We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
88
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adk cafe lake placid high peaks rain shower beautiful bedding wood stove minute drive adirondack halcyon
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We have been to the Dartbrook lodge numerous times ,over the years. We go with another couple and love the OwlsHead.It has 2 bedrooms and two bathrooms. The decor is tastefully done. All the cottages are neat and lovely in and outside. Beth the manager is the best. She has taken care of us for years. She always makes sure everything is tip top. You will not find anybody so caring and efficient. We already made reservations for 2017, can't wait.

Room Tip: All the cottages have there own special plus. I suggest going on there web sight and see for yourself.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Our trip to this area of the Adirondacks was to summit Mount Marcy (highest point in NY) and while Lake Placid is closer, we were drawn to this little cabin in Keene. It was SO much better than staying in Lake Placid - for those of you who want quiet and quaint over bustling and franchise, this is a perfect choice. The individual cabins are quiet and cute, the sleep number beds are comfy, the linens and towels were great, the surroundings so peaceful. It is clean, comfortable and quiet. We never even ran into the staff, but were so impressed by their attention to our needs. I could not have asked for a better place to stay. If you love day hiking and coming back to a luxury in the wilderness, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank katsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

My daughter and I have stayed at Dartbrook Lodge (Owl's Head cabin) the last 3 years in early June. I have to say that it is the most relaxing, rustic Adirondack experience one could ask for. We like to hike, fish, canoe and enjoy the many activities this great part of New York State offers. It is really nice to come back to the Owl's Head for a shower, glass of wine and fish on the grill. Beth makes you feel right at home. Try it you'll like it!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Our stay at Halcyon Cottage did not disappoint. The place is very clean quiet and comfortable. The staff friendly and helpful. It is close to hiking trails and streams Amaking it a great home base for day trips .We had a great experience and we will be staying here in the future !

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

The lodge is a wonderful find. Why? Clean, private, outstanding decor, visually attractive, outstanding bath facilities.
Not not to be forgotten, warm and comfortable.
A moment of panic when I could not find a hairdryer. It is in a lovely wicker basket under the wall away from the sink.
The staff is warm, helpful and determined to make your stay pleasant.
A great alternative to lodgings in Lake Placid.

Room Tip: They are all good.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 558renater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews