We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, relaxing getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stone Quarry House

Hilltop House At Night, Bathhouse on Left, Main Cabin Center
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hilltop House At Night, Bathhouse on Left, Main Cabin Center
Main House and Apartment in the Winter Hilltop House From The Pond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Hilltop House At Night, Bathhouse on Left, Main Cabin Center
Main House and Apartment in the Winter
Hilltop House From The Pond
Stone Roof and Chimney of the Hilltop House
Hilltop House Deck And View
Hilltop House Main Cabin East Side
Hilltop House Main Cabin West Wall - Sofa With Deck To The Right, Wood Stove To The Left
Hilltop House With Queen Size TempurPedic Sleeper Sofa Set Up in Main Living Cabin
Hilltop House Kitchen, Sink, Fridge/Freezer, Microwave and Countertop Oven, Induction Burner
Hilltop House Main Cottage Lights Designed and Crafted by Master Blacksmith Duran Van Dorn
Hilltop House Sleeping Cabin Exterior
Hilltop House Sleeping Cabin With Queen Size Bed
Sandstone Shower In The Hilltop House Bathhouse
Hilltop House Bathhouse Stone Sink
Hilltop House Sunset View From Main Cottage
Post And Beam House Exterior
Post And Beam House TempurPedic Queen Size Bed, Cantilevered Stone Nightstands Windows Looking West
Post And Beam House Second Floor East Side Cozy Corner Chair Becomes Comfy Twin Size Bed
Post And Beam House Living Room From Upstairs, Sofa Opens To Become Very Comfortable Queen Size Bed
Post And Beam House Living Room, Corner Table Opens To Seat Four With Two Chairs and Two Stools
Post And Beam House Looking Upstairs From Living Room
Post And Beam House Staircase To Second Floor and East Entrance
Post And Beam House Kitchen, Fridge/Freezer, Range and Oven, Dishwasher, Sink. Dishes, Etc. Provided
Post And Beam House Bathroom Sink
Post And Beam Bathroom, Toilet and Washer/Dryer, Shower to the Left (Not Shown)
Tower Cottage Showing Balcony
Main Living Area Of The Tower Cottage, Dining Area on Left, Kitchette on Right, Sitting Area Center
Tower Cottage Bathroom, Glass Tiled Shower on the Left, Stone Sink in Center, Toilet on Left
Tower Cottage Second Floor Bedroom and Cantilevered Stone Stairs
Tower Cottage Back Deck
Stone Cottage Exterior
Stone Cottage Walkway
Stone Cottage Jacuzzi
Stone Cottage Interior From The Front Door
Stone Cottage Interior, Showing Bath Open to the Room and Fireplace
Apartment On Second Floor Above Quiet Three Bay Garage
Apartment Entrance
Apartment Entrance
Apartment Dining Area and  Top of Stairs From Living Area
Apartment Interior From The Bedroom, showing Queen Size Sleeper Sofa
Apartment Living Room Open To Kitchen
Apartment Bedroom View From Living Room
Apartment Kitchen North Side
Apartment Kitchen West Side
Apartment Kitchen East Side
Apartment Kitchen Island
Apartment Bathroom From The Living Room, Door Leads to Bedroom
Apartment Sink and Toilet
Apartment Tub/Shower Seen From Bedroom Entrance To The Bathroom
Owners, Buzz and Nancy in the Canary Islands
Main House Garden Entrance
Main House Front Garden Gate, Designed And Fabricated By Master Blacksmith Duran Van Dorn
Main House Root Cellar
Patio With Weber Grill, Near Stone Cottage, Tower Cottage and Apartment
Patio Garden for Guests With Tomatoes, Basil, Peppers, Mint, Stevia. Parsley, Thyme, Sage, And More
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ithaca, Finger Lakes, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris L
Minneapolis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxing getaway!”
Reviewed 15 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the apartment over the garage for six nights in July 2012. The apartment is very private and spacious. The bedroom has windows on three sides, and the night breezes were heavenly. There were some fireflies at the windows one night so we had our very own fireworks display! We appreciated all of the amenities, including the nice outdoor patio space and the excellent wi-fi service.

I love that Nancy is concerned about preserving the environment, from the solar panels on the property to the recycling and composting facilities in the rental unit.

The location is convenient to Cornell and Ithaca, and there is a large grocery store nearby. We used this location as a home base for our travels around the Finger Lakes region. It is a great value when compared to area hotels.

Nancy went above and beyond to make sure that we were satisfied with our stay. I highly recommend the Stone Quarry House!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Harpswell
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place, but BEWARE!”
Reviewed 12 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
9
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely apartment. Stayed here in fall 2011. We booked 2 months ahead for a 3 night
Feb'12 stay only to have our confirmed status (owner cashed our full payment check) cancelled as a Jan-Apr tenant became available, thus over our dates. We were bumped!
Don't think much of owner's ethics. Just BEWARE!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2012
We regret the guest's disappointment. It is our policy to offer the first choice of location to long term guests, but we make every effort to offer an equally comfortable alternative when (rarely) it is necessary.

This guest was 'bumped' to the stone cottage, an equally comfortable private lodging on the same property. With a wood-burning fireplace, Jacuzzi, TempurPedic king-size bed, it is the most popular choice is the winter months. However it doesn't have a full kitchen and dining area, which was important for this guest this visit.

We refunded the guest's payment on the same day she requested a refund. We increased her refund by ten percent to help compensate her for the inconvenience. We offered to help her find alternative lodging. We have offered the main house kitchen, dining room and living room to guests on occasion, an option we didn't get to discuss in this case as the guest had already determined that she preferred an immediate refund.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angia85
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Such a relaxing stay!!”
Reviewed 5 December 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the beautiful stone cottage during the first week in August and I enjoyed my stay sooo much. I was supposed to stay with my boyfriend, but things changed and I ended up staying alone and it was some much needed r and r after a very hectic and difficult past couple of months. The grounds are beautiful as is the cottage! I loved the bed, so comfy! And Nancy and Buzz were such gracious hosts! Nancy went above and beyond and was there for me as a friend when I needed someone to talk to. I really appreciate that and will never forget that :) She also was a sweetheart and even took me into town one day when she was running errands so that I could pick up some groceries (I'm a bad driver so I try to stay away from the roads as much as I can) :D I really loved Ithaca and the Stone Quarry House. Thank you soo much for the amazing stay in a country like setting with ducks, chickens, fish and dogs and kitty (who was the sweetest!) Really needed that rest and the cottage and the beautiful serene settings recharged my batteries. Thank you so much!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfort and Class Near Cornell Campus”
Reviewed 4 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed with Nancy and Buzz in the apartment at the Stone Quarry House for a 3-night fall weekend from 9/29/11 through 10/2/11. I am a hotel school alum and consider myself a tough critic. We had four people (wife, three-year old, and best friend from college), and we were pushing the limits of this one-bedroom, one-bathroom apartment. Nonetheless, we had an excellent experience. This is a beautiful residential neighborhood and property, the apartment was clean, cozy and well appointed. Nancy and Buzz were warm and gracious hosts.

The Stone Quarry House is a grouping of three buildings on a large residential property - the main house, the apartment (which is on top of a non-used three-car garage close to the main house), and the cottage (a large one-room cottage). Some reviews mention that this was a B&B, but it is not now, though I would be interested in Nancy and Buzz's cooking if they took that up again. On the property are: a small pond with a handful of ducks; a dozen or so chickens either roaming or in a tidy coop; a beautiful vegetable garden, an outdoor seating area (didn't get to use - cold, wet Ithaca weekend!), large solar panels, and an expansive spread of land on all sides. There are three dogs kept in the house that were very friendly when out (rarely) and the property is dog-friendly, as the guests in the cottage had two dogs with them. The property was extremely quiet and peaceful at all times, especially at night.

When we arrived (BTW - be careful if you are using GPS - there is also a "Stone Quarry Road" in Ithaca a few miles away - but the Stone Quarry House is located on Quarry Road!!), we were greeted by the ducks and then by Buzz and Nancy. We found out that not only was Nancy accommodating to our needs, but also that she was well in tune with our three-year-old. We did not bring much in the way of toys, and Nancy let us use a crate full of wooden railroad tracks and trains, a perfect toy that we could never have brought with us, and which our boy played at for hours. We were also lucky enough to have Nancy babysit for us when we went out to dinner, though she does not advertise this service!

The apartment was cozy and clean. It has a beautiful brand new kitchen which easily fits two people and the counter has two stools underneath it on the living room side. There is also a full-sized dining room table that could fit six easily if you wanted to entertain. The sofa bed in the living room was very comfortable according to my buddy from college, who is six feet tall and finicky. It is made comfortable mainly by the use of a visco-elastic pad add-on and good bedding. The bedroom contains a wonderful king bed, beautiful dresser, matching night tables, and a full closet. A twin-sized aero bed was added for our kid, which definitely made it tight in there. The bathroom, with tub/shower and large sink/vanity/cabinets (and a nice window) was perfect, and included soft, absorbent towels and a built-in dispenser in the shower with basic products. There are two doors to the bathroom - to the bedroom and the living room. The only minor drawback was a difficult placement of the toilet paper dispenser (and I am told that Nancy is strategizing how to fix this - how about under the window Nancy!?).

Overall - this was a great, relaxing, clean and comfortable experience. Nancy obviously strives to please her guests, and my sense that she would do whatever was requested within reason to accommodate her guests. We highly recommend this property.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splash6
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We very much enjoyed our stay at the Stone Quarry House and would go back again”
Reviewed 10 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I drove from Ontario Canada and spent 6 days in the apartment to explore the Finger Lake area. We truly enjoyed our stay. Nancy and Buzz were very accommodating and even let us keep our motorbike in their garage as it appeared that there could be rain during our stay. The grounds are beautiful and accommodated a flock of ducks, hens and a rooster. As a result we enjoyed fresh eggs for our breakfast. The apartment was spacious and very clean. The king size bed was so comfortable we could not believe how well we slept at night. The accomodations are in the country side of Ithaca yet very close to a supermarket and just a short drive to the Ithaca Falls, Cornell University and downtown which was a nice surprise as we could drive into town for dinner at night after a full day of sightseeing in the area. We would definitely stay there again if we ever visited the area again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing