We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway!”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Loved the High Peaks Resort - nicely renovated rooms and fantastic views.

I'd recommend staying in the Mirror Lake Collection - those rooms have a sliding door that opens out onto a lakefront lawn. The rain shower and jacuzzi tub were especially nice touches. We also enjoyed the complimentary kayaks and rowboats moored right outside of our room.

The hotel's main building is across the street from the waterfront rooms and has a nicely equipped gym and decent restaurant.

Would definitely return again for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baliben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,059 - 1,063 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

I wasn't sure what to expect based on some of the reviews, but our stay was wonderful. We arrived and were given an upgraded room 412. We thought the room was lovely! We did have a king size bed and the view was breath taking from our room. I do believe the reason our stay was so nice was because we went during the off season. So although we were the end room near the elevators and the door to come in the hotel, since there was no one there, there wasn't really any noise to disturb us because the walls are a little thin. :). Also we were facing the pool, but the pool was closed for the season so we didn't hear any noise from the pool. We had the autumn package which is a very nice package. We enjoyed our breakfast and chose to use our $75 gift card for dinner. I thought the food was fine. It appears the outdoors Dancing Bear has a better menu but it wasn't open.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at the High Peaks Resort again for our 2nd Anniversary. (We were married there.)
The views from our waterfront suite were beautiful. We used the paddleboats and rowboats.
We called the front desk because the boats were full of water. They sent two men within 5 minutes and they even had towels to wipe them out with. They also sent us champagne and chocolate covered strawberries with an Anniversary card. When I thanked the girl at the desk upon leaving she said "Well, We like to go above and beyond!" That's exactly how we felt
about the stay. Service was great and everyone is so friendly. It is also a pet friendly hotel which we like. I researched going somewhere different for our anniversary but no hotel and area I found in the Northeast U.S. seemed to compare. We just love Lake Placid and the High Peaks Resort! We've been there two years in a row and got the Autumn to Remember package. It's a great deal and we love the breakfast at Dancing Bears. I also love to utilize the Aveda spa for massages and manicures. Thanks again to the High Peaks staff for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judygBroadalbin_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I took my grandmother up to lake placid to see the fall folliage. The location of the hotel was perfect. It is difficult to park on main street but it was very easy to walk to the shops and restaurants from the hotel. We stayed in a room that was in a separate building one the lake. The view was spectacular. They staff at the hotel and in their restaurant were all very friendly and helpful. I hope that we will be able to return again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hospgirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

this hotel is one of the nicer ones in lake placid.there are some really expensive hotels that are double/triple the price. and some real seedy ones as well. for the most part, this hotel is on par with the crown plaza.
on my most recent stay the room was in the main hotel. everything was clean and in good working order.the last time i was here i stayed in the rooms right on the lake. those rooms were alittle bigger and had more amenities.
the only bad thing was the dining options at the hotel. the dancing bears restaurant is horrible! so even if you are staying at the hotel avoid getting a package with hotel dining. It truly is bad and detracts from a pleasant stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2785bells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,332 reviews
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.5 km away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
238 reviews
2.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
2.4 km away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Lake Placid

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $184 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing