We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Clean and Conveniently Located for the Price!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Van Hoevenberg Lodge & Cabins
Reviewed 28 August 2017

My husband and I stayed in the Colden cabin for a 4-day/3-night weekend getaway to Lake Placid. The cabins are located just 15 minutes outside of town, right next to the Mt. Van Hoevenberg recreation area and less than 10 minutes from John Brown Farm and the Olympic Training Center. We met the owners, Wayne and Johanna, who were extremely helpful and very knowledgeable. (Once he learned we were hiking, Wayne was eager to show us some pictures and maps from nearby.)

The cabin was very clean and there were more amenities than we bargained for - dish soap, dish towels, pots, pans, a variety of plates/cups/utensils, paper towels, bath towels, washcloths, with a fully functional stovetop, refrigerator/freezer, kitchen and bathroom sinks, and even a coffee maker and toaster. The decor was charmingly rustic and appropriate, with a comfortable bed and modern thermostat.

My only small issues were the inconsistent water pressure in the shower (Common for a well system? The temperature was fine.) and the Wi-Fi didn't quite reach the cabin - but we were there for play, not to answer work emails! Cell phone service is rare in the region in general.

Overall, the stay was excellent and I would greatly recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable stay in the region.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murphysoutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

My wife and I just got back from a four day, three night stay at the Van Hoevenberg Lodge & Cabins. Our cabin was Colden. It was clean and came fully stocked with shampoos and clean towels. There were also plenty of cookware and utensil for cooking.

The stay was great and we met some great people around the community firepit. Wayne was a great host and we cannot wait to go back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

I booked a couples cabin for a long weekend away for my fiance's birthday. We stayed in Colden for three nights and had a wonderful time! From the moment we pulled in, I knew I picked the right place. We were greeted by Johanna and she gave us a tour of the grounds (firepit, grill, picnic tables, picturesque views, and even a teepee!) and led us to the cabin. The cabin was so cute and charming on the outside and inside. It reminded me of a tiny house!

The cabin was complete with everything we'd need: bed linens, towels, dishes, cups, silverware, cookware, coffee maker, and fridge. There was a boil water advisory, so we couldn't drink the tap water. However, Johanna provided us with plenty of bottled water. The cabin was very clean and met all of our needs!

The location is perfect, it's only a ten minute drive into Lake Placid Village and it's a stone's throw away from many trailheads (including Cascade).

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the cabin and will return!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanstella10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

8 of my girlfriends have been hiking in this region for 20 years and we always stay here whenever possible. Our last visit was this past weekend - October 14-16, 2016. I am so happy we stumbled upon this place; it is our home away from home in the mountains, and the proprietor Wayne Failing treats us like family. The house and the cabins are rustic, well appointed and cozy. The roaring campfires in the evenings bring the guests together to share stories of their days' adventures. Wayne is something of as celebrity in town and is great story teller, and you can't beat the price. I suspect we will be returning for the next 20 years!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetogo6156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016

We really enjoyed our weekend stay in one of the cabins. It was snowing outside and we were warm and comfortable in the little cabin. Comfortable bed and linens, everything thought of for the kitchen, great shower. We had a great time in Lake Placid and would do the cabins again!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
8.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,339 reviews
7.9 km away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
25 reviews
7.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 km away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
248 reviews
11.7 km away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
437 reviews
9.4 km away
Lake House
Lake House
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Hoevenberg Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Hoevenberg Lodge & Cabins

Address: 4529 Cascade Rd, Lake Placid, NY 12946-4102
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Lake Placid
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mt. Van Hoevenberg Lodge & Cabins we have four charming Adirondack style cabins with full-sized beds that can comfortably accommodate either solo adventurers or couples. We also have two family cabins that can sleep four people, and one cabin with a twin bunk bed for two people. Each self-contained, heated cabin contains an efficiency kitchen and its own private bathroom located on a five acre property with beautiful mountain views. Our guests have access to a fire circle with free firewood and a barbecue. Mt. Van Hovenberg Lodge is a five bedroom, two bathroom farmhouse with a fully equipped kitchen, an indoor and outdoor porch, dining room, living room, and breakfast area, that sleeps 12 people in 4 single and 4 double beds. With over 30 years of local guiding experience, your host, Wayne Failing, can help you plan your adventures. There are 30 miles of running, cross country skiing and biking trails which can be accessed from the back yard. We are only 1 mile from the Cascade and Pitchoff trailheads and Cascade Lakes, and only a few miles from Adirondack Loj. We are less than 10 minutes from the Village of Lake Placid and less than 20 minutes from Whiteface Mountain. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing