We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable”
Review of Hotel North Woods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel North Woods
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Reviewed 21 September 2017

My husband and I had a VERY good time. North Woods is positioned perfectly on Main street for walking to anything that you could want to do (except for the olympic ski jumps and the luge etc - but they are not far by car). There are a lot of little specialty shops and restaurants with very good food. A little bit of everything to eat. Seafoods, sandwiches, pastas, burgers, chocolates, popcorn. A couple of cozy sports bars w/musicians of easy listening. The North Woods had two restaurants one for family and the other more of a sports bar. Our view was very nice of the lake and there was an Iron Man the weekend that we were there. The hotel is very clean and comfortable with a lot of room.

Room Tip: Try for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wilomenia2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write review of your recent stay. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our fantastic central location. There are so many neat shops and restaurants within walking distance of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to hosting you again next time you are in Lake Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

The staff went out of their way to make sure that our stay was just what we wanted for the best vacation ever. The room was spacious and overlooked beautiful Mirror Lake. The sun rising behind the peaks mirrored in the lake was spectacular. The bed was very comfortable and the bed linens scrumptious with lots of pillows. The bathroom was large with plenty of fluffy towels. The hotel restaurants' opened early and stayed open late. The breakfasts were sumptuous and the Southern Cuisine in Delta Blue was amazing. We particularly enjoyed the Georgie Bonds Band that performed during our stay. This is a Do Not Miss experience!!

Room Tip: I had the best sleep that I had in a long time. It was always very quiet, so I was able to sleep wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ginaburnett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of your stay with us. We are delighted that the accommodations provided were ideal for your recent getaway. We work very hard to give all of our guests an exceptional experience and I'm delighted that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your kind words about our wonderful staff and abundant amenities. Your feedback is very important to us as a means to gauge what we are doing right and what areas we can improve upon. Thank you for choosing Hotel North Woods and we look forward to hosting you again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Very clean & comfortable room, loved the bed. Had all of the amenities I needed. Enjoyed the breakfast & Delta Blue, food was very good at both. As was the band at Delta Blue.
Staff was friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abm690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay. We are delighted that the accommodations provided were ideal for your needs. We work very hard to provide all of our guests with the best possible experience. We will use your feedback to ensure that all future guest also have as enjoyable of a stay as you did. Thank you for choosing Hotel North Woods and we look forward to hosting you again next time you are in Lake Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

My wife and I along with some friends have stayed at the Hotel Northwoods three times. The staff couldn't be more accommodating and treated us extremely well. The breakfast restaurant serves very hearty and delicious breakfasts. Delta Blue, the restaurant and blues club on the first floor likewise serves great food with a Southern flair and the music is always great. The rooms are fairly basic but the beds are very comfortable. The location right in the heart of Lake Placid is a plus too. We've always enjoyed ourselves at Hotel Northwoods. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear are quieter. Room in the front have great views of Mirror Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BuddyHarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Thank you as well for all your kind words about staff and all our hotel has to offer. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our two in-house restaurants as well as the live music in Delta Blue. I'm glad that you enjoyed our Tempu-Pedic beds; they really are so comfy. We appreciate your valuable feedback and will use it to continually improve the guest experience. Thank you for choosing Hotel North Woods and we look forward to hosting you again next time you are in Lake Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Was rated as a three-star hotel so I booked it. I would maybe give the room itself to 2 and 1/2 stars at most but the rest of the hotel looks and smells 100 years old. The porch of my room was out to the parking lot with trees covering it. Felt unsafe stepping onto it was old and shaky. definitely not go back. Unless you are in the historic old hotels and enjoy a musty smell. The staff was okay. But this hotel should not be listed as a three-star.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank gr8Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for your comments and I sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are actually a historic hotel; one of the oldest in the village of Lake Placid. We have done an extensive amount of remodeling in the rooms, and continue that work in other areas of the hotel. We are working to add modern touches without losing our historic charm. I'm sorry that that's not the type of hotel experience you were looking for. We describe the balconies as having a woods/forest style view. All of the lake and village views are visible from the rooms on the opposite side of the hotel, though none of those rooms have balconies as yours did. I will forward your comments about the balcony to our maintenance department so they can look into the best way to repair/remodel that space. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to continually improve the quality and services we offer our guests. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back and show you a true Hotel North Woods experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,339 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.5 km away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
25 reviews
1.9 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.1 km away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel North Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel North Woods

Address: 2520 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-4320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $113 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel North Woods 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel North Woods enjoys the preeminent location in the village of Lake Placid. With 92 newly refurbished guest suites you have your choice of lake view suites with stunning views of Mirror Lake, Whiteface Mountain, and the High Peaks, their attendant sunrises, sunsets, and the magic and vibrancy of Lake Placid. Hillside Suites have private balconies. As the home of the now legendary Delta Blue, and The Cabin Grill, and with a compliment of over 6,000 sq. ft. of versatile function space, the Hotel North Woods can provide full a la carte meal service, or host receptions and dinners in excess of one hundred people. With the Olympic Arena and the Lake Placid Conference Center only a four minute walk away, the Mirror Lake Beach only a five minute walk, and with the abundance of shopping and dining attractions outside the front door, we can assure that you will have all of Lake Placid at your fingertips when you stay at the Hotel North Woods. We do not guarantee onsite parking, if our lot is full there is a max of USD 5.00/day charge in village lots. Minimum check-in age is 18. Also be advised that a USD 50.00 refundable security deposit will be collected at check-in for incidentals. As of June of 2015, all guest rooms have been completely renovated. Amenities include refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms and complimentary hi-speed WiFi. Note: Check-in time is 4pm and Check-out time is 11am EST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel North Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwoods Hotel Lake Placid
Northwoods Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing