We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay for NY Road Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pines Inn of Lake Placid
Ranked #7 of 13 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We were on a NY road trip passing through Lake Placid. We stayed one night. I'm sorry but I would not stay here again. It was not what we expected and we did not have much choice of hotels for our date I think because it was a holiday weekend. The bed was comfortable but there were holes in the ceiling and floor for the plumbing, you could feel the dirt on the mini blinds. It rained and the rain water coming in the window near the a/c then showed all the dirt on the blinds. You could hear when people took a shower in another room and used the toilet from another room. The floors in the hallway made a creaking noise. We could hear the people go to their rooms at 2:00 a.m. The staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: maybe stay on the top floor so you can't hear other people using the shower/toilet???
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelGirlJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Bad part:
wow, where to begin? Door was jammed, almost impossible to open or close. The tiles in the bath are almost all loose--like they weren't actually glued down. The walls and floors are thin. We clearly heard every person who walked up the stairs, or in their rooms, at all hours. (BTW--putting up a polite sign about not talking and treading softly in the hallway would be a REALLY good idea!) Breakfast in any form? No--just the product of an ancient coffee/tea maker. We had the impression that the owners are just riding out their investment until the last drop.
And all this for $355 (including tax) for two nights. (!)
We would perhaps stay here again....if all other hotels in Lake Placid burned down.

Good part:
good location, walking distance to either Mirror Lake or Lake Placid; easy to park; friendly staff;

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors, should be less noise; rooms in different hotels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

My wife and I decided to join some old friends for a weekend in Lake Placid (in August). It seemed like most things were sold out (and/or very expensive) so I called the Pines Inn. I loved the style of the place, having been there a few time to eat at the always good 'Redneck Bistro'. It is an old Euro style hotel which has remained pretty old fashioned. I got the manager on the phone and she promptly found us a room and at a great rate.

The hotel itself is wonderful. There is a huge lounge inside with old style furniture and decor (you can almost imagine Teddy Roosevelt striding in) and a nice porch outside with great seating. There is no elevator and you have to use some narrow staircases to get to your room. Rooms are very small and simply furnished. Everything is clean and tidy although there are some small things like peeling wallpaper here and there... which adds a bit of charm to be honest.

Service is very good: very polite and friendly. Rates are great for Lake Placid. Yes, you have to do without electronic doors, elevators, and the latest gimmicks and technology. They do have free Wi-Fi and AC. Rooms are small but very nice. If you are coming to Lake Placid to explore, this is a great place to stay. It has free parking and is within walking distance of downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Went hiking in the Adirondacks with a bunch of friends, and the Pines was the ideal location for everything we needed to do. The porch was great to hang out and have our morning coffee, as well as have a nightcap at the bar downstairs, and the hosts were extremely attentive and friendly. It was a quick walk into town when we wanted to go exploring, and a 10-20 minute drive to the hiking trails we wanted to hit up.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Blair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill S, Owner at The Pines Inn of Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you! Love that you enjoyed the Inn and the Adirondacks! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We stay at the Pines during the Can-Am rugby tournament. This is an older hotel but the rooms are big and the owner is very nice. I like sitting on the patio and having a beer in the afternoon or evening. Even if the view is of the parking lot and road.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,355 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#30 of 32 in Lake Placid
178 reviews
0.2 km away
Town House Lodge
Town House Lodge
#11 of 32 in Lake Placid
102 reviews
0.3 km away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#29 of 32 in Lake Placid
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Inn of Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Inn of Lake Placid

Address: 2302 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3378
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range: $110 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pines Inn of Lake Placid 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World charm in the heart of the Adirondacks. A historic inn from the turn of the century. Step inside and into a more relaxing era. The Seggers, invite you into their home and by providing personalized customer service they ensure a unique experience. The location is a perfect mix of peaceful respite and ease of accessibility to all the town's main attractions. Free Wi-Fi; new custom spa; lovely sitting room; Old World veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pines Inn of Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Inn Of Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing