We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Ranch owners must have read poor reviews since there are improvements..linens are clean and bathrooms updated. Housekeepers were more than happy to provide us with extra linens. Not the Marriott for sure.

Kids enjoy and staff is lovely..won't eat beef here but salads and Salmon are okay...
Hey at least kids have put down the ipods for a few days..plan to spend extra money for pool tables, air hockey and
arcade games

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mslucy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

I do read each review and we have been working hard to make every review a positive one. I would like to ask a favor, next visit please join me in the Kitchen. We will cook a Ribeye together, start to finish. I'm confident you will find fresh (never frozen) U.S. Choice Prime Rib, sliced and broiled. Nothing fancy, just a good steak.

Try to come soon, I'm hungry!

Thanks for staying with us,

David O'Halloran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

598 - 602 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

This was by far the worst vacation experience I have ever had! I was there for my senior trip. The rooms were filthy. I don't think the entire hotel owns a vacuum cleaner. There were holes in the wall and in the floor under the carpet. The water coming out of the sink and bath tub was brown and smelled bad. My headboard fell off the wall in the middle of the night! The lights flickered randomly. No washclothes in the bathroom and they refused to give us any. The sheets on our bed were either bloody or moldy. The supposed "activites" were a joke. The only thing moderately enjoyable the entire weekend was horseback riding, however the guides were rude and impatient. The food was inclusive, but we found ourselves buying food from the vending machines anyways. The food was undercooked or generally didn't taste good. I cannot stress this enough.....DON'T GO!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simone710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

We received 4 neagative post from students staying at Pinegrove on this March weekend. While it is our understanding that many o the 436 students had a good time. We respect these comments and will discuss each to make next year's planned High School Senior Class trip better.

see below coments:

If you look at two High School Senior Class student comments below, this trip as not successful. Can't exactly say why, we had almost 4,000 high school students at Pinegrove this winter, 99% had a great time. It is possible that our ranch does not meet the travelling standards of these students.

We are sorry that you did not have a good time.

David O'Halloran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I'm a 5 star hotel girl but that is NOT what this place is about. If you want to take your family or a group here it is perfect. The rooms were fine, all of the 30 minutes a day I spent in them and of course to sleep. The food wasn't bad, you could find something to eat - even if it was a salad. Again.... it's a DUDE RANCH, I did not expect a suite with a whirlpool tub and turn down service.

What made the place great? THE STAFF - EVERYONE was so accommodating, friendly and you can tell they truly enjoyed being there and working there. The wranglers were so nice and couldn't be more helpful. So much to do and see but anything that involved a staff member was great. Everyone really seemed that they weren't working but that they were part of a "family".

I want to go back, OFTEN - 2-3 times a year.

If you want a 5 star hotel - great pay $400 a night plus your meals. If you want a great time with your family and know that your kids will be safe and have fun. BOOK PINEGROVE!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMSQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Love your direct comments. We are what we are...an affordable family ranch vacation. I do agree, we meet those expectations. We are not a fancy, 5 star or 4 star resort wher you pay for each and every little thing. Pinegrove's mini-bar is a Free Snack Bar from 11am-11pm, just imagine what that bill would look like at a deluxe resort.

Thanks for telling it like it is!

David - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

great family atmosphere!!! games activities horseback riding swimming!!!! great food with plenty of options. fun and friendly staff!!! amazing rates for all inclusive!!! We booked on short notice and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay fun and enjoyable.
Thank You David!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Thank you! We have some exciting new plans for Summer 2013. A Zip Line from the Outdoor Pool to the Bouncing Pillow...now that will be fun!. Expanded menus (we read comments on tripadvisor! Food, Food, Food) and TLC for every room.

Thank you,

David - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This place is not what it said it was going to be. We were here for our senior trip it was suppose to be fun. We were having fun a better time sitting in our room. It is not worth the money. I would rather of been sitting at my house. The rooms were gross, one persons sheets had blood on them, while the others were moldy. The rooms are falling apart. The place is nothing what they made it seem like. the laser tag was with crappy nerf guns no music, no score kept, and the room was the size of a box. Worse thing I've ever experienced do not waste your time.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie13333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

We are so sorry that your High School Senior Class Trip was not what you expected. These are the times of your life that should provide special memories to last a lifetime. We received another post from a senior class student on this same weekend that shared your view. While we are very sorry to disappoint each of you, it wasn't because we didn't try. Kareoke, Live DJ and Free Music Dance Party each night, Free Unlimited Snack Bar to Midnight Friday & Saturday, Paintball, Trail Riding, Snow Tubing and too much more to mention. The last thing you should do on a class trip is sit in your room.

I hope your prom and graduation are great memories for you to come.

David O'Halloran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerhonkson
12.7 km away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
447 reviews
12.2 km away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
333 reviews
31.4 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
33 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
925 reviews
33.3 km away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch

Address: 30 Cherrytown Rd, Kerhonkson, NY 12446-2148 (Formerly Pinegrove Ranch & Family Resort)
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Kerhonkson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Price Range: $99 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Dude Ranch. Packages include room, meals, activities & entertainment. Choice from restaurants plus a food court for lunch and free snack bar from 11am to 11pm. Horseback riding, hayrides, indoor & outdoor pools with double flume water slides, kids playground, bouncing pillow, mini-golf & more. Family fun at affordable rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinegrove Ranch And Family Resort
Pinegrove Ranch & Family Hotel Kerhonkson
Pinegrove Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing