We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
91
26
5
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
26
5
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt carriage house fridge was stocked architecture school fresh baked treats living room continental breakfast back porch entire house restaurant recommendations downtown commons every morning wonderful hosts a wonderful stay old house we've stayed niagara falls
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

My family has stayed at the Inn on Columbia each year for the past six years - starting when we visited Ithaca College and Cornell during my daughter’s junior year of high school. We reserved our dates for drop-off/pick-up and parents’ weekend for the duration of her college career at IC - as well as graduation - as soon as she made up her mind to attend IC’s PT program. Madeline and Kenn were accommodating when dates changed and made sure we always had a place. I especially enjoyed the lounge area in the main building and all of the interesting architectural features, vintage cars, unique taxidermy pieces, and local artwork. Madeline’s breakfasts were always a treat for times when we needed something more than the basket of fresh baked goods and juice in our room. The presence of family pets makes the inn a more welcoming home and our dog has enjoyed her visits as well. My favorite space is the carriage house behind the main inn - it’s cozy and fun - and the lofted rooms in the carriage house behind Maison Mango on Rte 96. Kenn recently renovated the house immediately next door to the main inn. We have not yet stayed there, but Kenn gave us a tour during our last visit...really nice with a rear deck for relaxing, modern features, and more interesting art. Ithaca has a number of good restaurants from which to choose - but Madeline and Kenn have a knack for directing you to the better ones, as well as locally-owned shops when you (or your daughter) realize something was forgotten or for something special. I always encourage friends doing college visits in the Finger Lakes to stay at the Inn on Columbia - and to seriously consider making advance reservations once their sons/daughters make their college decisions!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenn Y, Owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

requent this inn and recommend it and it’s many diverse properties/accommodations throughout Ithaca's South Hill to anyone looking for beautiful, modern amenities, with architectural splendor. This is your home away from home.

Each property boasts not only architectural, period character, but clean sight lines and natural lighting that provide an excellent, calming aesthetic during your stay. Some of the properties lean more to a modern interior, while others play off the space in which you are in — like a gazebo shaped accommodation, a carriage house retreat or a two story open loft. Each has uniqueness and intrigue. There are many to choose from and no two are the same.

The hosts, Madeline and Kenn, welcome you from your travels and invite you to unwind. They are very knowledgeable of the area and surrounding towns — offering day trip ideas to experience the Finger Lakes Wine Trail, tour the many gorges, or relax at a preferred local spa. They also have top recommendations for dining, and my family and I have never been disappointed with any direction they send us off in.

I travel with my husband and young child, and with our two dogs. They have always made our accommodations pleasant and met our requests/needs when we have called ahead. Madeline has kindly offered to have equipment ready for our child when she was a baby to make travel easier... offering to have items ready for our arrival.

Sophie, the resident pup, has always greeted our family and our dogs well. Sharing space or territory with animals can be iffy, but Sophie always pulls it off! Frankie, the family feline, has always been receptive to all animals staying at the inn, as well as children. She is quite patient!

My husband and I have thoroughly enjoyed mingling with Kenn and getting to know more about his passion for vintage cars. He often has them parked outside of the main building on the street or in the driveway... and has sometimes offered to show them to us.

Traveling with a family is not always easy. Arriving at their inn certainly takes away worry for making sure we have fresh baked goods, prepared by Madeline, available to us for the next morning. (These are delivered the night before with a hand tied box and usually with a nice greeting.) It really makes a huge difference having that available to us, along with yogurt, fruit, fresh granola, juices and in-room coffee/tea goods to prepare at a moment’s notice.

In the main part of the inn, Kenn has a collection of some train sets and vintage toys my child has enjoyed playing with, which has also given us a chance to relax a bit more. Something we never expected, but happy to have access to.

The service as well as the hospitality has always been consistent. My family and I always feel welcome and as though we are actually family! We have been traveling to/from Ithaca now for the last 18 years. Instead of staying with my husband’s family we now have opted to stay at the Inn on Columbia for all the many reasons mentioned. This place has truly become a tradition for us! So much to appreciate and so much thought put into everything behind the scenes.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenn Y, Owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you so much for your review - it's great to know that our guests appreciate what we have created.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the carriage house for one night. It was beautifully warm weather for fall. The hosts were so helpful with things to do and the breakfast was delicious - filling, healthy, tasty and nice strong coffee. It was just so relaxing to stay there. The accommodation was spacious and well appointed. The hosts have eclectic interests - repairing old cars, model sailboats and other points of interest. What a great place, we would love to go back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank jwjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenn Y, Owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate it. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

On a quiet street a few blocks from downtown restaurants and short walk to the Cornell campus. An unassuming home on the outside, the architect owner's signature is experienced throughout the modern and relaxing common spaces and super comfortable bedroom. A wooded walking-bike path is just up the road.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenn Y, Owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

The Inn on Columbia provides a somewhat affordable option to the ridiculously priced hotels in the downtown Ithaca area. Our room was in an old house a couple blocks away from the main Inn on Columbia building. The house included a sitting room and kitchen on the main level available for use by the guests. The continental breakfast available in the kitchen consisted of granola, instant oatmeal, yogurt, an excellent selection of fresh fruit, orange juice, making for coffee and tea, instant hot chocolate, muffins, and scones. I did not find the muffins to be worth the calories so passed on them after the first day and did not try the rock-like scones.

The bedroom was roomy and comfortable. The room and bathroom were clean except the bathroom grout needed more scrubbing or redoing. Our room was quiet for sleeping until the 7am traffic started. Our 2nd floor bedroom was 18 steps up from the main level, no elevator. The step tread depth was shorter than my foot making it somewhat difficult to carry up a suitcase. Keep that in mind when traveling with a lot of luggage or a heavy suitcase. Off road parking is provided but is tight. I am glad we had a small car. The 10 minute downhill walk to downtown Ithaca was on sidewalks.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room if you have heavy luggage.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elle989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenn Y, Owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you for giving us a try! We hope that you enjoyed exploring Ithaca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews