We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
244
311
87
23
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
311
87
23
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews petrified dunes dune star sundowner drive dinner buffet namib desert gondwana collection reception area sun downer red dunes air conditioning buffet style a lovely stay beautiful setting curio shop an oasis two night stay family room
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Our room overlooked the spectacular fossilized dune with antelope grazing within a few feet of us!! Staff were extremely friendly and helpful! The facilities are comfortable, there are also two swimming pools, a gift shop and restaurant on-site.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PhiavG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Content Development at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you to another of our properties and wish you all the best on future travels. Kind regards, Jescey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

A little oasis in the midst of the desert, many visiting oryx and springbok, a quite restful place. one hour travel from Sessovelei. Facilities good, with two swimming pools,most welcoming for that dip when the temperatures soar.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B9386OKpeterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Content Development at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey and look forward to welcoming you to another of our properties in the future. Kind regards, Jescey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed for 2 nights at the Namib Desert Lodge over new years and it was as expected GREAT. food stunning, drinks cold, pool cool and the rooms clean and tidy. what i also really enjoyed was the "venue" and the layout of the lodge. close enough to everything but still sort of private. we visited both Sesriem and Sossusvlei which are about 45 min away. in summary, really recommendable and great!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Content Development at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope your enjoyed your New Year's celebrations and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Jescey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

It is not a place you should expect too much of. But it is a very good place to spend the night and to relax at the poolside after your desert trip
If you book, make sure dinner is included in the rate. There is no alternative restaurant in a 60 km radius and otherways they charge 300 NAD p.P. for an unexceptual meal. Compared to other places we stayed at, this is far too much.
Beds were a bit worn.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christianmJ637YU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Content Development at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the feedback offered on the above mentioned issues and will be sure to address the matters. Kind regards, Jescey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Having stayed in 5 of the Gondwana portfolios, Namib Desert Lodge was by far the worst and especially the service from the staff in particular the food and beverage manager who did not seem to share the ethos of the other Gondwana establishments' staff which was service with a smile and being flexible to ones various needs. The units we were allocated which face away from the mountain are a waste of time and should not have been built. It is a mountain facing unit or no unit at all.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Samuel/Karen/Ki... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Content Development at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very sorry that it was not what you expected. We will be sure to address the above mentioned issues and would like to extend our thanks that you are willing to give us feedback. We hope to welcome you to another of our properties in the future, so that we may change your mind about the Collection. Kind regards, Jescey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews