We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek and Italian food to die for!”
Review of Bravo

Bravo
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Freeville
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 October 2018

My friend Kate was raving so much about her recent meal at Bravo, I just had to try it. When you first see the place, you might be inclined to drive on by, but if you do that, you will miss out on some really yummy food. Kate had a fabulous Greek salad with chicken for her first visit, and shared an awesome chocolate chip cookie concoction with all the fixings, with another friend.
We drove through gorgeous countryside, to Freeville, after a couple hours of shopping in Homer, NY. The owner and chef, Gus, warmly greeted us at the entrance to the clean and unassuming dining room. We both decided to order gyros, and we agreed that they were the BEST WE HAD EVER EATEN. The homemade pita bread was tender and light, with a bit of crunch around the edge--a perfect canvas for the fresh and delicious meat, veggies and sauce--YUM! Gus told us that 99.9% of the restaurant's fare is homemade. He also told us that, although he does not offer beer or wine, guests are welcome to bring their own. We didn't sample the Italian food, but we overheard another guest who did tell Gus that Bravo's Italian food is by far the best in Central New York. The dishes we saw looked mouthwatering and the portions were beyond generous, so he just might be right about that.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C8415IUkathleenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018

The restaurant was small and felt like a diner. The day we were there the place The service was fine and the length of time to get our food was also fine. The food was of good quality with generous portions and excellent prices. The restaurant serves Italian and Greek food. Everyone at our table had Italian dishes. The pizza we had I felt could have more pizza sauce to it but was tasty. The stromboli we had was a little bready but also tasty.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve_in_Freeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

We met friends of ours here, and it was excellent!!! I can't say enough good things about it. The owner ran the whole show, from taking our order, to fixing the food, etc. The food was the best italian food food I have had in a long time, and the owner was gracious, kind, patient and wonderful! This is a little out of the way place, but make sure it is on your list. Don't be in a hurry, as he does it all, and the wait will be more than worth it. A wonderful full menu, also. We own a B&B in Watkins Glen, and with this only being a few minutes out of Ithaca...we will tell our guests, and brought home menus. Don;t miss this hidden little gem. It is italian and greek..and awesome!!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vickie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

On the positive side the servings were very generous. The Greek salad was swimming in the dressing and the lasagna was horrible. Based on the dish that was served I deduce it was prepared like this. The noodles were (under)cooked without stirring and then drained and left in the pot. This made them into a sort of pasta brick. They were put in a bowl with two scoops of ricotta cheese, covered by tomato and meat sauce and sprinkled with cheese. This was the worst lasagna I have had in my life.
They do not serve beer or wine.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We had stopped at the Book Barn and the owner their spoke highly of Bravo and gave us directions. What a great experience. It is a very small place and we would never have expected the extent of the menu or the quality of the food by the size of eatery. We had a scrumptious lunch and if you are looking for good fresh food, try the Bravo.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jesse24813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bravo also viewed

Freeville, Finger Lakes
Freeville, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing