We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful”
Review of Namib Desert Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Namib Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2017

The lodge is large so if you are unfortunate you will find yourself with quite a walk from your room to the pools. But the pools do make up for the inconvenience.
A hike across the river bed and into the dunes before breakfast is recommended, although the flies can be a bit much.
Others have commented about the management & staff attitude, compared to other Gondwana resorts. While I had no issue with the staff, I would tend to agree that the service at other Gondwana resorts is higher. That said, this is only the 3rd Gondwana resort I have stayed in, but it is by far the largest so perhaps the size has made the more personal touch from the staff not the same.

Room Tip: Dune view, close to the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kipper_CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience with us and for making us aware of the troubles you have encountered, our apologies. We value your perspective on our different properties as you have taken your time to visit them.

This review has been shared with the housekeeping staff and lodge management and has ensured to take the necessary steps to improve the standards of service delivery.

We wish you nothing but the best in your upcoming adventures. Kind regards, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2017

This is a great value for money lodge. The staff were so very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and the farm so beautiful in the middle of the desert abundant with wildlife. The pools are clean and the grounds lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you very much for sharing such beautiful words about our property with the world. Your feedback really means allot to our service delivery. Your lovely story has been shared with the housekeeping staff and lodge management and all hoping to welcome you back on your next visit to our property.
We are wishing you nothing but the best in your future trips. Yours in hospitality, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

More of a resort type of property with nice rooms. The rooms are spread out so it's a tiny walk to the parking lot with your belongings. Hotel food is decent, pool is nice, AC in rooms work well. Coming from desert quiver camp (amazing) it was most definitely a downgrade. If I had to do it again I'd stay somewhere closer to the park

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review. We are sorry to hear that our property did not meet your expectations. Your story has been shared with the housekeeping staff and lodge management and all wishing you fun in your future tours.
All the best. Kind regards, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

The rooms are a bit old but they have generous and fairly private terraces. It is a larger hotel compared to others we stayed in in the area (ie tour groups for example), but the green gardens and the swimming pools are very pleasant to spend a quiet afternoon between long car journeys and early starts; we combined this hotel after a night at the Dune Star Camp. We recommend the short self-guided walks outside the hotel (ask at reception): at sunset you can get very close to the dune and see many animals grazing.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikingB00ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you very much for sharing your heavenly experience with us. We are very happy to hear from you and we would love to have you again. We trust that our future guests will make great use of your awesome recommendations.
We are wishing you all the fun in your travelling plans. Warm regards, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Lovely get away destination with breathtaking views,
Though a bit far off from the Soussesvlei and deadvlei, Namib desert lodge offers great facilities, relaxing environment. the children had great fun in the pool, I beach ball would have been great to have to add to the water games they played

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lawrencekk2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Content Development at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and truly appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience. We wish you all the best in future travels and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Jescey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
62.4 km away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
354 reviews
7.4 km away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#6 of 12 in Sossusvlei
290 reviews
11.9 km away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#8 of 12 in Sossusvlei
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#16 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
155 reviews
63.7 km away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
535 reviews
32 km away
Solitaire Desert Farm
Solitaire Desert Farm
#1 of 4 in Solitaire
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namib Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namib Desert Lodge

Address: Nelson Mandela Ave 42 | PO Box 80205, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range: $240 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Namib Desert Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main building and the chalets of Namib Desert Lodge are spread out along the foot of the fossilised dunes of the ancient Namib. A comfortable sojourn is guaranteed by 65 en suite rooms with air conditioning. A restaurant and bar, an inviting terrace with views of the fossilised dunes and two swimming pools beckon you to linger and relax. Oryx antelope and springbok make frequent appearances at our illuminated watering place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Namib Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namib Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Namib Desert Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing