We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! Do not miss this spot!”
Review of Dartbrook Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dartbrook Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Keene B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 April 2015

I recently had the pleasure to stay at the Dartbrook Lodge in Keene, NY. What a wonderful spot - for many reasons. First, it is situated in the middle of Keene, which is a lovely New England village nestled in a valley among the high peaks of the Adirondack mountains. The village has several great shops which have the greatest gifts for all those you have left at home as well as furniture for your own lodge back home.

The Dartbrook Lodge is a series of small and medium sized cabins that perch between the village and the Dart Brook. Each cabin has from one to three suites, each one more wonderful than the next. There are one, two and three bedroom suites. They all have the distinct Adirondack vernacular which includes twig furniture and architectural details, Persian or Indian rugs and wonderful heavy blankets and comforters. The bathrooms are well appointed with modern fixtures in the old tradition together with delicious soaps made with natural products from a local store. Of course the towels and linens are top notch. They are all so cozy!

I had the good fortune to meet the owners of Dartbrook Lodge who could not have been more kind and welcoming. They bent over backwards to ensure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. They gave us ideas of things to do in the area, as well as places to eat. They very kindly showed me a couple of the other, unoccupied rooms so I got a good sense of their style and tastes which are impeccable.

I cannot wait to return! It is better than I could have ever imagined in the unique and wonderful Adirondacks - almost like having our own “great camp” in the style of the late 19th century but with the comforts of the 21st.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

21 - 25 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2015 via mobile

Went up on Friday night and received a very warm welcome. After checking in we were escorted to our room, and given a tour. Everything was perfect! It was so clean, neat and beautiful. Outside the temps were 4° with wind chills -17°. The room was toasty warm and perfect. I certainly recommend staying here, great value especially when you consider the rates in Lake Placid.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
Thank carlsroadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

I recently surprised my husband with a trip to the Dartbrook Lodge for his 40th birthday. I had read the reviews online and they were all excellent. I have to say the Lodge lived up to the hype! We spent 2 nights in Halycon House and we loved it. In my opinion it seemed like the best location on the property. It was immaculate and so comfortable, we enjoyed sitting by the fire drinking the complimentary champagne given to us in honor of his birthday. We also drove into Lake Placid and hiked Cascade Peak (there are many peaks to hike within a short distance from the lodge). We enjoyed two great breakfasts at the ADK restaurant on property (they inky take credit or debit cards, no cash) and also enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the Ausable Inn just up the road. We will definitely be back to stay here in the future!

Room Tip: The Halycon House was our room and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bnearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2014

Dartbrook Lodge cabins are very comfortable and stylishly decorated. My husband and I booked one of the smaller cabins (Bell's House) but there was still a ton of room to spread out. The bathroom was spacious and had lots of counter space.

It's incredible well located for hiking and is in a small cluster of useful shops. You're a 5-minute walk from a great diner, fancy corner stores, bakery and fashionable gift shops.

The cabin was very clean and pretty quiet. We didn't hear the road but could hear our neighbours when on their porch, which wasn't too disruptive. The beds are sleep number, which is a nice bonus feature.

They have DVD players but only carry the classics, so if that's not your thing, bring your own DVDs.

Our cabin didn't come with a kitchen but we got by pretty well:
Included: handmade soaps and shampoo bars, coffee maker, mini fridge.
Bring your own: liquid shampoo and conditioner, shower gel, utensils.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pronunciate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Dartbrook Lodge was a real find! Can't wait to go back! Nestled off Rt 73 in Keene N.Y. it offers a wonderful relaxing setting to unwind. All the cottages are beautifully decorated in a true Adirondack style.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Icarus184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dartbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartbrook Lodge

Address: 2835 Nys Route 73, Keene, NY 12942-2301
Region: United States > New York > Keene
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Keene
Price Range: $256 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge in heart of Adirondack High Peaks with private cabins and suites offering rustic comfort of a mountain home. Furnished in the Great Camp tradition by local artisans, the Lodge has a range of well appointed private cottages and suites, with fireplaces, kitchens, Select Comfort beds, premium linens and soaps, slate rain showers, flat screen TV/DVD, in-room phone and other unique features. Lake Placid Olympic attractions and Whiteface Mountain skiing nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dartbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dartbrook Hotel Keene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing