We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Prepared Creative Italian Offerings”

Mercato Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #27 of 287 Restaurants in Ithaca
Price range: USD 30 - USD 45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Open since November 2010, Mercato Bar & Kitchen offers Italian inspired seasonally conscious cuisine, an extensive specialty cocktail program and Italian and New York state wines.
Reviewed 14 May 2017

As I had a remarkable dinner next door at Mercato's sister restaurant the night before, I was very intrigued to try this based on the recommendation of not only one of the owners, Eric, but a Master Sommelier who instructed my intro Sommelier exam highly recommended it as well. Yes please! We enjoyed a selection of cured meats, olives and cheeses to begin along with the smoked Salmon crostini topped with mascarpone whipped with chive and lemon zest with fried capers. We chose the chicken liver crostini too with pickled red onion topped with roasted onion and bay leaf and blended with dark rum. For main courses we enjoyed Paccheri with white bolognese of sausage, beef, porcini mushroom, cream and parmigiano and Porchetta-roasted pork loin stuffed with Italian sausage, veal jus, rapini and fingerling potatoes. Our wines were stunning too, which ranged from Verdicchio to Ciliegiolo to Aglianico. A gorgeous pot de creme and panacotta finished it off for dessert and what a delight it was! The food was very different than your average Italian offerings and pleasantly surprised me. Very creative and absolutely the freshest finest ingredients were prevalent in the menu.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank cordeliaschreiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017

The food is always excellent here and the owners are exceptional. Wait staff makes all the difference in places like this and Mercado is hit and miss. Why seat us--and this has happened many times in the past--right next to another couple when the rest of the restaurant is empty? We go here often for birthdays and anniversaries and have rarely been disappointed. A little training of hostesses and wait staff will go a long way!

Date of visit: December 2016
1  Thank Ryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Mercato Bar and Grill is located downtown in The Commons and provides exceptional preparation of both classics and slightly tweeked classics intended to appeal to foodies. Offers a fine selection of cocktails and local and international wines as well.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank speechino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Mercato is very popular among the full professor crowd, for some reason. It's menu is quite limited, as is the space (better get a reservation). I've tried most of the dishes on the menu (including the escargots), and still do not understand why its so popular. It's not bad, but its difficult to justify their prices in my mind.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Guaymita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Excellent service, exceptional cocktails and cuisine. I dined by myself but felt at home since the staff were so friendly - gave great recommendations, so I loved everything.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Golfgal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercato Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mercato Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing