We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunbeach Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The hotel only has 100 rooms which is ideal if you want a quiet and relaxing holiday. We were in room 101 which was the furthest away from the main hotel and it was still only a couple of minutes walk to get to the reception area. There was only a couple of children there (both under 5) so I could not say if the facilities would suit older children unless all the wanted was the pool and the beach. The hotel was clean and well maintained and on the whole the staff were very helpful and smiling all the time. Too many of the staff to mention were really helpful so I will not mention any names just in case I accidently leave one out. The thought of 'melon time' especially brings a smile to my face each time I think of it.
Three sides of the hotel overlook the water, either the Atlantic or the river Gambia. Our room (101) was overlooking the Atlantic and the trees on the beach provided shade for part of the day if you just wanted to sit outside the room. The aircon is very effective and can be set to suit requirements using the remote control. My wife would have preferred rooms 111 - 120 as she likes constant sun! All rooms are on the ground floor and most areas are accessible by wheelchair but it is advisable to check access especially for electric buggies as many of the rooms are accessed by stepping stones on the grass. The hotel are quite happy to accommodate all reasonable requirements. Guest relations personnel continually walk around the hotel grounds checking that the guests are happy and have no concerns.
The food was good, limited choices compared to many all inclusive resorts elsewhere but of good quality and the hot food was always hot!
Above all, if you want somewhere hot to relax in, this is definitely the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms 111 to 120 have a sea view and overlook a small playground, ideal if you have young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Ged M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2017

We went to Gambia in March 2017 and stayed at this hotel, it was completly refurbished and reopened December 2016, really nice hotel with a view to the sea from our room. The staff were really friendly and the meals were good, the room was cleaned well and really nothing to complain about. We had beutifull weather the whole period we were in Gambia. temperature was +/- 35°C . We went out of the hotel everyday, exploring all the surrounding area's. Also visited many places with a taxi and our friend Kasum , Definately a hotel to recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mervyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

This was our third holiday in Gambia,me and my husband. First time in Sunbeach hotel. the rooms were just renovated, very nice and clean, also the bathroom. very helpfull and friendly staff .We like going on restaurant,so we can say that the food was very good, we gave more than once compliments to the cook. We also recommend the tourguides outside in front of the hotel,very sympathic people. Our favourite was Fanta, a young girl,but a very good tourguide, she will always give you a fair price.We always take clothes and shoes, especially for children. Ask one of the staff, or your tourguide,to bring you to a compound, were you can hand.You make people very happy. Afther many years of travelling we found our second home in Gambia.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jaajale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We stayed a week in this all-inclusive hotel. The food was good and there was enough variation during our stay even for us vegetarians. Also Gambian specialties were served. The service was always very friendly and every member of the staff loved to have a chat. The hotel area was secured by multiple guards that patrolled day and night. Sun beds around the pool were almost always reserved.

The room was recently renovated but the bathroom was a bit outdated. The room was cleaned daily but the sheets were not changed once during our stay. There was an air-conditioning with user-controlled temperature, which was really nice in 30+ C temperatures.

There are hotel's official guides in front of the hotel who are very willing to help you with any problems or plans. You can recognize them from OTG tag on their shirts. A guide is recommended as there is otherwise very little organized tourism in Gambia and he/she also keeps unwanted bumsters away from you. Our guide was named Shaka and he was a very friendly and trustworthy person who took our wishes into account and didn't just try to sell his services too much. But the other official guides are probably good choice as well.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hapapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We were a little apprehensive about our trip to The Gambia because of the political unrest before we came. We needn't have worried! Everything was quite settled and the Gambian people were so pleased to see us.
We found the Sunbeach Hotel very satisfactory. The staff were always ready to assist if we needed anything. The food was pretty good for buffet style - we didn't try the fish restaurant, so cannot comment. Chef was very helpful as I need to eat gluten free.
Service around the pool was good - thanks, Fabarakay! Evening entertainment was pretty good - thoroughly enjoyed the man on the stilts!!
We took one trip out to The Fathala wild park in Senegal and had an amazing experience including the ferry crossing ☺️
We'd certainly recommend The Sunbeach and will have no hesitation in returning

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Wag17gles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakau
0.3 km away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
5.2 km away
Sunset Beach Hotel
7.8 km away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Serekunda
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 km away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 16 in Serekunda
867 reviews
4.9 km away
Kombo Beach Hotel
14.5 km away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbeach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbeach Hotel & Resort

Address: Kofi Annan Street, Cape Point, Bakau 00220, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Bakau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Price Range: $155 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbeach Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunbeach Hotel & Resort is a top four-star, All Inclusive luxury hotel, located in the most prestigious part of The Gambia, in the very heart of Cape Point-Bakau, Gambia’s finest Beach District. The Hotel offers a breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean and magnificent River Gambia with swaying palms and panoramic sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunbeach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbeach Hotel And Resort
Sunbeach Hotel Bakau
Sunbeach Resort Bakau
Sunbeach Hotel & Resort Gambia, Africa - Bakau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing