We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely cottage-not quite ready for guests”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stone Quarry House

Hilltop House At Night, Bathhouse on Left, Main Cabin Center
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hilltop House At Night, Bathhouse on Left, Main Cabin Center
Main House and Apartment in the Winter Hilltop House From The Pond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Hilltop House At Night, Bathhouse on Left, Main Cabin Center
Main House and Apartment in the Winter
Hilltop House From The Pond
Stone Roof and Chimney of the Hilltop House
Hilltop House Deck And View
Hilltop House Main Cabin East Side
Hilltop House Main Cabin West Wall - Sofa With Deck To The Right, Wood Stove To The Left
Hilltop House With Queen Size TempurPedic Sleeper Sofa Set Up in Main Living Cabin
Hilltop House Kitchen, Sink, Fridge/Freezer, Microwave and Countertop Oven, Induction Burner
Hilltop House Main Cottage Lights Designed and Crafted by Master Blacksmith Duran Van Dorn
Hilltop House Sleeping Cabin Exterior
Hilltop House Sleeping Cabin With Queen Size Bed
Sandstone Shower In The Hilltop House Bathhouse
Hilltop House Bathhouse Stone Sink
Hilltop House Sunset View From Main Cottage
Post And Beam House Exterior
Post And Beam House TempurPedic Queen Size Bed, Cantilevered Stone Nightstands Windows Looking West
Post And Beam House Second Floor East Side Cozy Corner Chair Becomes Comfy Twin Size Bed
Post And Beam House Living Room From Upstairs, Sofa Opens To Become Very Comfortable Queen Size Bed
Post And Beam House Living Room, Corner Table Opens To Seat Four With Two Chairs and Two Stools
Post And Beam House Looking Upstairs From Living Room
Post And Beam House Staircase To Second Floor and East Entrance
Post And Beam House Kitchen, Fridge/Freezer, Range and Oven, Dishwasher, Sink. Dishes, Etc. Provided
Post And Beam House Bathroom Sink
Post And Beam Bathroom, Toilet and Washer/Dryer, Shower to the Left (Not Shown)
Tower Cottage Showing Balcony
Main Living Area Of The Tower Cottage, Dining Area on Left, Kitchette on Right, Sitting Area Center
Tower Cottage Bathroom, Glass Tiled Shower on the Left, Stone Sink in Center, Toilet on Left
Tower Cottage Second Floor Bedroom and Cantilevered Stone Stairs
Tower Cottage Back Deck
Stone Cottage Exterior
Stone Cottage Walkway
Stone Cottage Jacuzzi
Stone Cottage Interior From The Front Door
Stone Cottage Interior, Showing Bath Open to the Room and Fireplace
Apartment On Second Floor Above Quiet Three Bay Garage
Apartment Entrance
Apartment Entrance
Apartment Dining Area and  Top of Stairs From Living Area
Apartment Interior From The Bedroom, showing Queen Size Sleeper Sofa
Apartment Living Room Open To Kitchen
Apartment Bedroom View From Living Room
Apartment Kitchen North Side
Apartment Kitchen West Side
Apartment Kitchen East Side
Apartment Kitchen Island
Apartment Bathroom From The Living Room, Door Leads to Bedroom
Apartment Sink and Toilet
Apartment Tub/Shower Seen From Bedroom Entrance To The Bathroom
Owners, Buzz and Nancy in the Canary Islands
Main House Garden Entrance
Main House Front Garden Gate, Designed And Fabricated By Master Blacksmith Duran Van Dorn
Main House Root Cellar
Patio With Weber Grill, Near Stone Cottage, Tower Cottage and Apartment
Patio Garden for Guests With Tomatoes, Basil, Peppers, Mint, Stevia. Parsley, Thyme, Sage, And More
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ithaca, Finger Lakes, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laurie J
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“lovely cottage-not quite ready for guests”
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed for 2 nights in the post-and-beam cottage at stone quarry house. The house is on the hill away from the other accommodations. I was warned that there was building going next to the cottage but I selected it anyway since it was larger than the Tower house.

You enter the property from a separate entrance from the road. You must open a gate to get into the area. This area is where two additional cottages are in the process of being built. This means the area around the cabin is a building site. It is not landscaped, although there is a back deck that looks over the woods. The area around the cabin is primarily dirt and hardscabble grass. Driveway is unfinished.

The cabin itself is lovely and well thought out. Fully equipped kitchen, countertop, large sofa and chair, dining table and chairs if you need them. The upstairs has a wonderful Queen size bed comfortable chair and lots of room. Currently there are no curtains or window coverings of any kind on any window except the bathroom. So I was up at 6:15 am every morning, when the sun hit the bed. Also, the construction started at 7:30 on the houses next door. With no curtains anywhere and workman next door, I did not feel comfortable getting dressed anywhere but in the bathroom.

I would wait until they get curtains before renting the post and beam again.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thanks for your review of the post and beam cottage. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the lack of landscaping and window coverings. Since you've stayed, we have added room darkening shades upstairs and translucent shades downstairs. The first of the two additional houses is almost completed, the second should be completed by September. We have high hopes that the drought will break and the grass will grow around the houses soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk1143
Encinitas, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Much Better Than a Hotel”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

As luck would have it, the hotels were booked a couple months in advance and we found this place in a different listing type. It was perfect for our four day stay. A few minutes from town and even closer to a grocery store and Collegetown Bagels. We stayed in the Tower Cottage and didn't mind the stairs though they may not be for everyone. The cottage was beautifully built with quality furnishings, sink and shower tile, fixtures, etc. The bed was also very comfortable and it felt like sleeping in a treehouse especially with all the springtime birds singing in the morning. It was convenient to have breakfast (eggs from on site chickens a bonus) and some lunches at the place. There is only one sink serving both the bathroom and kitchen but a dish rack and pan are provided. Nancy was very friendly and helpful and showed us one of the other cottages which was also beautiful. We would definitely recommend staying here and would again ourselves.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thanks for your descriptive review of your stay in the tower cottage. I'm glad you were comfortable in the tower cottage and I hope you'll get a chance to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edhempton
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“A Unique Getaway in the Country”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was our first trip to Ithaca. My daughter was looking at Cornell University. I feel so fortunate to have found the Stone Quarry House. We stayed in the Tower Cottage together and we felt like Princesses sleeping in the spire of the cottage! The king bed was so comfortable and the lighting and remote control heat made it very cozy for us. The decor is beautifully rustic and really makes you feel like one with nature. The property is very private with a pond right outside our door way. Also, Nancy gave us a great suggestion to hike at the Buttermilk Falls while we were there! Absolutely stunning!! All in all, it was the perfect getaway, and if we return to Ithaca, we will be sure to stay at the Stone Quarry House!

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thanks for your thoughtful review of your stay in the tower cottage. The tower definitely has a 'fairy-tale' feel. Tucked into the woods, there is a view of the trees out of most windows making it feel surprisingly secluded even though it is not far from the main house and apartment. I hope you'll have a chance to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherH4...
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly charming and dog friendly!”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed two days in the very charming Tower Cottage. So well appointed, with details we wouldn't have considered beforehand, such as a heated bathroom floor, that now I feel I can't live without. We stayed in December, so while the weather was mild for the time of year, we didn't spend much time on the grounds due to rain. The cottage has a small deck on the main floor and a balcony on the second, and they would be beautiful in pleasant weather. The cottage was a perfect place for us, big enough so that we had space, but small enough to feel intimate. Nancy, the proprietor, was very nice and welcoming. I can't wait to go back and stay in the other spaces!

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Thanks so much for your review of your stay at the tower cottage last month. I'm glad you enjoyed the heated tile floor - in this case, since the energy is coming from our photovoltaic system, we can enjoy it guilt free! I hope you'll be able to return in warmer weather - though the stone cottage with the wood burning fireplace and Jacuzzi is pretty nice in the cold weather too! Thanks again, Nancy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather M
1 review
“Highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Stone Quarry House is unlike any lodging I've ever experienced. We booked for two evenings in May 2015. It's close to the sights and tourist attractions of the area, but it's quite private, removed enough to relax completely. The appointments are "rustic luxury" if that's a genre :) Sheets etc are the highest quality, the place is well cared for and clean. The copper paneled shower is housed in it's own private outbuilding, as is the master bedroom. This worked great for us, as I'm an early to bed type and was unbothered by the late night socializing in the main house. A fireplace makes it cozy. The owner was very helpful when we had questions about the area, but as her home is down the hill a ways you really are on your own if you prefer it! There is a kitchen and table inside, as well as a good sized picnic table for outdoor dining. The VIEW during our dinners was unbelievable. Perfect place to sit with some wine and watch the sunset, as the deck is up on a hill overlooking a valley of sorts. High-end cabin type lodging that looks like it's straight from the pages of Dwell magazine!

I'd recommend the stone quarry house to anyone who likes privacy and wants to bring their own entertainment to the party without being bothered.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2015
Thanks for your kind review and for your description of the hilltop house and why it worked well for you! It can be a hard place to describe, because it is so unusual, but you did a great job!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing