We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
23
28
15
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
28
15
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room lovely hotel different theme soup special thanks fish claudia dinner pillows island toilet port villa
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We spent two nights at this hotel in January. The location of the hotel is great as it's near Port Mathurin, the main city of the island.

The staff is super nice and truly helpful. Our rate included breakfast and dinner. We had an ocean view room. The hotel ground is spacious. The room is also spacious but worn out. The mattress was not to my liking, it was thin and hard. Water out of the tap was at first muddy in color and you need to let the tap run a few minutes to get clear water. The shower stall is in need of a good scrub.

Although, its oceanfront with a nice beach, it's not swimmable. There isn't too many restaurants selection on the island and it's worst if you are a fussy eater. My point is that it's better to book a hotel with half board although this option also leaves much to be desired.

The food is average to below average. There's isn't much selection. I didn't like it that for breakfast, we had to ask if there were any eggs available, we had to ask for cheese and got a little heap of shredded cheese for four people. I didn't like it that we had to ask for butter. There's was no sign that these items were available upon request. These staples should be available for guests, period. The fruit tray wasn't replenished. One more thing, there's no drink option with your dinner. All drinks are available ... for purchase.

Overall, the hotel needs to be refurbished. There's broken railings, the bathrooms are not as cleaned as it should be. Cleanliness and maintenance could/should be improved.

The hotel's location is convenient, it's near the city. I would recommend this hotel with some hesitation. It's definitely not value for your money.

Room tip: Ocean view rooms
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Natalee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

It is not one of my hotel type (I prefer more splurge hotels) but I can't say anything wrong in terms of quality price for this hotel! If it is your budget don't hesitate and go for it. It is just near Anse aux Anglais where there is a lot of activity since sundowner until late! Around the island, everything is closed (total blackout) as from 20h-21h!!!
So Les Cocotiers Hotels at Anse aux Anglais is really the place to stay.

Room tip: Ask for a quiet room far from the night animation
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank R_Stephane_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Thanks to the staff for there contribution to make our holiday joyful.
The foods are very nice,we had a pleasant night enjoying the traditional danse of Rodrigues.thanks to Mr Tino Samoisy for his show.
A special thanks to Claudia.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pascal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Good location in English Bay close to Port Mathurin - Accessible on foot or by bus. Nice setting - hotel has two entrances - one facing the beach - Reception in however upstairs facing the main entrance by the road
Rooms with balcony overlooking nice sunsets
However hotel needs some maintenance - TV and phone in the room but no wifi

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We spent three nights at Les Cocotiers this week. The hotel could do with a bit of maintenance and I was disappointed to see that the pool recliner cushions were not taken in at night or in heavy rain which made them unpleasant to use. However, the hotel overall is a delight, we had an amazing room overlooking the pool and beach and the meals were simple Mauritian food which was well prepared. The staff are friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay. The pool is sparkling clean and we were lucky to have it to ourselves on both days we stayed at the hotel. The capital is a comfortable walk away and there is a bus service to other places on the island. I would love to return and highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: The sea view rooms are the best
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blogberrytart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews