We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Malaysian food”
Review of Malay Restaurant

Malay Restaurant
Ranked #95 of 778 Restaurants in Flushing
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

definitely the place to be if you want some authentic food in nyc. this restaurant had been around for decades - the people behind this establishment are malaysians are they are pretty reputable as hawker chefs before they moved to the states.

it's one of the closest-to-home flavours we Malaysians can get. it may differ a little, due to the ingredients. for eg, the chilli they used is mexican ones, it's thicker and the spiciness is different from local Malaysian chilli. try some of their curry, it's a good place to try Malaysian food before actually visiting Malaysia, or if you're Malaysian food!

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank Crystalism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

I almost walked by this place but luckily found it. If I hadn't read other reviews online, I probably would have continued on my way. There is plenty to choose from on the menu. The food is authentic, very good, and very affordable. Portions are substantial enough for one or two meals. Credit cards accepted. Service is friendly. I plan on returning.

Date of visit: January 2016
1  Thank 721Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

I did some research before I chose this restaurant and I am not disappointed. I mean, at first, when I got there it did not look very nice and high end. Than, I notice that despite of being close to 9 PM it was still full. I took advantage of the BYOB policy and was delight with the quality of food and service.
Recommended appetizer: Indian Rojak Salad
Recommended Main dishes: Curry Chicken and Okra & Belachan Shrimp
I noticed some of the dishes were adapted to other Asian tastes.
A place to come back

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jumbalaia_Abitilini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malay Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Malay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing