We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude and Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Ithaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Ithaca
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rude and Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

The service, espiacially the person at the reception desk on wed 14/09/11 was really rude. Next time we will choose any hotel but the super 8 motel thanks to this person. Please do choose another hotel!

Room Tip: Just choos anoter hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viva0822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    298
    129
    51
    18
See reviews for
342
135
59
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!
we dropped in for a night due to unexpected stop at Ithaca. the hotel is dirty, disgusting, old, with horrible service. its located in a poor and rather intimidating area. the prices are high and comparable to much much better hotels in the heart of town such as the hilton inn etc.
to conclude: do yourself a huge favor: stay away!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LY1TelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hightstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We booked this hotel to see the sights in Ithaca and the Finger Lakes for a couple of days. I booked through Wyndham rewards and was surprised not to see a confirmation of my stay in my inbox a couple of days before my stay. I called Super 8 and they were able to confirm my reservation.
The hotel was easy to find and was located within a couple of minutes of everything you would need or want to do in Ithica proper.
During check-in, the clerk noticed my special request for feather-free pillows, and tried to double-check the room with the housekeeper before checking me in. I told her not to worry about it and she said to let her know if I had a problem with my pillows.
The room was a typical budget hotel room with a standard TV, microwave, mini fridge, and open clothing rack. The bathroom was had standard fixtures. The shower head did not work right, however, as it would only exert very high water pressure or practically no water pressure at all.
The main detractor from this property is the sleep quality. The first night we did not sleep well as the AC went on and off and there was a lot of traffic and noise from the hallways early in the morning. The second night we slept a little better by running the fan all night to block out the other noise.
We did not take advantage of the continental breakfast as the offerings were not very appealing and enjoyed breakfast at Waffle Frolick and Ithaca bakery instead.
This property may be okay for budget travelers but I would not recommend for more seasoned vacationers.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Super 8 has cheap conotations, but the Ithaca one was excellent. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and my husband loved the recliner. Coffee and juice is availble at all times, and the breakfast was decent. The coffee wasn't terrific, but it was free. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would recommend to anyone, and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJwkndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

I was in town for a concert and chose the Super 8. After many visits to the Ithaca area over the years, I have tried several of the local hotels. The Super 8 is the one to which I return, though. When I looked for the room, months in advance, admittedly the rate was higher ($150+) than what I would expect for a budget hotel. I booked anyway, though, because previous visits had been excellent. Subsequently I converted the stay to a loyalty program point redemption, and the room became complimentary. The staff was very helpful in making this switch. The hotel was sold out that night, due to many events in the Ithaca area. I did not notice it, though. The hotel was quiet, and parking was not an issue. My room was comfortable, although a bit disconcerting as it was handicapped accessible (the only choice when I booked). The bed was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit on the dark side, but it was not problematic. The shower head had good height and water pressure. The hotel has free wireless Internet. I did not use it this time, but in the past it has been adequate. On my next stop in Ithaca, this will be my hotel of choice...again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bovenzba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
1.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
5.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
3.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
1.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ithaca

Property: Super 8 Ithaca
Address: 400 S Meadow St, Cecil A. Malone Drive at Route 13, Ithaca, NY 14850-5218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Business Hotel in Ithaca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#8 Family Hotel in Ithaca
Price range (per night): $123 - $237
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ithaca 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Super 8 of Ithaca is located conveniently off of Route 13 in Downtown Ithaca, right next door to Wegmans. We offer free wireless internet, complimentary continental breakfast and free on site parking. All of our rooms include refrigerators and microwaves, flat screen TV's, new mattresses and updated linen. We are within a 5-10 minute drive to both Ithaca College and Cornell University. And within close proximity to the area's beautiful Gorges! We look forward to having you stay with us at the Super 8 Ithaca! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Super Eight Ithaca
Ithaca Super Eight
Ithaca Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing