We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
89
95
67
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
95
67
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdelta bluemain streetlimited parkingdouble doorsmemory foamsitting areamirror lakehotel lotcentrally located hotelwalls are thincan't beat the locationmiddle of townbusy weekendhear everythingclean towelsthe wi fipull out sofa
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The staff went out of their way to make sure that our stay was just what we wanted for the best vacation ever. The room was spacious and overlooked beautiful Mirror Lake. The sun rising behind the peaks mirrored in the lake was spectacular. The bed was very comfortable and the bed linens scrumptious with lots of pillows. The bathroom was large with plenty of fluffy towels. The hotel restaurants' opened early and stayed open late. The breakfasts were sumptuous and the Southern Cuisine in Delta Blue was amazing. We particularly enjoyed the Georgie Bonds Band that performed during our stay. This is a Do Not Miss experience!!

Room Tip: I had the best sleep that I had in a long time. It was always very quiet, so I was able to sleep whenever I wanted or needed to.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ginaburnett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of your stay with us. We are delighted that the accommodations provided were ideal for your recent getaway. We work very hard to give all of our guests an exceptional experience and I'm delighted that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your kind words about our wonderful staff and abundant amenities. Your feedback is very important to us as a means to gauge what we are doing right and what areas we can improve upon. Thank you for choosing Hotel North Woods and we look forward to hosting you again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Very clean & comfortable room, loved the bed. Had all of the amenities I needed. Enjoyed the breakfast & Delta Blue, food was very good at both. As was the band at Delta Blue.
Staff was friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abm690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay. We are delighted that the accommodations provided were ideal for your needs. We work very hard to provide all of our guests with the best possible experience. We will use your feedback to ensure that all future guest also have as enjoyable of a stay as you did. Thank you for choosing Hotel North Woods and we look forward to hosting you again next time you are in Lake Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

My wife and I along with some friends have stayed at the Hotel Northwoods three times. The staff couldn't be more accommodating and treated us extremely well. The breakfast restaurant serves very hearty and delicious breakfasts. Delta Blue, the restaurant and blues club on the first floor likewise serves great food with a Southern flair and the music is always great. The rooms are fairly basic but the beds are very comfortable. The location right in the heart of Lake Placid is a plus too. We've always enjoyed ourselves at Hotel Northwoods. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear are quieter. Room in the front have great views of Mirror Lake.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BuddyHarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Thank you as well for all your kind words about staff and all our hotel has to offer. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our two in-house restaurants as well as the live music in Delta Blue. I'm glad that you enjoyed our Tempu-Pedic beds; they really are so comfy. We appreciate your valuable feedback and will use it to continually improve the guest experience. Thank you for choosing Hotel North Woods and we look forward to hosting you again next time you are in Lake Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Was rated as a three-star hotel so I booked it. I would maybe give the room itself to 2 and 1/2 stars at most but the rest of the hotel looks and smells 100 years old. The porch of my room was out to the parking lot with trees covering it. Felt unsafe stepping onto it was old and shaky. definitely not go back. Unless you are in the historic old hotels and enjoy a musty smell. The staff was okay. But this hotel should not be listed as a three-star.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank gr8Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for your comments and I sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are actually a historic hotel; one of the oldest in the village of Lake Placid. We have done an extensive amount of remodeling in the rooms, and continue that work in other areas of the hotel. We are working to add modern touches without losing our historic charm. I'm sorry that that's not the type of hotel experience you were looking for. We describe the balconies as having a woods/forest style view. All of the lake and village views are visible from the rooms on the opposite side of the hotel, though none of those rooms have balconies as yours did. I will forward your comments about the balcony to our maintenance department so they can look into the best way to repair/remodel that space. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to continually improve the quality and services we offer our guests. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back and show you a true Hotel North Woods experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in the heart of town. Really good location. We felt the hotel could use a freshen up. A little worn and rusty. Elevators were a bit dirty along with the balcony. Ate in the restaurant Delta Blue. Do not recommend at all. Food was bad. Music was awesome both nights we stayed. Recommend the music. This area is absolutely beautiful and worth the trip.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CynthiaZhuhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about the hotel. While we have completely remodeled all of the guest rooms other areas are still "in progress". I will forward your comments about the food in Delta Blue to our Food & Beverage manager, but I am delighted that you enjoyed the music during your stay. We take all guest comments sincerely as they help us gauge what we are doing right, and areas we can improve upon. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope that you will join us again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews