We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,296)
Filter reviews
1,296 results
Traveller rating
1,053
149
51
29
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,053
149
51
29
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling alleymovie theaterthe indoor outdoor poolkanu restaurantkanu loungebedroom suitethe ice cream parlorfull kitchenwasher dryergames roomturn down servicevalet servicefree popcornheated floorscookiesair hockeyskating rink
Filter
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 1,296 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Wonderful room - HUGE! I was worried about being cold but never a concern with fireplace, accurate thermostat and heated bathroom floor! Bedding was inviting and comfortable. Plenty to do within resort - pool is beautiful and well equipped fitness center. We were at a wedding and it was all done so well from the ceremony to the cocktail hour and reception.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

I am glad you enjoyed your Suite, every room at the Lodge is between 2 and 6 times larger than the average hotel room in New York State! Our all suite resort is really the perfect place to get married and I am glad you had a had a great experience at the wedding you attended here. Now that you discovered us we hope to see you back here for a vacation also.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Great experience. The whole resort and experience was great. Facilities and room was great. Staff very accommodating. Only downfall no direct shuttle to Whiteface. Outside heated pool in winter is fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Thank you for the kind review and we are glad you family had a great Ski trip with us! Most importantly we appreciate the complement to our staff, I truly feel they are what makes the Lodge as special as it is!
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Our family of five stayed here during Vermont winter break -- taking advantage of the "buy three, get the fourth night free" midweek deal, and it made our short vacation absolutely delightful. From the moment we walked in the lobby, we felt like we had entered another world, reminiscent of the bygone days when tycoons escaped to the adirondacks for luxurious "rustic" accommodations in sprawling lodges built with hand hewn beams, and decorated with rugged furnishings and big game taxidermy. Our spacious, two bedroom, two-bathroom, multi-floor suite continued that feeling and included a complete kitchen, dining room and living room that was warm and comfortable. Off of the main floor, there was a balcony that looked out on a gorgeous view of Whiteface mountain rising out of the forest.

The accommodations were definitely world class, but what we really loved about the Whiteface Lodge were all of the amenities that the resort offered. Downstairs, there's a game room with ping pong, pool table, foosball, air hockey, shuffle board and two full-size bowling lanes! There's a very nice fitness center with cardio machines, a complete nautilus circuit, a pulley station with pull-up bar, dumbbells up to 50 pounds and a collection of kettlebells and medicine balls. There's also a 50-seat surround sound movie theater that shows three movies a day (with free popcorn). A short walk through an underground (heated) tunnel takes you to the pool complex, where the large indoor-outdoor pool is open year round. It's bathwater warm -- which makes swimming outside not a problem. There are also three hot tubs (one inside and two outside) that hold ~ 15 people each. Just next to the pool complex is a fairly large outdoor ice skating rink with free skates & hot chocolate available whenever you want to give it a try.

Breakfast is served buffet style daily in a dramatic open room with fireplaces on either side and a windows looking out to the mountains. We had dinner in the Kanu lounge one night and found the pizza, burgers and salads (and beer selection) to be very good.

As you might expect, the service at Whiteface Lodge was fantastic. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. Our kids especially appreciated it when housekeeping would arrange their stuffed animals during the day -- and then left amazingly decadent chocolate chip cookies during the turndown service at night.

The Whiteface Lodge may seem expensive at first, but when you factor in the great service, amazing amenities and comfortable experience, it's definitely worth it. We loved it there!

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have a mountain view
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelinVtDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Ok you are hired! I am not sure I could describe the Lodge and its facilities any better and I am so glad you enjoyed them all! We hope to see you back again soon and appreciate the great review.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Wonderful Adirondack hotel, decorated in true North Woods style. Grand entry, multiple stone fireplaces, Oriental rugs, classic Flat Rock log furniture, updated suites with new kitchens, heated bath floors, etc. Lunch and dinner in gorgeous setting with cordial service. Perfect vacation for romantics...and families. So much to do that it's hard to partake in the all the hotel's amenities.

Room Tip: Suites are similar to a small home. Every amenity is anticipated.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NanaPeaPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Thank you for the review and great description of the Lodge. I must say you mention that the lodge is "perfect for romantics... and families" and this is truly a unique feature. With the large warm and cozy Suites, facilities for all ages to enjoy it really can be perfect for an Anniversary weekend and Family Getaway all at the same time.
We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

Yeah this place sucks because eventually you have to leave the most beautiful accommodations set in a slice of heaven of Lake Placid. From the moment you pull up at an exquisite entryway adorned with beautiful Adirondack fixtures you are immediately impressed! The cabin like decor throughout the resort is eloquent, beautiful , and super clean.
The service staff was very polite and super friendly. They were very accommodating, but we must give special recognition to our guy Adam! Adam did everything from taking care of our bags on arrival to driving the complimentary shuttle to and from Lake Placid Village all while guiding us on the best spots to eat,drink and shop. Thanks Adam for the tips you were more like our personal guide.
You can not stay at this resort without going into the Kanu Lounge and seeing the mixologist extraordinaire Zach and play "The Game"! He has come up with a concept like no other bartender and will create signature drinks based on your flavor profile. There is not one drink that is ever the same and not one that was ever bad!! In our eyes it's genius and soooo much fun!!!
There is nothing bad to say, not a complaint to be had, just it sucks that we couldn't stay longer!!!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lvatrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Thank you for the great review, at first glance I was worried but the clever title will certainly get a lot of readers. We were sad you had to leave as well but we are looking forward to your next visit already.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews