We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Duplicate review from FloNB for accomodation she...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Gite au Chez

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The garden in front of the cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
The garden in front of the cottage.
Our neighbours
Looking right as you come up the driveway
Bathroom window
Bedroom window
View of the back of the cottage from the orchard
Le Gite au Chez exterior
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Saint-Vaury, Creuse, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rachell0
Limoges, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Duplicate review from FloNB for accomodation she did not stay in.”
Reviewed 27 January 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Since your site will not accept submissions of suspect reviews ( you seem to have a technical error at the moment) I am writing here to tell you that the review written by FloNB appears on both La Grange & Le Gite au Chez. She did not stay in Le Gite au Chez, she stayed in La Grange. I notified you of this in November hence the review was moved to La Grange. She has since re deposited her exact same review for Le Gite au Chez-something which is against your rules. I would appreciate it if you could remove it from this listing Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FloNB
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware...”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Charmingly rural but not listed with Gîtes de France and Clé Vacances, beware. We were hugely disappointed. If you like to live off a bric-à-brac stall surrounded by secondhand weathered furniture that has never seen any polish, this is the place for you. The setting may be lovely and quiet, Rachel friendly and the renovation project amazing but for the price we paid it did not deliver. We were not comfortable and we felt everything was substandard, the accommodation, the second hand furniture (saggy-bottomed chairs), the bedding, the towels, the shower. The breakfast was also below our expectations. Sorry, Rachel.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendly owners
Liked least: kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kandn1989
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, charming, peaceful and excellent value”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have stayed at Le Gite au Chez and their other gorgeous property La Grange a few times and the last stay was some months ago (not through TripAdvisor) and we don't often write reviews, but were startled by the comments posted by FloNB - is she talking about the same place?!

Both Le Gite au Chez and La Grange buildings (100+ years old) have been very sympathetically renovated with thoughtful decor and the authentic furnishings are delightful and completely in keeping (new furniture would be an anachronism). The service - including breakfast - provided by Rachel and her family achieves the perfect balance of respectful discretion and attentive helpfulness.

I can recommend either property to you if you would like a delightful rural stay in beautiful accommodation in the peaceful surroundings of La Creuse.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: I can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing