We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good LIC Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City View Inn
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
305 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good LIC Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Chose hotel becuse of price point [~$70/night], location [easy to city & island] & Best Western name. Old school converted to hotel. Clean, plenty of FAST hot water. Only down side is-it's in an industrial area [but safe]. Will be returning..Also they recommend the restaurant next door [Bantry Bay] which looks like a bar-BUT has great freshly prepared food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    93
    97
    35
    48
See reviews for
82
90
24
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My friend and me spent a week in thia hotel over New Year's.
Altogether the hotel is adequate.
Arriving at 2am in the morning, we were greeted by the smell of marijuna in the lift and corridors. It was there for another day or two, but the smoking guest seems to have departed fairly soon.
Our room was great, it had a kingsize bed, fridge, large TV, however the furniture was old and outdated. The best, or oddest thing was the large Jacuzzi that was part of the bedroom, not the bathroom. Having seen another bedroom on our departure, I think the hotel has given us an upgrade.
Our room was a smoking room, even though I selected non-smoking when making the booking. As the smell was bearable, we did not complain to reception.
Reception was manned mostly by foreign staff who could not speak very good English.
Breakfast was great, the buffet offers a reasonable selection of fresh fruit and yoghurt, donuts, bagels, cereal, and also has a waffle maker. And, be warned that they only have throwaway styrofoam cups and plates, and plastic cutlery... Hard to comprehend for someone who comes from Europe, and something I have never encountered before!
The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle to the nearest Metro station, which guests are allowed to use once a day. The system works well enough leaving the hotel in the morning, but coming back at night we once had to wait for 30 mins and make 3 phonecalls to the hotel to be picked up, only to be toldon the second call that the driver had already been there and must have picked up someone else, despite me giving the hotel my name and a short description of what I was wearing...
Oh, and you are not allowed to use the shuttle service anymore once you have checked out, so we had to lug our suitcases to the Metro station which took about 20 mins.

The location of the hotel is quite good, even though it is in Queens and not central Manhattan, it is quick to get to get there as the Metro runs frequently.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moggele160283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here last weekend. We found it for 70 dollars plus tax, which makes it great. The hotel is a bit old, but clean, and I think they'are going to recarpet it. The rooms are big, plenty of hot water. The breakfast is pretty good for the price, they have cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, donuts, croissants, etc. They even had scrambled eggs. The nearest subway station is 40th street which is 15 minutes walking from the hotel, you can ask for the hotel trasnportation (only once a day) but it can take 15-20 minutes to arrive. You need to be careful, specially on weekends about the changes in the 7 line. There's free internet, free parking (they have plenty of space, I never found it full). There's a safety box but in the front desk, not in the room. Overall for the price, location so close to manhattan and the price makes it a very god alternative.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathyViajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Traveled Aug 2009 :The Hotel was barely ok. In the lobby i ran across hookers that were using the hotel for "business". The Front desk clerk was very univiting not good impression for our first time to NY. Parking is tight. The beds were ok the room decent a little bit aged but ok. The shuttle to and from the train station was fast and convenient. I wouldnt explore after dark to far from eye shot of hotel. I wouldnt stay again but for the price ehhh you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romero M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

As someone who has stayed in this hotel and now lives in the area, let me give you some background on what to expect. Other reviews have the actual hotel covered pretty well, but a few things need to be known about WHERE you're staying.

1. The hotel is in an industrial area. It is NOT a dangerous area by any stretch of the imagination. It sits between the neighborhoods of Sunnyside north of the expressway (ranked by New York Magazine as the 3rd best neighborhood in the city) and sparsely populated Blissville to the South. An 8 block trek to Queens BLVD will take you to the 7 train and a wide array of restaurants and bars. The hotel itself is surrounded by warehouses, a few older single family homes and a cemetery. The likelihood of being the victim of a crime here is nil.

2. You're not very close to anything. This hotel is cheap for a reason: you're a pretty decent hike from the subway and Sunnyside is really the only neighborhood to walk to. Though there is parking at the hotel, there is very little of it anywhere else you want to go to! If you're willing to hike a mile to the train, this is a great, cheap option. If not, stay somewhere closer to a train line. The nature of the Subway system makes some things look pretty deceiving. Staying in a hotel in much further out Forrest Hills that is right on a train line may end up getting you into Manhattan quicker.

If you're okay with a location a bit off the beaten path, this is a perfectly fine hotel at the best price you're going to get in the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Atom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Queens
Red Roof Inn Queens
#26 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.1 km away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#24 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.2 km away
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Fairfield Inn New York Long Isla...
#16 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hotel
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hot...
#27 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.0 km away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#29 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.1 km away
Motel 6 Long Island City
Motel 6 Long Island City
#23 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Inn

Property: City View Inn
Address: 3317 Greenpoint Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2011 (Formerly BEST WESTERN City View Inn)
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price range (per night): $136 - $222
Hotel Class:2 star — City View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your City View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City View Hotel Long Island City
Best Western Long Island City
Long Island City Best Western
City View Inn Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing