We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
35
16
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
16
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private lake place to stay miniature golf every summer pits firewood tubs pools adirondacks office cottage bbq accommodations property
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Twin Birches in cabin 4. It is a one bedroom with two queens. The kitchen has a full size refrig & microwave and a 2-burner stove top. I found the bathroom to be small but adequate. The livingroom had a flat screen tv and comfortable seating. We found the cabin to be cozy, very comfortable with a/c, and very quiet. It was a nice getaway with the family.

If I had to complain about anything, it would be the toilet paper - do yourself a favor and bring your own. Of course they provide plenty, but the quality leaves much to be desired. The towels aren't the best either, but they do have a towel drop every morning and occasionally you get a good one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katt51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed at the Twin Birches for one week beginning June 14, 2012. We were in Cabin #9, which was very roomy for our family of 6 (5 adults, one child), with a rustic atmosphere, and in tip-top condition. The staff was friendly and helpful. The property is large, well-maintained, with lots of activities available without leaving the property (2 pools, playground, game room, exercise room, swimming, boating, and just lounging at the lake front (the lake front is about a half mile away down a steep hill, so many people drive to the lake front parking area). We were pleased with our stay and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Twin Birches with another couple during the annual car show in September 2011. We stayed in cabin #6 which had two bedrooms, one with a queen bed and one with two doubles. The beds were a little too firm for our liking but not horrible. There was a huge living room area with plenty of seating and the furniture and carpeting looked new. The kitchen was a descent size and was equipted with basic pots and pans, dishes, and silverware. The bathroom was clean and the shower had descent water pressure. The cottage was very charming looking but more importantly it was very clean. Bed linens, towels and toilet paper were provided. There was no wi fi service in our cottage but it was available if you went down near the office. It was too cold to swim but the pools looked nice. The playground was full of kids having fun and the mini golf course would be great for little kids as well. The arcade/rec room also looked well stocked for teenagers (or bored husbands). There was also a charcoal BBQ grill and a fire pit outside though we didn't use it since we were there for only two days. The front desk staff was friendly and even allowed us to check out an hour later without charge.

If I had to complain about anything it would be that the tv was extremely small (maybe 20") and old fashioned. It's across the room from the couches so it's size made it a little difficult to see. We also found it weird we had to leave a $20 deposit to get the remote control. It was returned when we returned the remote but still strange and a bit annoying. Also there was no mirror in the room with the double beds. That made it hard to be able to get ready (do hair and make up) when someone else was showering.

Other than those two minor complaints we thought Twin Birches was great. We will definitely be staying there again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisam0198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Twin Birches reminds me of the great Adirondack camps of the bygone era. Like those camps, the emphasis is on the great outdoors, but when it's time to come in, there's all the comforts of home (in a rustic style). The rooms will never win any design awards. They're decorated with knotty pine and feature comfortable, but hardly stylish furnishing. More on the rooms later.

The big draw at the Twin Birches are the grounds. Unlike most Lake George accommodations (which are crammed onto a small piece of property with little or no open space), this resort offers spacious grounds with beautiful landscaping. At any given time you'll find folks relaxing with a book under a tree, a pickup game of baseball, frisbee, kickball-- you name it, or barbecuing at one of the grills or fire pits. There's also two pools, a mini golf course, tennis, hot tubs and the lakefront.

Twin Birches lakefront is not the typical cramped beach at most Lake George properties. Instead, it's a series of terraced lawns leading to the docks and swimming area. There's the ubiquitous resort lounge chairs, but you'll want to bring you're own chairs since they get taken fast. The lakefront is across the highway, down a steep semi-paved road that makes it easier to drive over than to walk. The scenery here is breathtaking, one of the nicest views you'll find of Lake George. The water is usually filled with children playing, frolicking and horseplay especially on the swim float. It reminds of a Norman Rockwell painting with the kids just having plain old fashion fun in the lake.

One caveat- Twin Birches is geared for families. If you're looking for quiet relaxation, this may not be the place for you. Many large, multi-generational family groups attend year-after-year on the same week forming temporary communities along with the other returning families. There is a strong sense of community and most everyone is friendly.

Back to the rooms. The rooms are all housekeeping units: cabins, houses, apartments or motel efficiency units. All have stoves, microwaves and refrigerators, a living room area and bedroom(s). Plates, silverware, pots and pans and basic utensils are included, as are coffee makers and toasters. There is cable TV (with a generous package) in each living room, but no TVs in the bedrooms. Towels and linens are provided. They take the housekeeping part seriously. If you're toilet's clogged, they give you a plunger. Burnt out bulb? Here's a new one.

Come nighttime, campfires pop up in the many fire pits dotting the ground. The kids play manhunt and other rowdy outdoor games or gather in the game room. The game room has the usual arcade games, ping pong, pool and air hockey. There's also a sitting area with wifi and a small workout room. Firewood, ice, ice-cream and snacks are available in the office. All are reasonably priced (as is the 9 hole mini-golf).

We have been going annually for several years now and expect to for many more years. Our group is a relatively small one, but we have become very friendly with many of the other people who go on our week. If you don't like kids, don't stay here. They're everywhere! If you like kids, this is a little slice of heaven in the Adirondacks. This is also not the place for quiet and solitude. It's very much a camp atmosphere with the adults hanging together, sharing adult beverages and good times, while the kids are playing, also having good times.

I can't wait for "Week Two" July 2012!

Room Tip: Look at the online room map to help choose your room. Accommodations and prices vary per unit.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We have been going to Lake George for many years and this is the best place we have ever stayed. We went with another family and it was wonderful! OUr boys were in constant motion, and you could let them go around the property on their own. They have 2 pools, mini golf on site, an arcade 2 playgrounds and so much more. The cabins were well kept and very clean. It is close to the village, but not in the village so it is a quiet place. The owners take much pride in their resort, they are always doing something! When we checked out yesterday, we already booked for next year!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommyto3loves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews