inn up the street wanted $149, we drove down to the HJ where the room was $89, but the very nice desk clerk gave us $10 off as it was almost 1:30am.
The room was fine, WIFI worked in the morning, shower was hot, king-size bed was ok. We didn't eat at the breakfast bar, but they had 'make your own waffles' amongst the usual continental breakfast stuff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fflbrgst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This hotel is bad, very bad.... I stopped to this hotel on my way to Cape May, NJ. I wanted to stay for one night only... At the beginning the owner was very kind, he said he had a lot of rooms available (it was a Monday...) When it was time to pay, I gave him a coupon that I've got from roomsaver.com, a coupon that was effective through July 31st (we were the 25th!!)... So it was good, but then he said that he didn't accept this coupon and that he had no room for me... WHAT??? Five minutes earlier there was a room for me and because I had a coupon, he didn't have one now??? When I told him the coupon and argued with him abouot this, he told me that I was STUPID!!!!! Yeah, yeah, STUPID!!!!! I don't think that when you deal with customers you have the right to treat them the way he did!! That's very unprofessional.... I'm glad I didn 't stay there and I will not recommend this hotel to anybody..... If you plan on going to Woodbury Commons, go to the American Budget Inn instead in Harriman, it's across the street from the Outlets, and there they accepted my discount coupon without arguing....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburgh
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newburgh Stewart Airport
3.4 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Newburgh Stewart Airport
3.6 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Newburgh Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
13.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
0.5 km away
Super 8 Newburgh - West Point Stewart Intl Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh
Address: 95 Route 17k, Newburgh, NY 12550-5009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Newburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Newburgh
Price range (per night): $94 - $163
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh Hotel Newburgh
Howard Johnson Hotel Newburgh
Howard Johnson Newburgh
Newburgh Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing