We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaper - you get what you pay for”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

For this location we were cost driven as we just needed a place to grab some sleep between two busy touring days. There were other similarly priced motels and since this was a chain, we expected a little bit better than what we got.
A well posted notice on the office entry door informed us that the water needed to be boiled. I asked the check-in agent why the notice was posted. She indicated there had been an unacceptable elevation of sulfur in the water that had already been addressed and they were waiting for a new inspection before removing the notice. We noticed the odor, did a quick wash up in the sink and went to bed. In the morning the sulfur smell was even greater and we opted to pass on taking a shower.
The room was clean and spacious though in need of a good painting. The tub we never used still had a sizable partially worn off product sticker on the face of the tub. The tub appeared to be at least a year old. There was no light in the entry "foyer" which was where hangers hung on an pole within the foyer. The lighting was poor in general, the mattresses were comfortable enough though very lightweight and easily slid on the box when you sat or lied down on them. There was a simple to use a/c heater unit and the Wi-fi was OK in our room. The breakfast was coffee, tea, Sunny-D, bread and bagels for toasting, mini muffins and mini buns and bananas. No comfortable place to eat it so take the tray from your room and bring it back to your room to eat.
In general the whole motel needs an update,if not an upgrade.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

After reading some reviews, I was a little disappointed when this was the only available place to stay near New Paltz on Alumni Reunion weekend. But the welcome was warm, the room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the shower was hot. The exterior belies the comfort of the interior rooms. And the continental breakfast in the office is a nice touch. No, its not a Ritz Carlton, but it is more than adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIGuy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Stayed at the Econo Lodge for 1 night for a weekend getaway in New Paltz. It's a nice enough place. There was a used towel in our bathroom. I guess they just forgot to take it for cleaning. Otherwise it was clean and quiet. We did hear next door chatting when we got there, but it was quiet at night. We didn't do the breakfast, but it's a tiny place. The woman at check in was very nice and helpful. I would think this would book quickly come foliage, so it's fine for a night and better than some others as I have read.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMaskedwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

my room was clean, staff was helpful and friendly. This hotel is called Econo Lodge for a reason, breakfast was quite inadequate probably due to the space constraints give the hotel lobby and lack of common areas. this is a good place to stay if you are looking for a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glotzsmile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Last week we stayed in two rooms with a family of six persons. Rooms are good, clean and spacey. Fred the owner welcomed us very friendly and was helpful. I can really recommend this place for a stay if you don't have your expectations high.

Room Tip: Quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _j_oostlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
12 km away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
334 reviews
7.2 km away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
17.6 km away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
26.2 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 530 Main St, New Paltz, NY 12561-1609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range: $76 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge New Paltz
Econo Lodge New Paltz
Econo Lodge New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing