We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful!”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House
Pontoon Boat at our Dock Beach with fishing boat, canoe, and sailboat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Front of House
Pontoon Boat at our Dock
Beach with fishing boat, canoe, and sailboat
Master Bedroom
Kitchen from Living Room
View across living room into kitchen
View of Whiteface Mountain from our Dock
Dining table on our Screened in Porch
Porch
View from the Porch
Pontoon boat at the dock we rent in town
Whole Kitchen
Back left bedroom with two twin beds
Front left bedroom with king size bed and great views of the lake
View across the living room towards the hallway on the left
View across living room into the kitchen
Center left bedroom with a full on the bottom and twin up top
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Lake Placid, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nyadegar
Albany, New York
1 review
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 11 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

I stayed at Camp Cook with my family of 5. My 3 teenagers were able to each have their own room. The house would have easily accommodated another family of 4 though. There are two king size bedrooms so two sets of adults could go along with five kids. If there were 2 additional people, they’d be on the futon in the living room and the day bed on the screened in porch. My kids would have been fine with either option though.
I would highly recommend the property. It truly is beautiful— the house, the site itself, good water access for swimming, furnishings, cleanliness. It is well equipped with bath / beach towels, kitchen towels, dishes, pots and pans. We cook a lot and really didn’t want for anything.
Both the owner and the caretaker were extremely attentive and responded quickly to any questions. The caretaker came out to set up the sailboat and fishing boat when we expressed interest. The owner offered to talk us through using the sailboat. The pontoon boat was in good shape and easy to use, dock, etc. It was much easier to get back-and-forth to the dock where the car is parked than I had expected and the grocery store is less than a mile away. I had been a little hesitant to rent a place I couldn’t drive to, but it worked out great and was quite private but easy to commute back and forth via boat even for inexperienced boaters. The marina is right on the edge of the town of lake placid so it’s a quick jaunt into town.
If you end up wanting to rent a speed boat / do some tubing, Captain Marney’s boat rental was excellent. Locally owned/ operated, friendly, easygoing and easy to rent from, no boating license required.
There’s a fantastic fire pit with wood benches on either side and 3 captains chairs behind it in a lean to facing the water. The path leading up to the house is lined with lights. Again, all done with high quality materials and well maintained.
We took full advantage of the boats provided, especially the kayaks and the paddle board.
I communicated with the owner via email or text at least 10 times during the week we were there. As soon as I asked a question, he responded right away. These were not related to problems, just inquiries.
As other reviews indicated, the photos posted don’t do the place justice. Don’t hesitate! It’s a perfect spot for a relaxing getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2018
Thanks so much, we are so glad you had a good time! We would be thrilled to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M
Greenfield Center, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, don't hesitate!”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We love Cook Camp. We like the quiet and solitude of its boat access only location. At the same time is close to Lake Placid and all the activity you could want. House is even better than the pictures indicate, just the right balance of rustic and simple with the modern conveniences that make things easy. Interior remodel is fresh. Gas stove is great for chilly mornings. big modern kitchen with big kitchen table. Loved long dinners with family enjoying a wine and conversation on the screened front porch. Loved the new lean-to and fire pit overlooking the water. Very swimmable waterfront with lots of toys to enjoy the lake. We can't wait to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poojaj962
West New York, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable Memorial Day weekend ”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We celebrated our baby shower at cook camp during Memorial Day weekend. This is an awesome place to stay and the pictures don’t do justice. The most fun part was star gazing from the dock. I would highly recommend this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Thanks so much, we are glad you had a great time and would love to have you back again sometime.

Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriLee4
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, Cozy, Perfect”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We fell in love with every bit of the Cook’s cozy, spacious, well-kept home. Its unique features are one of a kind. Every breakfast and lunch we sat in the sunlit kitchen and each night our family meals were spent at the large table on the screened in porch. The home met all of our needs. Fully stocked kitchen, plenty of towels, 4 bedrooms with comfortable beds, and the 3 full bathrooms for our large family was a plus. During our stay, we took advantage of everything. Boat rides around the lake. Nightly rides into town for ice cream, fishing, swimming off the dock, and lots of relaxing. The breathtaking views surrounding the crystal clear lake were stunning. Plus everyone we met was very helpful and friendly. The owners were extremely helpful too. All our questions were answered in a timely matter. Cook family, we truly loved our time in your home. Thank you for a week of happy memories and laughter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
We are so glad you had a great vacation, that is our goal! Please come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S
1 review
“Beautiful view, private serene setting”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Excellent location, beautiful view from the dock. Very private, quiet and serene location. I would recommend to any family or friends that want to get away for a nice private relaxing week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Propane for fireplace wqas empty upon arrival
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing