We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic family fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Reviewed 12 August 2007

My husband and I came here for the 1st time 6 years ago and have come back every year since with some or all of our children ages 19 18 18 17 10 1/2 years old. Anytime you can go on vacation with this age range and keep everyone happy is the place for us. Good food, great staff, wonderfully kept horses and activities all day. Relax by a pool, play a game,catch the show in the evening or do nothing at all. If you have a bad time or are bored it is your own fault. Daughter 19 does not ride but we never saw her or heard her complain. The wireless internet is a great addition, sit down in the comfy lobby and enjoy a cup of starbucks coffee while you surf the web.
We'll be back again next year or maybe for Thanksgiving again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CLaTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,126 - 1,130 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2007

After reading some reviews, I thought the place would be okay for a couple of nights. I was not expecting luxury, but I was expecting clean. Our room was disgusting! The photos on their website make everything look great - don't be fooled. They do actually have the activites they promise, but they leave a lot to be desired. We had the misfortune of a rainy day & had to make use of the indoor activities. The indoor pool was dirty, laser tag was small & dirty, etc etc. The staff is not particularly helpful or friendly either. Asking a question will just get you directed to someone else who can't or won't help. Spend your money somewhere else - I wish we had!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank deniseNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

Let me start by saying that we are not new to Ranches -we have stayed three previous times at another ranch that is in the same area. And we are not people that have to have fancy. We wanted to try a new place . I read all the reviews here with an open mind and figured it was similiar to this other ranch , not fancy and maybe could use alittle updating. BOY WAS I WRONG!!!

We pulled up and thought ok it's kind of old and doesn't look to be well taken care of on the outside but no big deal . As we were walking to the front door we passed windows from rooms on the bottom floor that were so filthy we weren't even sure they were glass. Then we went into the lobby - is was absolutely disgusting. It was very, very dirty and smelled really badly. Our room was not ready (which in the end turned out to be a blessing). The kids and I had to use the bathroom and I can't even discribe how bad the ladies room was and the boys said the mens room was also bad.

They told us the lunch court was open and the kids were hungry so they got a burger - again absolutey filthy. We went outside and there was a small, unkept pool area with only a few lounge chairs . The grounds were just kind of there , no flowers and nothing nice about it. There was a little fountain and the water flowing from and around it was extremely dirty.

My husband looked at me and said there is no way we can stay here. It would have been the longest five days of our lives if we had. We never did see the room but there was no need to the rest was just that bad.

We were very lucky to be able to book a room at the other ranch for the five days and a fun time was had by all.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hawaiidreaming2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

My family has been going to the ranch since we were kids so we couldn't wait to bring our own. The kids were busy from morning till night - swimming, contests, the coketail party just for kids, horseback riding, western shows and magicians at night, square dancing. During the car ride home we counted all the things we'd done in 3 days - well over 30 activities!
While nothing fancy, you couldn't beat the value - unlimited food and fun.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RitaLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

My family and I have been going to Pinegrove for years and have always found it clean, friendly and accomodating. The staff is great - always friendly and helpful. The wranglers seem really into making sure everyone is safe and enjoys the ride whether is kiddie, beginner, trotting or advanced. The food is ok - we have truly never had a bad meal and they will always bring you more or something different if you want it. We go with a group of friends and we enjoy the Bloody Mary party on Saturday afternoons by the pool. We have been going for about 8 years and its always been great.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank KALJFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerhonkson
12.2 km away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
334 reviews
12.7 km away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
449 reviews
21.2 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
934 reviews
33.3 km away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
93 reviews
27.9 km away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#3 of 3 in Woodstock
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch

Address: 30 Cherrytown Rd, Kerhonkson, NY 12446-2148 (Formerly Pinegrove Ranch & Family Resort)
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Kerhonkson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Price Range: $94 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Dude Ranch. Packages include room, meals, activities & entertainment. Choice from restaurants plus a food court for lunch and free snack bar from 11am to 11pm. Horseback riding, hayrides, indoor & outdoor pools with double flume water slides, kids playground, bouncing pillow, mini-golf & more. Family fun at affordable rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinegrove Ranch And Family Resort
Pinegrove Ranch & Family Hotel Kerhonkson
Pinegrove Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing