We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the rain and sun!”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grove Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cherry Grove
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

We took the ferry with friends to Cherry Grove. The weather was a little chilly and breezy. Being from Arizona, we look forward to weather like this. Our first stop was at Cherry Grove Pizzeria. It was just as wonderful as I remembered 2 years ago. Excellent service and food! We then. Went to the hotel and purchased day passes for the pool at the hotel. It was sad to see the damage from the fire last year, but everything was up and running as usual, except the rooms. I went down to the beach and had a wonderful time on the shore. It was clean and not too busy.
The highlight of our adventure was the trivia games at the hotel. We had a awesome emcee of the game and it was so much fun!!!! Everyone had a great time! Fun little prizes! This was a great activity since it was raining for a bit. We had missed our ferry so we needed to kill another 2 hours before we could leave and we found a hidden gem. We had dinner at Sandcastle on the Ocean. I had the Chicken, it was truly on of the best Chicken dinners I ever had. We sat at the bar and had the best bartender/server. He kept track of the time for us, so we didn't miss the last ferry of the day! Rain or Shine, Cherry Grove did not disappoint us!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank janjan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2015

A group of deaf friends who frequents this hotel for the annual Gay Pride weekend event learned the hotel never got around to hiring a certified ASL interpreter for the drag show. Some interpreter who happened to be around was asked to interpret for us -
Secondly, the lifeguard was so rude in forbidding my service dog and I at the pool deck area. I tried to write a note about the ADA law - he rudely and aggressively snatch my pen out of my hand. Shocked - I went to the manager who also denied me. We had to call the police - unfortunately the police was unaware of the ADA law too. Disabled folks are not allowed to be treated differently from other customers & I was forced to sit afar from my deaf friends in a corner unable to see the interpreter or performers well.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RaVen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Fun place in the summer, just a block away from a cousin of a friend . Thankfully no one was killed , 3 firemen injured. Hopefully it comes back better than ever. I'll look fwd to that.
They could hurry and re build it, make it better than ever, it is important to replace a landmark destination.

Room Tip: It was a landmark, so I hear. I would add a photo, but it's too sad. -asn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank ansophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

its a great hotel, but it is what it is, small cheap clean, small rooms but clean and serves its purpose. best times to stay here are june and sept cheapest rates 69 to 89 a day or 10% off 3 nights or 20% 7 nights ,grt pool but freezing, plenty of lounge space,theme weekends,always busy but less noisey in june n sept, ive been coming here for 15 years, i love it ;)~~~~

Room Tip: get a room away from pool if you like quiet n pool side room if u like a party atmosphere all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Don't have a lot of expectations and you will be fine. As the other reviews have said, this is a place to sleep, shower and party at the Ice Palace. Do ask for a room facing outside and not toward the pool. We were here for a couple of nights and it was okay.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to get a "deluxe" room and face away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherry Grove
5.6 km away
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
#1 of 4 in Ocean Beach
578 reviews
5.7 km away
Clegg's Hotel
Clegg's Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ocean Beach
85 reviews
4 km away
Fire Island Hotel and Resort
Fire Island Hotel and Resort
#1 of 1 in Ocean Bay Park
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: Dock Walk, Cherry Grove, Fire Island, NY 11782
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Cherry Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cherry Grove
Price Range: $63 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove Hotel is Fire Island's Premier Gay Resort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing