We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable little trip”
Review of Erie Canal Cruises

Erie Canal Cruises
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Herkimer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We offer many ways to enjoy the sights and sounds of a trip down the Erie Canal! Our most popular cruise is our sight seeing cruise. Daily sight seeing cruises are 90 minutes in length and travel east on the Erie Canal through Lock 18, raising and lowering vessels over 20 feet! Pass by the Fort Herkimer Church, one of the oldest in the state. Hear an award-winning narration about the past, present and future of the Erie Canal. Sight seeing cruises offered 7 days a week from mid-May through Columbus Day. Join us on a specialty cruise! Welcome on board a Living History Cruise to the Historic Herkimer Home, "Rock the Lock" on a Friday Night Party Cruises, laugh all the way down the canal on a Comedy Cruise or relax and enjoy a Canal Nations sunset cruise!
Bridgewater, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable little trip”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We really enjoyed this little adventure. The captain was very knowledgeable. It was amazing to think how the canal was made and operated in the early days. I would also enjoy crusing on other parts of the canal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MARY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    78
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,109 reviews
672 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,656 helpful votes
“Friendly; Relaxed; Full of Information”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

There is only one rating for this wonderful cruise company - five stars. The boat is immaculately clean with carpeted interior and leather cushioned bench seats. There are see-through curtains for inclement weather and a canopy to shade passengers from the sun. The day of our boat trip was sunny with a slight breeze - very comfortable.

The captain and his mate exude confidence and are full of information about the origins and use of the Erie Canal. The ride takes about an hour and a half and the water is quite still. Those worried about any roughness on the water need to know that you never feel the boat move. The ride through lock 18 is pretty thrilling, even for those who have traveled through locks before. The water is lowered 20 feet, the gates open, and you steam forward right away.

On the return trip, the 'Lil Diamond' goes through lock 18 again and chugs back to the dock in front of the Waterfront Grille. While you are at it, you might decide to have lunch there, a sister property that is just as good. Enjoy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend 2 hours”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The 1.5 hour boat ride was relaxing and informative. We also took a little time to browse the gift shop and eat lunch in the restaurant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank cattraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great day trip”
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

We met friends" half way" to visit and have lunch and decided to do the Erie Canal Cruise for part of our time together. It was really quite a lovely thing to do.

The Lil' Diamond ll was a beautiful vessel to ride on. Very clean, comfortable and open so there was a nice breeze going through. The Captain and Mate were very friendly and informative. The history of the canal was told in a very easy to understand way.

We simply enjoyed the trip very much.

Helpful?
Thank jlpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WOW What History”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I went on a day trip again though Yankee Trails. This time it was ENHANCED TOUR OF THE ERIE CANNEL.
The tour through LOCK 18 and the trip on the cannel was something else. Our tour captin was CAPTIN CHRISTIE she was excellent. There was so much history with the cannel its amazing that all this was done in the 1800s. and early 1900s.
Lock 18 took about 15 minutes each way to get through. Its operated by 1 persson. This person overseas the whole operation from start to finish.
If you see the locks as you drive the NEW YORK STATE THRUWAY its totally different going through them.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PTL1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Erie Canal Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Erie Canal Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing