We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Stay”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel from 10/14-10/16. We were greeted by Rhonda at the front desk during our check-in. She gave us a free upgrade to a very nice room with a fireplace. It was pouring down rain and we were soaking wet from hiking Robert Treman State Park. Rhonda then called an hour later to make sure we were comfortable and needed anything else. Our room was spacious and clean. The shower/bathroom was very big and the water was hot. We have never been to Ithaca before but we were very pleased with our stay and would go again if we are in the area. If you stay here I would recommend speaking with Rhonda as she was friendly and made you feel at ease.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer33_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eldot4, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thanks for your encouraging review and your kind comments about Rhonda. Several guests have praised Rhonda for her attention to detail and caring of all of our guests. I have made a copy of your review for her.
When you come back, you must also walk the Taughannock Park Trail, as well.
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    153
    111
    55
    37
See reviews for
191
79
30
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Sheila M. was exceptionally friendly and helpful. She went above and beyond to make our stay a great experience.She was Friendly Courteous as was the rest of the Staff! Our room was Clean and Comfy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eldot4, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
We sincerely appreciate your review of our hotel. Sheila is a great asset for our hotel. We look forward to seeing again when you return to Ithaca!
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Horrible customer service. Unclean. Old. Noisey.

Stay ANYWHERE else in Ithaca

Room Tip: No rooms are clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benhider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eldot4, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
I am writing to you regarding your review. I understand our General Manager did contact you directly about your experience. We apologize that we were not able to completely change your opinion of our hotel. I hope that you will contact me at 1-607-272-6100 Ext 4715 so that we can improve in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ithaca hotels

Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Bathroom not functioning.not Shampoo.Shower not functioning.not clean room . I told front desk and they did nothing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredrico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eldot4, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
We sincerely apologize for your recent stay with us. For our front desk to not have resolved your issues before you left is unacceptable. I have printed off your response and will be reviewed at our next front desk meeting. Please don't hesitate to contact me at 1-607-272-6100 X4715 if you have further concerns from your visit.
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Was very happy with the service especially the shuttle service. Very convenient. However the room was gross. In checking things of found areas near the bed extremely dirty. There were fingernail clippings and other things not cleaned up. Had a hard time sleeping after that because I was worried about how well things get cleaned.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eldot4, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for your review. I'm please that you were able to take advantage of our shuttle service. However, I am very disappointed about the cleanliness of your room and and can understand your lack of sleep that night. Please know that this review will be posted in our employee area and reviewed with our Executive Housekeeper. We hope we have the the opportunity to see you again.
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
5.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
645 reviews
4.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
4.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
214 reviews
3.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Property: Best Western University Inn
Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price range (per night): $172 - $333
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 1/2 mile from Cornell University and 12 minutes from Ithaca College, the hotel is located in the East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. Hotel is approximately 1 mile from downtown Ithaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing