We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Brides Fairytale....A Hotel Guests Nightmare”
Review of Oheka Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oheka Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Brides Fairytale....A Hotel Guests Nightmare”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Oheka Castle has to be one of the most beautiful locations on the Island. Stunning in many ways, the grand entrance, beautiful foyers, manicured gardens. It is also a dream come true for a newlywed couple to be married. That said, it is not the place to stay if you are not part of the wedding party. My wife and I booked the room to be treated poorly by the staff who was ambivalent to non-wedding party guests. Visiting the lounge before dinner, the bar staff was busy making preparations for the reception and ignored us. Returning from dinner offsite, there was no valet available to take your car (valet required). After dropping my wife off at the door, I drove down the hill to park the car only to be challenged by the valet (who had to get items for the wedding party) that parking requires valet, even if they are not there (Really?). The wedding celebration lasted until after 2 am in the morning with the music shaking our 3rd floor bedroom walls. Having an early departure, when we shared our disappointing (and expensive) experience, the manager on duty said "too bad" and that they normally advise guests in advance and it was an oversight that we were not informed. No concern or apology. Very sad,disappointing, and unprofessional management and staff for such a grand location Breathtaking venue, ambivalent and disconnected staff to non-wedding party guests. Be sure you ask if they have a wedding reception scheduled......in advance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Stbonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    47
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
37
132
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Oheka Castle deserves a 10star rating. The gardens and castle are renovated to its original splendour. The rooms are large and the bathrooms all uniquely decorated,some with a jaccuzzi. We felt as if we were royalty in our own castle, our own fairy tale dream.

I would highly recommend the castle tour as you get to appreciate the beauty and history of the "monopoly man's" castle.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I would give Oheka Castle 10 stars if I could. The place is more grand and luxurious than you can imagine. Our room was large with a huge bathroom with jaccuzzi. The bed was a queen ( a king would have been better) but there was a sitting area and a walk in closet. The place is as solidly built as any building anywhere. You dont hear your neighbors walking around or anything else.

We had a light lunch at the bar, and a fantastic dinner. Dont be put off by the prix fix menu. You can order ala carte. As a matter of fact they served us dinner in a room that once was the study of the lady of the house. We had the room to ourselves. In terms of atmosphere and service, it was one of the best meals we ever had.

I highly recommend Oheka Castle to anyone looking for a romantic getaway. I dont think it is a great place to bring kids, unless they can appreciate the beaty and the history of the Castle. We look forward to going back.

Room Tip: the fourth floor rooms have small windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had great fun at Oheka. Yes, as other Trip Advisor reviewers had mentioned, there were some funky things about the room and the TV cabinet doors wouldn't stay open for us either, but when the expectations are set in the romantic historic roaring twenties spirit of the castle, the experience was great fun!

The bath room was very well done and the room, although a bit funky in spots and definitely decorated to fit the roaring twenties mantra, was very comfortable and enjoyable. It would have been nice to have a small end table for both sides of the bed, I used my suitcase instead.

We really really enjoyed our meal in the Charlie Chaplin room, the food was wonderful and the specialty drinks were professionally prepared and tasted great. Our service was top notch and it goes without saying that the setting and atmosphere was most interesting. The owner, who lives in the castle, came by and had a warm and friendly conversation with us.

We took the tour the next day and the guide was excellent, very informative and friendly. The grounds and building were open for us to stroll around (we really enjoyed the formal garden area) and we enjoyed seeing a wedding being set up for the coming night.

The only negative comment I would make it that there is a set a stairs in the grand entry that you have to carry your bags up. Normally I carry all my own bags and don't bother the bell staff, but for this one, you might want to accept their kind offers to take your bags to your room for you.

So is it up to top luxury hotel standards? Not yet, but he is still working on it. But if you come in with the right set of expectations it is a really fun and interesting place to stay!

Room Tip: The view out the top floor is obviously best, but the price is higher up there as well. Our view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Submariner42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I went there for her birthday with a Groupon. It is an amazing place. Gorgeous. Quiet. Easy to get to from NYC. You really felt like royalty. The room was beautiful, clean, and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The food was expensive (but that is to be expected) was delicious - worth the price! And the staff was amazing. I have never encountered nicer people at a hotel before. They really made sure that you were enjoying yourself and taken care of... also not a blink of the eye at the fact we were a lesbian couple. I wish I could move in! Thanks Gary and Staff!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tentimes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
3.5 km away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
11.0 km away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
3.0 km away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
19.9 km away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#2 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
5.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oheka Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oheka Castle

Property: Oheka Castle
Address: 135 W Gate Dr, Huntington, NY 11743-6052
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Huntington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Price range (per night): $407 - $708
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oheka Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHEKA CASTLE is a majestic historic mansion located on Long Island's famed Gold Coast between New York City and The Hamptons. This French-style chateau is the second largest private residence in America and has undergone $30 million in restoration to transform this stately home back to its former 1920's grandeur. OHEKA is listed on the National Register for Historic Places and boasts 32 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites on the upper floors where guests can sleep like royalty. Guests can enjoy a leisurely stroll around the beautiful formal gardens designed by the Olmsted Brothers, take a mansion tour and learn about the rich history of OHEKA and Otto Kahn, or dine in the OHEKA Bar and Restaurant before retiring to your uniquely designed guestroom for an in-room massage. Breathtakingly beautiful, OHEKA CASTLE is admired around the world as a premier venue for exquisite weddings and gala celebrations and has been the backdrop to many prominent film and photo productions. The refined European atmosphere and the feeling of being transported back in time to the decadence of the Roaring Twenties consistently gives OHEKA the recognition as America's Grandest Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Oheka Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oheka Castle Huntington
Oheka Castle Hotel Huntington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing