We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Very Best in Montauk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ocean Resort Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2011

I make a trip to the Ocean Resort Inn three or four times every summer and look forward to returning every year. The location is great - across the street from the beach and walking distance to town and the rooms are IMMACULATE!!!!!

I have know Ginny, the innkeeper for the past 25 years - I used to stay at another resort she owned. She is one of the reasons I return year after year. She is warm and welcoming and she and her entire staff go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. You will absolutely love this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ALEXISMICHELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
There are newer reviews for The Ocean Resort Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

656 - 660 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed at the Ocean Resort Inn for our honeymoon. It was my first trip to Montauk. Ginny and the staff were so friendly, informative and very accommodating. The view of the ocean from our room was beautiful. The room was so clean and had everything we needed. If we forgot something, the staff was efficient in getting it to us. They had everything you need right there at your fingertips. The location was great! It was seconds to the beach and within walking distance to the charming town and awesome restaurants. We will definitely make this our anniversary spot for years to come. Thanks Ginny and staff at Ocean Resort Inn for the great time we had and for the amazing hospitality you showed us. Bobby and Angela T

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleonetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Booked 2 rooms at the Ocean Resort Inn for a July 2010 stay to celebrate my daughters 16th birthday, at least that was the plan. When we arrived to check in Ginny went ballistic, I can’t even repeat the language used but the gist of it was she refused our entry to the resort and told us to “GET OUT because we had to many people”. Well, as the mother of 2 children I was mortified and my daughter was crushed. After being thrown out of the Ocean Resort Inn we needed a place to stay and the Ocean Beach, Royal Atlantic and several other hotels in the area were more than willing to accept our business. It seams strange to me that every other hotel we visited was willing to accept our group with open arms but, the Ocean Resort Inn who knows my family as respectful and responsible people refused our business. Lucky for us there were vacancies at these other resorts and we settled on two ocean front rooms at the Ocean Beach and, they were more than accommodating.
We have stayed at Ginny’s resort in the past with out incident but this episode has convinced me that Ginny should not be running a resort or any other business for that matter. Her behavior that day bordered on criminal and as for her professionalism, when my husband called to check the status of our refund, he was told that it would be sent out when “she is good and ready”.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
15  Thank beachnut88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerrorMontaukNY, General Manager at The Ocean Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2010

Reservation was made for 4 persons per room for a total of 8 persons. I can not believe I after being in the hospitality business since 1975 could have been decieved and lied to in the manner I was by this reviewer. Yes I did tell the review to leave the property> Limo drpped off 9 young girls and they were sneaking with pillow under their arms to to one of the room that accommodate 4 only. I am mandated by the Town Fire Marshall and I have never in all my years in business ever allow more people in a room than if called for. Fire safety issue. One only has to go back to the fire in White Plains NY that brought fire safety rules and regulations into the hospitality business.

Of course I can expond on I said, she said but in the end I know I did the right thing and am not sorry. I, do not like to be deceived or lied to it's not my makeup. Honesty is always the best policy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Despite having confirmed, reconfirmed my reservation, and giving my credit card information, the angry-at-the world, rude, and unprofessional ("don't argue with me, you are messing with the wrong person") proprietress Ginny told me that they no longer had my reservation, given my room away, and it was my fault for not re-confirming the reservation a second time. Not to mention the nasty follow-up email where she asks "how in the world did you think that no contact since July, or a charge on you AMEX, would guarantee you a reservation". Golly, that's how to make a reservation at every other hotel in the world. And here I thought hotels hold your credit card info if you don't show up to charge a penalty. Stupid me...

Too bad I had a wedding to go to that weekend, and nowhere to stay.

If you value having a room when you arrive, don't try to book here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Service
10  Thank bbb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerrorMontaukNY, General Manager at The Ocean Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2010

Reservation was canceled. IT'S very hard to call someone living in Turkey with no phone contact number to inform them that reservation made in June for a wedding in Montauk in September was canceled. Reviewer was never charged in June on credit card for the reservation in June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

ORI is a nice hotel located beach side in the village of Montauk. The rooms and the property are extremely well kept, big plus! Thelocation is either a love it or hate it type spot.

If you like being in a congested area where you can walk across the street to the beach and walk across the other side of the street for food, ice cream, gift shops etc., then this destination is for you. If however, you are looking for a place with a scenic view and want an ocean get away without carnival noise, traffic and congestion; this is not the place to go.

Overall, I give ORI high marks for cleanliness and service but low marks for price. Simply not worth $300/night (although it is probably on the high end of comparable with other local spots).

Summary, if you like to be at the center of the beach town with lots of other families and don’t want to get in your car for 7 days but be able to access everything then ORI is great. If you are looking for something a little more rustic, look on Old Montauk Highway, there are lots of nice places there that offer very scenic views and a closeness with nature.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank javajoe128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.1 km away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
359 reviews
4.3 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
4.3 km away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Montauk Manor
Montauk Manor
#12 of 39 in Montauk
508 reviews
0.3 km away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#11 of 39 in Montauk
222 reviews
7.8 km away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#18 of 39 in Montauk
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Resort Inn

Address: 95 S. Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
#1 Family Hotel in Montauk
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montauk
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range: $163 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ocean Resort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Resort Inn is located 65 footsteps from the beach and captivating coastlines of the breathtaking Atlantic Ocean in Montauk. Our inn offers clean and Cozy rooms, in-room Jacuzzi tubs and provides a peaceful retreat after a day of having fun in the sun on one of the many beautiful ocean beaches Montauk has to offer. We provide bikes for guests to ride, beach passes for local beaches and free Wi-Fi.We pride ourselves on providing the cleanest, most luxurious suites in Montauk. Every aspect of your stay is designed to be comforting and memorable, inside and outside of the inn. Our central courtyard provides guests with the additional luxury of relaxing in a hammock or Adirondack porch swing, barbecuing or picnicking.This ideal location reflects the relaxing and soothing atmosphere that you will experience. We look forward to seeing you at The Ocean Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your The Ocean Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Montauk
Ocean Motel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing