We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stone Quarry House

Hilltop House At Night, Bathhouse on Left, Main Cabin Center
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hilltop House At Night, Bathhouse on Left, Main Cabin Center
Main House and Apartment in the Winter Hilltop House From The Pond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Hilltop House At Night, Bathhouse on Left, Main Cabin Center
Main House and Apartment in the Winter
Hilltop House From The Pond
Stone Roof and Chimney of the Hilltop House
Hilltop House Deck And View
Hilltop House Main Cabin East Side
Hilltop House Main Cabin West Wall - Sofa With Deck To The Right, Wood Stove To The Left
Hilltop House With Queen Size TempurPedic Sleeper Sofa Set Up in Main Living Cabin
Hilltop House Kitchen, Sink, Fridge/Freezer, Microwave and Countertop Oven, Induction Burner
Hilltop House Main Cottage Lights Designed and Crafted by Master Blacksmith Duran Van Dorn
Hilltop House Sleeping Cabin Exterior
Hilltop House Sleeping Cabin With Queen Size Bed
Sandstone Shower In The Hilltop House Bathhouse
Hilltop House Bathhouse Stone Sink
Hilltop House Sunset View From Main Cottage
Post And Beam House Exterior
Post And Beam House TempurPedic Queen Size Bed, Cantilevered Stone Nightstands Windows Looking West
Post And Beam House Second Floor East Side Cozy Corner Chair Becomes Comfy Twin Size Bed
Post And Beam House Living Room From Upstairs, Sofa Opens To Become Very Comfortable Queen Size Bed
Post And Beam House Living Room, Corner Table Opens To Seat Four With Two Chairs and Two Stools
Post And Beam House Looking Upstairs From Living Room
Post And Beam House Staircase To Second Floor and East Entrance
Post And Beam House Kitchen, Fridge/Freezer, Range and Oven, Dishwasher, Sink. Dishes, Etc. Provided
Post And Beam House Bathroom Sink
Post And Beam Bathroom, Toilet and Washer/Dryer, Shower to the Left (Not Shown)
Tower Cottage Showing Balcony
Main Living Area Of The Tower Cottage, Dining Area on Left, Kitchette on Right, Sitting Area Center
Tower Cottage Bathroom, Glass Tiled Shower on the Left, Stone Sink in Center, Toilet on Left
Tower Cottage Second Floor Bedroom and Cantilevered Stone Stairs
Tower Cottage Back Deck
Stone Cottage Exterior
Stone Cottage Walkway
Stone Cottage Jacuzzi
Stone Cottage Interior From The Front Door
Stone Cottage Interior, Showing Bath Open to the Room and Fireplace
Apartment On Second Floor Above Quiet Three Bay Garage
Apartment Entrance
Apartment Entrance
Apartment Dining Area and  Top of Stairs From Living Area
Apartment Interior From The Bedroom, showing Queen Size Sleeper Sofa
Apartment Living Room Open To Kitchen
Apartment Bedroom View From Living Room
Apartment Kitchen North Side
Apartment Kitchen West Side
Apartment Kitchen East Side
Apartment Kitchen Island
Apartment Bathroom From The Living Room, Door Leads to Bedroom
Apartment Sink and Toilet
Apartment Tub/Shower Seen From Bedroom Entrance To The Bathroom
Owners, Buzz and Nancy in the Canary Islands
Main House Garden Entrance
Main House Front Garden Gate, Designed And Fabricated By Master Blacksmith Duran Van Dorn
Main House Root Cellar
Patio With Weber Grill, Near Stone Cottage, Tower Cottage and Apartment
Patio Garden for Guests With Tomatoes, Basil, Peppers, Mint, Stevia. Parsley, Thyme, Sage, And More
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ithaca, Finger Lakes, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KimCarlKi...
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were really excited to stay at the Tower. Nancy is just lovely and so welcoming to our family including our dogs. The Tower is very comfortable and refreshing. Every aspect is luxurious from soft robes, refreshing shampoo and soaps, coffee and soft crisp sheets. the Tower is perfect for a couple and we enjoyed all 3 nights. The dogs loved playing frisbee in the yard. Love the sustainability practices as well. We look forward to coming back for another visit soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thanks for your review! Our dogs aren't good at catch or Frisbee, so it was a treat to see yours enjoying themselves in the yard. :-)

We always appreciate it when guests arrive with their dogs recently groomed and when it is clear that the dogs have come along to enjoy the vacation with the family - not just to avoid kenneling fees. Thanks for cleaning up after them outside and for including them in your daily activities. Great dogs (and their families) are always welcome back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellin...
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped for and more!”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I just returned from an extremely relaxing 3 night stay here and can't wait to return. The owner, Nancy, could not have been more helpful and pleasant throughout the booking experience and stay. She replied to emails immediately and helped us decide which cottage would best fit our needs. She was there when we arrived and made sure we had everything we needed. We were most pleased to be able to bring our dog with us. The tower cottage was the perfect size for the three of us. Just note, the stairs to the bed may be a little steep for an elderly/arthritic dog or young child (our dog is 10 and did just fine.)
The location was great too. Just a short 10 min. drive to downtown Ithaca for food, shopping, etc. and 20-30 minutes to many local parks, waterfalls and wineries. There is also a gas station, pharmacy and supermarket even closer if needed.
This is a perfect place to stay if you are looking to getaway from the daily grind, release stress and enjoy nature and each other! Our favorite memories will be just sitting with the windows open or on the back porch reading and taking in the breeze and birds sweetly chirping.
Cannot recommend the Stone House Quarry enough. We will definitely be back!

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thanks for your review! I'm so glad you were able to take the time to relax on the back deck of the tower cottage. I like the way the tower cottage is tucked back into the woods a bit and, even though the front of the cottage is open to the pond, the drive, and the other buildings, when on the back deck, it feels very private.

Thanks for keeping Honey, your beagle, from chasing the chickens! We have almost completed the new fenced chicken yard, which should give them much more protection from the foxes - who have decimated our flock (and our neighbor's flocks) this summer! So next time it may not be quite as tempting for Honey!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shababcha
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ithaca College Graduation Weekend”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Excellent choice for a weekend stay that required close proximity to Ithaca College and yet enough distance for peace and quiet. Lovely property. The Tower Cottage was immaculate and well appointed. Although marketed as a romantic getaway, it was comfortable for three, but four would be fine too. We'll be sure to recommend to others looking for lodging in the area.

Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Thanks so much for your review! I'm glad to hear that the tower cottage was comfortable for three. I know the sleeper sofa is super comfortable, but another reviewer recommended that the tower might feel crowded with more than two, so I usually recommend it for two. The sleeper sofa does take up much of the main living area, but in the warmer weather perhaps the back deck area adds enough space to balance it out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmhand2...
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best experience ever!”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in February 2014

We went in January and found this place extraordinarily quiet and private indeed behind a gated entrance. We were seeking comfort and simple elegance and found it here. If you are seeking glitz & commotion this is not it but should you prefer solitude, relaxation and comfort in front of a real wood fireplace with the simple elegance of Stickley furnishings, a huge and extremely comfortable bed and a Jacuzzi - you are in the right place! Despite great restaurants in Ithaca our best dinner was in front of that beautiful fireplace with a charcuterie platter from The Piggery and a bottle of Eve's Cider from Red Feet Wine Market in town. Our hosts Nancy and Buzz were perfect and left us alone save for an invitation to breakfast that was not on the agenda.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2015
Thanks for your review, which really captures the qualities I really like about the stone cottage in winter! While our Ithaca winters can drag on a bit longer than I'd like, when settled down by the fire with a book and a dog and maybe a choice beverage, there isn't much better!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AprilMoon...
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
“Enchanting getaway”
Reviewed 24 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

What a lovely and enchanting cottage! Along with being environmentally friendly, we found our accommodations to be comfortable, clean and aesthetically beautiful. The craftsmanship of the cottage was just stunning! We stayed two nights and enjoyed snuggling under the electric blankets on a luxurious temperpedic bed, taking baths in the Jacuzzi tub and sitting by the fire. My husband loved the variety of coffee available and drank cup after cup! The grounds were larger than anticipated, and we had a blast roaming them with our two dogs. We anticipated a small television, so we brought our laptop and some movies. The cottage also had WiFi, so we could stream Netflix through, as well. We traveled to wineries, dinned in town and shopped a bit. All were a convenient drive from the cottage. Best of all, Nancy answered many questions we had before our stay. We had our choice of where to stay (the grounds offer several choices) and she helped us pick which one was best suited to our needs. We are looking forward to traveling there again in warmer weather and trying one of the other choices! Highly recommend!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing