We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay”
Review of Namib Desert Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Namib Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We really enjoyed our time at Namib Desert Lodge. It was a crazy drive to get there, but it was fun nonetheless. The food was good. The kids loved playing in the pool and walking around the hills outside of the hotel. Rooms were clean but could have used more air conditioning units for the double rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ronit36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us, we are happy to hear from you and glad that we have made your stay worthwhile. The housekeeping staff and lodge management have reviewed your experience and has ensured to put your suggestions to good use.

We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia. Send our special regards to your lovely family. Yours in hospitality, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2017

This Lodge was by far the best, and most personalized service I have experienced. The staff went out of their way to greet us, and make our stay memorable. The food was excellent and the setting is breathtaking with the desert to to one side and cliffs to the other.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 401jeannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your fabulous feedback with us; we are stunned by your wonderful words and we would definitely love to feel your presence once more.

The housekeeping staff and lodge management have reviewed your story and have ensured to keep up the good work. I am wishing you all the pleasures in your adventure journey.

Best regards, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

A reasonable lodge but some rooms are a long way from reception and the walk is uphill fortunately its downhill back.
Staff helpful
Didn't like the buffet meals at all
Room were ok bathroom was fine .

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mikeswallow01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our property. We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations; the housekeeping staff and lodge management have reviewed your experience and have ensured efforts to make possible improvements.

We hope to be able to make your next visit a remarkable experience. Best wishes in your future adventures!

Yours in hospitality, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Namib Desert Lodge is about an hours drive from the Seisreim gate where we went to explore the Dunes - conveniently located. The accommodation is decent. Combine it with a night at Dune Star Camp which is located nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Factfinder90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Many thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are honoured and we would love to feel your presence once more. We trust that our potential guests will make fantastic use of your incredible story to make Namibia a destination of choice.

We further wish you plenty of fun in your future adventures. Hope to see you again soon!

Yours in hospitality, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this lodge. The location was close enough to the dunes that we had time to climb big daddy before it got really hot in the day. The staff were extremely helpful and the food was good.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bethinkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

We would like to take this opportunity to applaud you on your adventure with us! It was indeed a pleasure to have you and we wish for more remarkable times with you in the near future. The housekeeping staff and lodge management have reviewed your feedback and ensured to continue the good work.

We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next tour to Namibia. Keep well.

Kind regards, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
62.4 km away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
359 reviews
0 km away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
112 reviews
7.4 km away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#6 of 12 in Sossusvlei
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#17 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
155 reviews
11.9 km away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#8 of 12 in Sossusvlei
198 reviews
0 km away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namib Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namib Desert Lodge

Address: Nelson Mandela Ave 42 | PO Box 80205, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range: $259 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Namib Desert Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main building and the chalets of Namib Desert Lodge are spread out along the foot of the fossilised dunes of the ancient Namib. A comfortable sojourn is guaranteed by 65 en suite rooms with air conditioning. A restaurant and bar, an inviting terrace with views of the fossilised dunes and two swimming pools beckon you to linger and relax. Oryx antelope and springbok make frequent appearances at our illuminated watering place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Namib Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namib Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Namib Desert Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing