We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Desert”
Review of Namib Desert Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Namib Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2017

You won't think that this place is situated in the Desert. The staff is extremely friendly and willing to help with anything. The food is delicious and you can look forward to the breakfast buffet every morning!! Will definitely recommend this Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your pleasant words with us and for recommending our property, we are honoured!
Your special regards have been shared with the housekeeping staff and lodge management and all have ensured to maintain the exceptional standards of service delivery. All the best with your travel plans, Kind regards, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2017

The highlight of our Sossusvlei trip, this lodge has stunning views and encourages you to simply sit and enjoy them. The accommodation was lovely if a little basic, the swimming pool was empty but the dinner was proper delicious Namibian food and the service was great. And did I mention the fabulous views??

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amleech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your fabulous story with us. How awesome of you to elaborate our property with such great words? We hope to share more of such awesome times with you in the days to come.
The housekeeping staff and lodge management have ensured to keep to the highest standard of service delivery and are hoping to make your next visit a great success. Lovely regards, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

This hotel is an oasis in a hot desert. Lush and cool with two beautiful pools. The rooms are cool and comfortable (although AC didn't work great). We were so happy to lounge by pool and drink fancy cocktail after long hot day at the dunes.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience on this platform. We enjoyed catering to your needs and we would do it a thousand times over! The housekeeping staff and lodge management appreciate your feedback and have taken the AC issue into consideration. We hope your next visit will be a great success.

All the best in your upcoming adventures. Warm regards, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We really enjoyed our time at Namib Desert Lodge. It was a crazy drive to get there, but it was fun nonetheless. The food was good. The kids loved playing in the pool and walking around the hills outside of the hotel. Rooms were clean but could have used more air conditioning units for the double rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ronit36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us, we are happy to hear from you and glad that we have made your stay worthwhile. The housekeeping staff and lodge management have reviewed your experience and has ensured to put your suggestions to good use.

We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia. Send our special regards to your lovely family. Yours in hospitality, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

This Lodge was by far the best, and most personalized service I have experienced. The staff went out of their way to greet us, and make our stay memorable. The food was excellent and the setting is breathtaking with the desert to to one side and cliffs to the other.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 401jeannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your fabulous feedback with us; we are stunned by your wonderful words and we would definitely love to feel your presence once more.

The housekeeping staff and lodge management have reviewed your story and have ensured to keep up the good work. I am wishing you all the pleasures in your adventure journey.

Best regards, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
62.4 km away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
359 reviews
0 km away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
112 reviews
7.4 km away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#6 of 12 in Sossusvlei
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#8 of 12 in Sossusvlei
198 reviews
26.8 km away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#15 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
155 reviews
32 km away
Solitaire Desert Farm
Solitaire Desert Farm
#1 of 4 in Solitaire
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namib Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namib Desert Lodge

Address: Nelson Mandela Ave 42 | PO Box 80205, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range: $258 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Namib Desert Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main building and the chalets of Namib Desert Lodge are spread out along the foot of the fossilised dunes of the ancient Namib. A comfortable sojourn is guaranteed by 65 en suite rooms with air conditioning. A restaurant and bar, an inviting terrace with views of the fossilised dunes and two swimming pools beckon you to linger and relax. Oryx antelope and springbok make frequent appearances at our illuminated watering place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Namib Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namib Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Namib Desert Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing