We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
88
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadk cafelake placidrain showerhigh peaksbeautiful beddingrustic adirondackwood stoveminute drivehalcyonsoap
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Our trip to this area of the Adirondacks was to summit Mount Marcy (highest point in NY) and while Lake Placid is closer, we were drawn to this little cabin in Keene. It was SO much better than staying in Lake Placid - for those of you who want quiet and quaint over bustling and franchise, this is a perfect choice. The individual cabins are quiet and cute, the sleep number beds are comfy, the linens and towels were great, the surroundings so peaceful. It is clean, comfortable and quiet. We never even ran into the staff, but were so impressed by their attention to our needs. I could not have asked for a better place to stay. If you love day hiking and coming back to a luxury in the wilderness, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank katsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

My daughter and I have stayed at Dartbrook Lodge (Owl's Head cabin) the last 3 years in early June. I have to say that it is the most relaxing, rustic Adirondack experience one could ask for. We like to hike, fish, canoe and enjoy the many activities this great part of New York State offers. It is really nice to come back to the Owl's Head for a shower, glass of wine and fish on the grill. Beth makes you feel right at home. Try it you'll like it!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Our stay at Halcyon Cottage did not disappoint. The place is very clean quiet and comfortable. The staff friendly and helpful. It is close to hiking trails and streams Amaking it a great home base for day trips .We had a great experience and we will be staying here in the future !

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

The lodge is a wonderful find. Why? Clean, private, outstanding decor, visually attractive, outstanding bath facilities.
Not not to be forgotten, warm and comfortable.
A moment of panic when I could not find a hairdryer. It is in a lovely wicker basket under the wall away from the sink.
The staff is warm, helpful and determined to make your stay pleasant.
A great alternative to lodgings in Lake Placid.

Room Tip: They are all good.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 558renater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

A couple of years ago, we were walking through Keene preparing for the long trip back to the Philly area. I saw the dark main office of Dartbrook Lodge and decided to look it up later. That was the moment that changed our Adirondack trips forever. It has carved out a perfect niche in the community that regulates the flow of visitors. Be forewarned, ever since The Dartbrook was written up in the NY Times, you may have to do a little bit of waiting to get a room.

This is not your typical place to stay. The Dartbrook is an estate that has several cottages and a rent-able house for larger parties. It's set amongst a small meadow which is surrounded by the Ausable River and the forest's edge. The simple driveway demonstrates the peaceful location of the lodge.

Upon pulling up to one of the lodges, the thrills continue. There is an attention to detail everywhere. Cairns are arranged for the watchful eye. Wildflowers sway in the wind. Stepping onto the porch and the outside furniture hints at what to expect. Massive log rocking chairs, bark benches, peened light fixtures, and even a suggestive broom welcome you.

Moving inside and one is immediately greeted by a peaceful wafting of linen that captures a north country camp. The Keene Center House (a personal favorite) has much for the weary vacationer to experience: to the left is a Sleep Number bed that is prepared to offer a break from the long ride. Through the doors next to the bed is the slate shower with a bench, a sunflower shower head as well as a detachable shower head. The local soap maker, Martha's Rain Water, offers free samples. You'll wind up buying at least one bar.

Back into the great room and one notices the small kitchen complete with electric range, mini fridge, dishes, and utensils. This comes in handy when exploring the local farm stands. Doing an about face to look at the front door, and one sees the sitting area with its gas fire place and living room furniture. There's a small television, but you won't be needing it.

The Adirondacks can be chilly roughly nine months of the year. The Dartbrook exudes a feeling of warmth, like that of a hug with a heavy fleece blanket. The warmth will certainly be felt when it's time to hit the sack. It will be a great night sleep.

This is the first place we've stayed where staying in has been just as rewarding as going out. We hiked our first day because of the predicted snow on the second day. When it snowed, we simply let go of our suburban ways and read books, checked out Rivermede Farm Market for some soup, returned to heat it up, then returned to relaxing.

I fear the word has gotten out, but when rooms are this cozy, this clean, this difficult to leave, it was only a matter of time. Plus, Beth, the manager of Dartbrook is extremely welcoming and kind. If you stay at the Dartbrook, you may find yourself doing two things: trying to figure out how to make your house look like the cottage, and planning your next trip back.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CJRowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews