We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Wonderland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I have been going to Pinegrove Ranch for almost 25 years. It all started with my oldest daughter who adored the place and now with my younger ones (teens now). This was our first trip in the winter. We have been there for all the holidays throughout the years, so we decided to try New Year's weekend for a change. We were not disappointed. As usual, there were tons of daily activities and entertainment which, by the way, is all included in the price. You have Horseback riding, heated indoor pool, miniature golf, hay rides, snow tubing, ice skating and so much more (it would take up too much space to cover them all). The food is amazing. If anything, I think they over feed you. We tend to skip lunch so we can enjoy our breakfasts and Dinners that much more. Free cocktail hour (coketails for the kids), which also has snacks included. There is a snack bar that is open all day except during mealtimes. If you want to sleep late, you can always get something to eat from the snack bar. If you have kids, you don't have to worry about the kids getting bored. There is literally tons of things to do. My teens love going there also because it is a safe, fun place. They like to pretend they don't know us while we are there. They make friends fast and hang out with the other kids all day. I find it is also a beautiful place to take photos and go on nature walks (yes, even in the winter, as long as you bundle up). You will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: I personally prefer the Montana or the Dakota rooms. Santa Fe should be good too. It is far enough...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shortysmom411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thank you, 25 years of thank you! The joy of working at a ranch is see previous guest return. It makes each of us that work at the ranch feel a sense of pride. Our goal has always been the same- family fun, casual ranch vacation at affordable prices. Guest come the 1st time to experience something different, they return because its a good value.

Big Thanks,

David O'Halloran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
There are newer reviews for Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 627 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

I was glad I read many reviews before going here, it seemed that the older ones were particularly poor but some of the newer reviews were good so we gave it a chance and are happy we did. Our rooms in the Montana section were fine, very spacious for large families and somewhat updated, however my extended family stayed in the Nevada rooms and didn't have any positive things to say about the rooms there (pay the upgrade you'll be happy you did!)The activities kept us so busy we never even unpacked all the new Christmas games we brought along. The staff for the most part is friendly (the front desk may not seem it if you catch them at a busy time, but they were helpful). The food is pretty good with a lot of variety (if your looking for gourmet this is not the place for you! The snack bar that serves all day burgers, hot dogs and ice cream was a huge hit with everyone. Our party of 15 ranging from age 4-67 all had a really good time. If you keep in mind this is a Dude Ranch not a 5 star hotel and are OK with that, you'll have fun. I have been to Rocking Horse Ranch many times and tried Pinegrove because RHR prices are out of control (over $2000.00 for 2 nights for a family of 6) We had just as much fun here as we did there and the bill for all of us was still under $4000.00. I would have enjoyed staying an extra night just to have some down time in between all the fun activities and will probably do a 3 night stay if we return in the future.

Room Tip: Montana rooms are quieter and more updated. Nevada rooms need new beds, updating and a good cleaning...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thanks for being our guest! Our maintenence staff has been busy renovating rooms. Dakota, Santa Fe & Wyoming have had nice work done in the last 12 months. Hopefully we will get to Nevada & Montana in the months ahead. Please ask for a Dakota room on your next visit; new beds, furnture, flat tv's & granit vanities.

Thanks again,

David O'Halloran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We are first time 'family ranchers' and my kids were so excited to go. Pinegrove's staff was so friendly and accommodating to each guest. Each day there was a list of activities such as Bingo, relay races, and archery which kept us busy all day long. Each night had a featured entertainer and a DJ for everyone to dance and have a blast. In addition, the horseriding trails and lessons were the highlight of my children's day. I cannot say enough positive things about this wonderful hotel. I really believe that we made great memories and bonded as a family. I KNOW we will be back and this may become a family tradition. Like my youngest daughter ( age7) said, " This is the best place in the whole world - I don't even want to go to Disney...let's come back to Pinegrove instead!"

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Well, let's just say we are BIG fans of your youngest daughter. What an exceptional compliment! Please let her know that her kind words mean a lot to those of us that work at the Ranch.

THANK YOU,

David O'Halloran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

When you think of three meals (and good ones with great choices), the free snack bar, coctail party, and sooooo many activities, plus your hotel room,you can't afford not to go here - it would cost me more at home to feed 4 people and try and get to so many activites - especially for the kids!!! Would go back anytime!!! loved the atmosphere and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Dakotas were lovely!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delphino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

It's always fun to see our guest from Florida! We will always be your "home in the country", thank you.

David O'Halloran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My husband and I were so happy to find out that Pine Grove was offering a FREE stay to displaced residents from Hurricane Sandy. What a treat! They could not do enough for us. When we had a problem in our room, Rob, the maintenance supervisor was so helpful, and had our room upgraded for us.

There are plenty of activities, if you want to take advantage of them. We chose to just have a relaxing three days, and it made having to cancel our Caribbean cruise a bit more bearable for us.

Thank you David ~ you're a wonderful man with a gracious heart!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

It was a pleasure and very rewarding for all of us at the Ranch to be able to provide a little Holiday Cheer to families still without a home from Hurricane Sandy. FEMA helped to make this possible by paying the "motel" rate for each family, Pinegrove donated the "resort package". We wish all of you a speedy return to your home and hope to see you again at the Ranch.

David O'Halloran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerhonkson
12.7 km away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
446 reviews
12.2 km away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
331 reviews
21.2 km away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.3 km away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
91 reviews
31.4 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
27.9 km away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch

Address: 30 Cherrytown Rd, Kerhonkson, NY 12446-2148 (Formerly Pinegrove Ranch & Family Resort)
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Kerhonkson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Price Range: $472 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Dude Ranch. Packages include Room, Meals, Activities & Entertainment. Choice from Restaurants plus a Food Court for lunch and Free Snack Bar from 11am to 11pm. Horseback Riding, Hayrides, Indoor & Outdoor Pools with Doubleflume Waterslides, Kids Playground, Bouncing Pillow, Mini-Golf & More. Family Fun at Afforable Rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinegrove Ranch And Family Resort
Pinegrove Ranch & Family Hotel Kerhonkson
Pinegrove Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing