We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful little place with everything we needed”
other travellers have booked this property
pillow top mattress with freshly ironed sheets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pillow top mattress with freshly ironed sheets
study area stocked with info on local attractions fully stocked kitchenette including local breakfast treat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
pillow top mattress with freshly ironed sheets
study area stocked with info on local attractions
fully stocked kitchenette including local breakfast treat
pots, dishes, supplies, etc. meet all your needs for an extended stay
private entrance with private deck - completely self enclosed
walk in shower with seating and grab bars
local information and reading material.
decorated with original art depicting Cornell by international artist Pen King
quiet, peaceful street
private deck for enjoying your morning coffee
wildlife galore! Enjoy them from your private deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ithaca, Finger Lakes, New York

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cathie C
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful little place with everything we needed”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We really enjoyed this little half house within walking distance of Cornell Lab of Ornithology.. The surrounds are lovely, quiet and leafy green. Chris and Cindy have provided everything that is necessary and are very welcoming. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
We had Kestrels in the backyard this week! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was handy for your work at the Lab of Ornithology.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm, clean, peaceful and cozy!”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you, Chris, for hosting my mum and sister while they were in Ithaca for graduation week! The apartment was beautifully decorated and we were so appreciative to find a well-stocked kitchen and bathroom. They had a very comfortable and peaceful stay and it was a lovely place for my family to hang out and celebrate graduation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you Alina and congrats!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cris2019
Los Altos, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our host was generous and let our college bound son to stay with us at this 2-person place. It was located in a quiet neighborhood close to Cornell, bank, and shopping mall, very convenient for us to access everything to get our son settled in the dorm.
Everything was clean and neat. The kitchenette offered just the right items for me to make a good breakfast: eggs, muffins, fresh fruits, oats, orange juice, even real half-and-half for coffee. The mattress was a bit squeaky but comfortable.
Overall, this was just the right place for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Closeness to Cornell and shopping mall
Liked least: Noisy bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen R
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, quiet, and convenient lodging--two thumbs up!”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My bride and I stayed in the Alley House for our honeymoon and had a wonderful experience. This was my first time both for the Alley House and Flipkey/tripadvisor, so I didn't know what to expect, but I was very pleasantly surprised. The cleanliness, quiet setting, amenities, and kindness were all as advertised and then some. Being a runner, I also enjoyed the local walking trails in close proximity to the house. We were able to do a little cooking and get to all the places we wanted to see in Ithaca with just a short drive. It's just far enough out to feel far away, but close enough to be easily accessible. I highly recommend the Alley House to Ithaca visitors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The convenient location, privacy, and ability to cook.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YuarnChan...
1 review
“Staying at The Alley House is totally enjoyable!”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The place is clean and quiet, the location is convenient, and the service is just wonderful! Chris is very friendly, helpful and considerate. I will definitely recommend to anyone who would like to have a pleasant visit in Ithaca.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing