We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
40
41
7
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
41
7
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seneca lake finger lakes mom pop place boat dock previous owners great dock new york comfortable beds campfire wineries chad plum pillows lodging hosts
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Stayed this past weekend with my husband and 9 year old. We all enjoyed it. The location is beautiful. The bonfire great. The restaurant has very good homestyle food. We met nice guests many of whom come every year. Our room seemed fairly recently renovated. The beds are not very comfortable. The cost is very reasonable. We would definitely come again!

Date of stay: August 2015
1  Thank Dorie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

My husband and I have been coming here for years each summer for a few days. We no longer even leave to do the wine tours, we now just relax, read, watch the water, take walks and find ourselves. No matter where else we go all year, Rainbow Cove is THE place we think about and look forward to the most.

If I had to make one complaint, the type of music and the volume of the music in the restaurant would be my Achilles Heel. We are not country western music people but apparently the staff are as that is all that is played - and it is played too loud for us.

That aside, we have been home from there for only 3 days and are on our countdown until next August's stay!

Room tip: Upstairs has the best view and the least human traffic noise!
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Outside of Motel looked so nice, pool was nice, perfect location right across from lake, beautiful dock to sit on and relax. We booked the room for the night a month in advance and was told they had 1 room available, The rate was a little high for a Monday night. The room was awful, bed was terrible,room had cobwebs on the ceiling, walls and ceiling were pealing paint. The air conditioner leaked water all over the rug and we had to buy frabreeze to spray the room because it was so musty smelling. In the middle of the night the air conditioner stopped working all together. We reported all these issues to front desk but nothing was done for us to compensate. We had a room booked for our trip back home but cancelled it..

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Owner Jef makes us feel at home right as we checked in. Restaurant serves excellent food and is real home made food at a very reasonable price. This place is so beautiful as like a place out of the past. Simple but very beautiful quiet place right on the shore of the lake. Accommodations very nice...some age when in the rooms but we were wine touring so we weren't around all day...owner has a fire every night for guests to enjoy.... Will be back hear again... Great memories and very nice guests also.

Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jgraf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

It's a very peaceful location, right on Lake Seneca. The rooms aren't fancy and it's an older style motel but it is kept very clean and the grounds are very well maintained. When we arrived we remarked that it looked good, as if the grass had just been cut and then, just two days later, they were cutting it again! There is a pool, small games room and small boat available to rent. The meals were home-style, very good.

I must say that on both visits we didn't find most of the staff to be overly friendly, both on the phone and in person. However, we noted them having cheerful conversations with others who seemed to be regulars.

Some rooms have been renovated and now have small flat-screen TVs and fridges. Others have just a small, old-style TV and no fridge. Ice is readily available for free though so if you take a cooler you'd be fine without a fridge. The pillows in both rooms were not comfortable and the mattress in one room wasn't very comfortable.

Room tip: Suggest you bring your own pillows, not very comfortable in either of our two rooms. And a coffee maker if you want coffee before 8am.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Aussiedog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews