We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Peasant Bread Our Fav”

Heidelberg Bakery Store
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Herkimer
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 October 2018

While visiting family, we had tried Heidelberg bread during a meal. After learning it was just 20 minutes away, we visited the bakery. The breads are beautiful and delicious. The French Peasant toasted is fabulous. The bakery also has a small dining area. When we visited it was lunch time. There were a few couples enjoying some light fare as we looked at all the muffins and other sweets. The pastry items were not brag-worthy, typical of what you'd find in a bakery. The fillings tasted like that out of a jar/can. The bread is what we went for ... oh and we did have a grilled cheese that was mighty tasty. Definitely recommend a stop to grab a few loaves and some sweets. Close by KOA and Herkimer Diamond Mines.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Veronica3x3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2018

Excellent breads here. Try the Bran to lower your cholesterol. Try the Sunflower Raisin because it is so delish! Also the Peasant bread is our favorite both plain or toasted. Yum! And the best part of it all is there is no junk in these breads. No unnecessary additives! Wow!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

We were camping and our neighbors talked about this bakery so we wandered on over. WOW what an experience. The interior has picture worthy authentic german decor. We ordered a half dozen pastries then saw another two full cases of pastries we hadn't even seen. Very delicious. the raspberry cream cheese puff was definitely to die for!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dmflord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

A fun family lunch with a great atmosphere! The pastries are delicious and the potato salad was awesome.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 105kathleenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Not only are lunches great here ALL bakery items are absolutely delicious! I visited on a whim and I am still thinking of the great bread, croissants, pies, strudel, cookies ... wonderful selection. Employees are great and experts about helping clueless people like me ... select what will go best at a family reunion. The restaurant is decorated with old German church pews and other furniture ... that gave much to look at while enjoying a wonderful and tasty lunch. I can see why the locals were frequent during my stay. Fresh food was always being delivered while there ... so you know the home-baked goodies and lunch was fresh as if grandma made it. Do not miss this bakery/cafe.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heidelberg Bakery Store also viewed

 

Been to Heidelberg Bakery Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing