We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely renovated hotel with poor front desk service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Johnstown
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nicely renovated hotel with poor front desk service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Let me begin by enumerating the good points about this hotel. First, the entire hotel has been completely renovated and the rooms and bathrooms are very pleasing to the eye as well as clean. Each room has a small refrigerator and microwave, very handy. There is a large pool on the grounds, good for family fun. Additionally, this is a full service hotel so it is not necessary to leave the hotel for food or bar service.
The negative points about this hotel pertain to management and check in. When I reserved my room I asked for a first floor pool view with two queen beds. At that time no one explained to me that this area of the hotel was reserved for pets. I found this out upon check in. I have asthma triggered by cat dander so I asked for another room. There were no rooms available except a king with a pull out sofa. When I asked if they could exchange my queen room for another queen room I was told that I had reserved a first floor room with a pool view and that was all that was available. Keep it or take a king was my choice. When I pressed the issue, I was told that it was a weekend and everyone had already checked in early. There was no room available to exchange with. Consequently, my 6'2" son slept on a twin pull out sofa, not an ideal situation. If it were truly the case that everyone had checked in early, I would not be upset. But, because we were part of a large family gathering, I spent a great deal of time in the lobby area socializing and saw numerous people check in. This hotel gets a 0 for service.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor with a pool view unless traveling with a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    52
    25
    6
    13
See reviews for
59
36
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

While we generally prefer the Holiday Inn Express line of hotels, because the Holiday Inn versions are more expensive and provide less value for the money, this particular location reversed this convention. Everything here was A-OK from our family's perspective, and provided us a great respite after many days in the mountains. While we didn't get to try the pool, the amenities in the room were more than adequate. Additionally, the restaurant was not bad, especially after all of the Priority Club discounts were applied.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventuringFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

The rooms are new, well-appointed with quality materials, comfortable beds with nice linens and a variety of pillow choices. The restaurant's food was excellent! Best French fries, fresh fish, fresh veggies. Cool copper hood above fireplace in diningroom. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guccimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Very clean and nice hotel, staff is helpful. Room we got seemed brand new, bathroom and beds were clean. Only downside is that breakfast is not included, and the staff at the restaurant were OK, but not super friendly. I would definitely stay here again, it's worth the price.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fcsklabrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

The customer service at this hotel is despicable. I recently stayed here for my fathers memorial. I had three rooms booked under my name and 7 other guests staying there. My 75 year old step mother was not able to stay the 2nd night that was booked and the Manager made me pay for the room! AND they sold the room to someone else and got DOUBLE paid for the room. My brothers room the microwave did not work and they would not do anything, the staff was unattentive. When we tried to have breakfast we were told that there was only one waitress and could not accomodate a large party. Three rooms were to be pool view rooms and you could not see the pool. It was a horrible expierience at a very delicate time for all of us and they made it worse. Go to Microtel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vm803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnstown
1.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
38.9 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 3 in Cobleskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
35.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Schoharie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.1 km away
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
#1 of 3 in Cobleskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 km away
Super 8 Johnstown/Gloversville
16.8 km away
Super 8 Amsterdam
Super 8 Amsterdam
#1 of 2 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville

Property: Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville
Address: 308 North Comrie Avenue, Johnstown, NY 12095-1095
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Johnstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Johnstown
Price range (per night): $135 - $203
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great hotel, Guests love, stay at the Holiday Inn Johnstown-Gloversville Hotel. Conveniently located in the foothills of the Adirondack Mountains the hotel is only 7 miles from the NYS Thruway I-90 on Route 30A and 45 minutes from the Albany International Airport. Perfectly located for business travelers! Fulton Montgomery Community College, Fage Yogurt, Benjamin Moore, Wal-Mart Distribution, Townsend Leather, Finkles Distribution and more, we are only minutes away from Johnstown Industrial Park or Crossroads Industrial Park. This hotel provides all the amenities that a business traveler needs, such as free wireless & wired high-speed Internet access and business center. Entertaining the family? Activities for everyone, no matter what the season are just minutes away; Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center, Royal Mountain Ski Resort, Adirondack Animal Land, The Shrine of Our Lady of Martyrs, Eagles Mills Cider Mill, Six Flags Great Escape, historic Johnson Hall. Or take a short scenic drive to enjoy the Saratoga Racetrack, Cooperstown and Howe s Caverns. With a level of service & comfort that s sure to exceed your expectations, you ll see why the Holiday Inn Johnstown-Gloversville Hotel is the right choice for all of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, IHG, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville Hotel Johnstown
Johnstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing