We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
300
133
63
46
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
133
63
46
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit roman bath steam room sea water guest services room upgrade beach club off season ocean front the entire resort saltwater pool year round fitness center bedroom cottage front desk manager restaurant staff summer months
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2018

I want to commend Ginny Davis, the event coordinator for the wedding this past Friday night for all of her help and hard work. She worked hard to be sure the wedding was everything the bride and groom wanted it to be. Kudos to Ginny!!!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lovemyPyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelNenner290, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear lovemyPyr,

Thank you for the praise for Ginny and we agree that she's priceless! The wedding on Friday as beautiful and we appreciate your assistance as well.

Hope to see you at another wedding soon.

Regards,
Michael Nenner
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Dear Traveler,

My loved one and I decided to take a summer beach holiday. Visiting the Hampton's there are many charming communities but nothing with direct beach access. This August we decided to follow the North Shore of Long Island to The End. There lies a Fisherman of a village Montauk and a resort called Gurney's. We could not believe what an incredible transformation and renovation. It was our first time but certainly not our last. Gurney's has transformed itself into a year round world class resort and spa. Being the advent travelers, it felt more like St. Tropez than Long Island. The beach is beautiful and the staff are all amazing. Extremely helpful and very accommodating.

Each morning there is an amazing breakfast, and in the evenings we dined at Scarpetta's. Delicious modern Italian cuisine. It was so wonderful, I must confess we never even left the resort. Although, there are many steps to Gurney’s, at a moments notice a young staff member arrived in a dune buggy ready to whisk us across the beach and up to the main house. Now that is service!

I sincerely highly recommend you travel to the end of Long Island and experience for yourself this very special place. Thank you to each and every staff member from Management to Housekeeping. See you soon.

Safe Travels,

AnthonyVNYC

Room tip: Deluxe ocean front king
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelNenner290, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Anthony V,

Thank you for the wonderful comments, support and praise for our team members. They all work very hard to make experiences like yours happen for all of our guests.

We do hope that your travels bring you back to Montauk or to our Newport property. Please contact me for future assistance.

Regards,
Michael Nenner
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

We went here for our 25th anniversary, thinking mid-September would be a wonderful time to relax and enjoy an ocean-view room. I had the bad luck of injuring my knee a week before our vacation. With limited mobility, it was painfully obvious that this place is a nightmare if you can't climb stairs. Luckily, the bellman showed us a service elevator that we managed to use to at least get to and from our room floor and the dining areas. If our room were not in the main building (300's), we would have been totally out of luck. We had booked several spa appointments - the women's lockers and spa is down several flights of stairs. The pool is down the stairs as well. Absolutely no elevators. The weather was iffy, so the beach was quiet But on the 1 sunny day, we could hear the beach club music - so our balcony overlooking the ocean was not so quiet, I also noticed an ashtray on the balcony - no one near us smoked, but that could be a risk. The room was lovely, the bathroom clean and upscale - not totally ergonomic. Linens, towels, and amenities also nice. We found the staff to be cordial and helpful. We did eat breakfast and lunch most days at Tillie's - good food - not sure why a simple breakfast and lunch needed to cost an average of 60 dollars for 2 though - just food - no beverages. Don't say yes to toast with the omelet - they charge extra. We had our anniversary dinner at Scarpetta's. It was nice, pricey, and good but not exceptional. Honestly, we had some nice dinners at some of the other Montauk restaurants that week and I think we enjoyed a few of them more. This is not a place we'd return to in the future. Maybe they're going for a younger party crowd.

Room tip: The luxury king ocean view (300s) were in the main building and not a Himalaya-style hike to the beach
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SconeFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelNenner290, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear SconeFan,

Thank you for staying with us at Gurney's Montauk. We appreciate the feedback regarding the many elevations of the property. Being a beautiful oceanfront, 92 year old property with 17 different buildings and steps leading to the beach can be difficult to navigate. We do have elevators to the building you stayed in and hope to add one to the Spa during our renovation next year.

We do hope that you'll join us again for your future anniversaries and please called me for assistance in the future.

Regards,
Michael Nenner
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We have stayed in some of the finest hotels in the country and this was extremely disappointing. The first negative was having to climb down 47 steps just to get to our room and then back up to get anywhere in the resort. If it is raining or you are wearing heels it is not pleasant. Our room was old, very musty smelling, bathroom only room for one person at a time and the shower head was falling off. WE could not spend any time in our room except to sleep because it was so small, damp and uncomfortable. The indoor bar became our living room and with the prices they charge made it for a very costly addition to the already extremely high prices for what you get. Thank goodness for the bartender Gregory, he was a gem and made our visit there tolerable. Frustrating when you are sitting outdoors by the fire pit but can't order food until 4pm. I would say they have one good restaurant, Scarpettas which has an amazing chocolate cake. Portions are small so keep that in mind if you are a big eater. Tillies is an average place for breakfast and lunch. Lobby cafe is minimal in selections. The staff on the whole were not friendly like the front desk and concierge. Bell boy Ross was amazing and very helpful. We were so looking forward to spending time in the "famous" Regent Cocktail Club but it is only available if you are having an event there, ridiculous.
We do not see the attraction to this place other than the views. We will never be back!!!!!!

Room tip: make sure you ask for a room that has been recently updated (we didn't know this) Also keep in mind all the steps
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelNenner290, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Dear Diane M,

Thank you for your feedback and I'd like to speak further regarding your room location. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service from our team but would like the opportunity to discuss the room more.

Look forward to speaking.

Regards,
Michael Nenner
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

They wanted $750 to sit on the beach on September 8th, a past peak gray day if cold and drizzle. So we sat at one of their dingy picnic tables on the deck being closely watched to not leave the deck while listening to out of date EDM. and ended up with a $600 bill anyway as everything is outrageous price-wise. Service was terrible. $23 for an ordinary burger with chips. Odds are also quite high you will immensely dislike most of the tools in attendance as well.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank ExRIGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelNenner290, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear ExRIGuy,

My apologies for the experience you had on the beach. Our daybeds and lounges are held for resort guests but they should have worked something out with you if they were available later in the afternoon. Our apologies and please contact me in the future.

Regards,
Michael Nenner
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews