We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bottom line- poor night's sleep....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Latham
Certificate of Excellence
connecticut
Level Contributor
127 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Bottom line- poor night's sleep....”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Room faced the busy highway, exterior windows have no sound-proofing, hallway doors slam VERY loud and there some drunken lobbyists having a room party down the hall. Way too much going on to get any sleep..

Check in was smooth- breakfast wait for a coffee and muffin was 20 mins.
Room walls and doors in the room has significant nicks and dents, room PTAC unit overheats above setpoint, hotel lobby smelled like a Crabtree and Evelyn store.
Overall not the best experience

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHotelGroup, Owner at Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Sir:

I apologize for not getting back to you sooner in regards to your stay at Hotel Indigo in Albany. First let me extend to my deepest apologizes for your poor night stay. We here at Hotel Indigo pride our selves on giving the guest a " great experience" . We obviously did not provide that to you. Please give us another chance when visiting Albany next time, I promise you that " GREAT EXPERIENCE"

Regards:

Daniel Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    153
    54
    18
    10
See reviews for
84
91
29
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I had been looking forward to staying at a Hotel Indigo since the one near us in Boston opened. So when we decided to stop in Albany for the night I was delighted to learn there was a Hotel Indigo in Albany with a reasonable rate. Now I can only hope Albany does not represent the chain in general.

Upon entering the room you'll notice the major difference from most hotel rooms, a wood looking floor instead of carpet. A nice touch, which I would think would make the room easier to clean. Perhaps because there isn't a carpet to catch it, but everything had a thin layer of dust on it.

When we inspected the bathroom my wife found what was either dried snot or blood on the wall, and the grout in the shower did not look clean. Also, perhaps because it was a ADA accessible room, it did not appear to be a "spa" shower. I was ready to call the front desk and request a room change, but my wife was tired and wanted to settle in for the night.

Good luck settling in. The walls are so thin that the people speaking in conversational tones in the next room sounded like they were in ours. Some soundproofing would be a major improvement.

There are some pluses to this hotel - the attached restaurant and some of the staff. The attached restaurant will deliver food to your room. The food is decent and the prices aren't outrageous. The gentleman working the breakfast counter in the morning was very nice and was looking for ways to go out of his way to make guest happy.

In summary:

- The style is not for everyone, I liked it but my wife compared it to a dorm room.
- The restaurant is a plus.
- The man working the breakfast bar is great.
- Our room was not well cleaned.
- If you go, try to get a room where there there is no in the rooms on either side of you.
- If we stay in Albany again, it is highly unlikely to be here.

Room Tip: The highway is on the front side of the building and the airport in on the backside, but there was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wljcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear wljcr,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Thank you for the compliments on the restaurant and breakfast attendant. It is a brand standard for Hotel Indigo to have hardwood floors. If you decide to stay with us again and find something wrong with your room. Please
let us know. We will be happy to move you to a more acceptable room.

Thanks again,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Room is spacious, updated, very clean and well-decorated. Food in the attached BLu restaurant-bar was also great, as was the bartender. Fitness room equipment was out-dated, but other than that, Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Indigo for a single night while I was in Albany on business. This was my first time at this hotel brand, so I didn't totally know what to expect. I usually only stay at Crowne Plaza hotels. The hotel was very nice and everything was very clean. The front desk staff was eager to help and answer any questions I had. They were very attentive and always had a smile. The only issue I had is that the desks in the rooms are too tall for the desk chairs. This makes it very uncomfortable to get work done in your room and not very ergonomic. They really need to do something about this. Although, this was the only issue and it was a nice hotel, I may not stay there again until this issue is resolved.

Room Tip: The desk chairs are not tall enough for the desks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeStabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

On a recent trip to Albany, NY to attend a legislators conference I experienced one of the most pleasant and relaxing hotel stays I have ever had. The Hotel Indigo is a pleasant boutique style establishment that places a high priority on producing a calm and soothing environment for their guests. Everything from the prevalence of the color blue which is known for it's soothing psychological effect on the human mind to the photographic wall murals and artwork of fruit and other flora in the rooms and hallways is geared to create a pleasurable and relaxing condition. There is also the use of spiral icons from nature (Nautilus shell, pine cone, pineapple, sunflower and palm), which are all representations of the golden mean (Φ) a basic representation of the life and growth.
Added to this are the services and other amenities provided by the hotel. Take the Blu Stone Bistro which proffers an extensive menu from a kitchen that uses local sustainable farmed produce. I enjoyed a prixe fixe 4 course meal that was excellent and very affordable at $50. The very tasty grilled sea bass with a glazeonly slightly sweet was paired with a pleasant chardonnay. This was preceded by a salad accompanied by a fine Pouilly Fuisse. In between these courses there was a chilled lemon sorbet to cleanse the palate. The meal ended with mango cheesecake complemented by a Proseco. All in all a well prepared, healthy and satisfying meal.
The next day I was able to work some of the cheesecake off at the gym which boasted several machines and the luxury of an almost solitary session. The sauna at the end completed the effect of the exercise which left me rejuvenated and ready to continue on with the rest of my day.
I will definitely return here when my duties bring me back to Albany. The Indigo situated in Latham is only 15 mins by back road to downtown Albany and the center of political activity for New York State. A good choice when you want to get a little respite from fray.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseschiffino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latham
0.2 km away
The Desmond Hotel Albany
2.2 km away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
4.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham

Property: Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham
Address: 254 Wolf Road, Latham, NY 12110-4805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Latham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Latham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Latham
Price range (per night): $154 - $263
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Affordable Luxury at the New Hotel Indigo in Albany, New York The Hotel Indigo Albany - Latham is a sophisticated, Full-service hotel near the Albany International Airport (ALB), providing a complimentary shuttle to the airport. Our boutique hotel in Latham, NY is ideal for travelers who desire an oasis to escape from the ordinary, but value the traditional hospitality & services of a standard hotel. Our luxury Albany, NY accommodations offer convenient access to area attractions such as the Saratoga Race Course, Joe Bruno Stadium and the Times Union Center in downtown Albany. Our hotel is near premiere shopping spots including the Colonie Center Mall & upscale, downtown shopping on Pearl, Broadway and Lark Streets. Situated just north of Albany, our upscale hotel in Latham, NY offers close proximity to corporations in the Wolf Road Business District as well as Rensselaer Polytech, GE, the Albany Medical Center and various government offices. We also offer 1,200 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, free high-speed, Wi-Fi Internet access and well-appointed rooms with modern decor that are an oasis for the business traveler to Albany. While lodging at our pet friendly hotel in Albany, we hope you take advantage of our 24-hour fitness center and sauna, Golden Bean coffee shop, and our Blu Stone Bistro and Bar. For the best in luxury Albany accommodations, choose the new Hotel Indigo in beautiful Albany, NY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Latham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing