We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not outstanding”
Review of Belhurst Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belhurst Castle
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good but not outstanding”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We had a Reserve room in the Vinifera Inn. The Inn is the newer part of the hotel and is attached to the Castle. Beautiful grounds and the Castle is quite beautiful. The room overlooked Seneca lake and faced east, so each morning we saw the sunrise. Room was very spacious with a king size bed, large 2-person spa tub in the room, 2-person shower in the bath, large coffee maker with very good coffee, small refrigerator (with 2 bottles of water that were replenished each day), TV, and a gas fireplace. The mattress, linens and bedspread are what you would find in an average hotel and Belhurst should consider upgrading (higher thread count, comforter in place of a bedspread, etc.). No wi-fi in the room; you need to go to to the lobby to access the internet. The hotel should consider replacing the TVs with flat screen hi-def televisions. In general the room was very clean, but the grout in the shower had mold and needs a good bleaching. One of the sinks had no stopper. Refrigerator and heating/cooling units were very noisey. If the hotel advertises itself as a romantic getaway--I think quieter refrigerators and heating/cooling units would be ideal. Front desk staff was not friendly, but very reserved, and did not make any extra effort. If there are wine spigots (with free wine available) someplace in the hotel, as another reviewer noted, it is a well kept secret as the staff did not tell us about it nor did we see them. The hotel's location is excellent---2 miles from downtown Geneva and close to a number of wineries. For the price, I expected a hotel that I could rate as outstanding, but I was disappointed. There are a number of nice touches. We had dinner in the pub one evening and it was average. Breakfast was a buffet with made to order omlettes (very good) and a large selection of other breakfast food, but the the hot food was rather cool.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Inn all have views of the lake, I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    145
    83
    66
    107
See reviews for
67
428
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed in the castle in the Collins room. Outside our door was the spigot for free red wine.
The room was a nice size with all the conveniences including a queen bed and gas fireplace.
We enjoyed dinner at Edgars with both a fix price menu at $25 and al a carte. They had a pretty extensive wine list. The wait staff was very accommodating and attentive. A beatiful property to stroll around.

Room Tip: The Collins room is good value facing the parking lot. The Bronze room is a good option facing the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teafolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We bought a 3 night, 2 day get away package and were absolutely pampered. The winery and tasting was private - the wines were very good and we brought some back to our room. The room had a fireplace and a view overlooking Seneca Lake. The spa was amazing (but a bit pricey!). We had a nice dinner at Edgar's after a few drinks in the pub before. The food was good, but not fancy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My wife and I stayed in June at the Cottage. When we first arrived at the Cottage it was perfect for what we were looking for. Rustic, out of the way, country setting.
We first entered and were getting excited for our stay. Dropped our luggage off and went to dinner.
Dinner was a joke. I had the swordfish and there was not much fish. That was about the most of the dish, oh some rice. My wife had the prime rib which was pretty bland. Looking around we noticed everything was falling apart. The windows, the tables and the chair across from us had the bottom padding falling down.
We went back to the Cottage to kick back and try to just enjoy our stay.
The same as the restaurant once we got in there. The jacuzzi had a large crack in it and the handles didn't work right. The table was wicker and falling apart and the place had squirrels running through the ceiling all night. I looked out side to see where they may be getting in and I noticed that an attempt to keep them out was being done with metal mesh in the corners on the roof and different places. They had also tried sealing some spots with expanding foam, they had left the nozzle for the foam in the flower box out front.
When we went to check out the young man that was at the counter did not seem impressed at all that he was there. I had told him about the squirrels and it was like it went over his head.
I made sure we were square on the stay and we left.

I do not see us going there again.
Tim Minahan

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TimMinahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Hudson, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

If you really want to impress someone take them to the Belhurst Castle. This is an authentic castle built in the late nineteenth century using stones quarried in Europe, transported to beatuiful Geneva in upstate New York, and assembled according to the plan of a European castle. It is an imposing structure in a beatuiful setting, overlooking Lake Geneva, one of the larger of the Finger Lakes. Geneva forms a equilateral triangle with Rochester and Syracuse, New York, each roughly an hour from the other. The current owners have kept the building as much to the original as possible. Each of the rooms in the bed and breakfast part of the facility has its own bathroom. We stayed in a room overlooking the lake -- a beautiful, romantic setting for part of our honeymoon. The restaurant is first class. One tipoff that you're dining in an elegant restaurant that knows how to pamper its guests is that you can get brewed tea and heavy cream to drink -- none of this "tea bags and skim milk" as is becoming the norm in our PC world. Besides being pampered and sharing a beautiful environment, the castle also has an interesting history. Geneva was once known for its orchards. One of the wealthy orchard owners, from New York City, had the castle built for his fiancee who then jilted him. Neither one of them ever lived in it. It went through a series of owners, and was a speak-easy at one point. The current owners are giving it the love and respect it deserves.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrFloyd001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
3.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
2.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
565 reviews
3.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
2.6 km away
White Springs Manor
White Springs Manor
#10 of 11 in Geneva
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belhurst Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belhurst Castle

Property: Belhurst Castle
Address: 4069 Route 14 South, Geneva, NY 14456
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Price range (per night): $300 - $458
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belhurst Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Seneca Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes Wine Region, Belhurst takes you away to a place filled with history, beauty and breathtaking views. Visit our newest addition ~ Isabella Spa, open to the public and perfect for bridal parties. Belhurst also offers a winery and gift shop, 2 restaurants, 2 large ballrooms accommodating 250 people for weddings and 8 breakout rooms for corporate and business meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Belhurst Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhurst - Chambers In The Castle Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing