We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely attention to detail!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Salt Herrings

Cottage exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage exterior
lounge Stunning sea views from Sitooterie
Accessed via courtyard at rear of cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Cottage exterior
lounge
Stunning sea views from Sitooterie
Accessed via courtyard at rear of cottage
lounge
lounge
Relax and enjoy the views.
Accessed via courtyard at rear of cottage
lounge
double bedroom
lounge
twin bedroom
shower room
sea view from bedroom
view from lounge
view from lounge
lounge
outside cottage
January 2014 sunrise from lounge
January 2014 sunrise from lounge
en suite with slipper bath
cottage exterior
Full moon view from Sitooterie July 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cellardyke, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Alacoque
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely attention to detail!”
Reviewed 2 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Had a fantastic week at Salt Herrings. The view over the water from the living room, bedrooms and sitting out area is simply stunning. The owners have put a lot of effort into making the cottage a home from home so it doesn’t feel like a holiday cottage. They were really friendly and helpful too. My partner has been ill recently so we had to spend a lot of time in the house but it was a pleasure to be there. Spent hours watching the oyster catchers and cormorants sunbathing on the rocks and a beautiful heron which came to fish in the tidal pool each evening. Can’t recommend this place highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Doree...
1 review
“A Fantastic Break”
Reviewed 24 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I highly recommend Salt Herrings, Cellardyke. The accommodation is beautiful and has excellent views of the sea. I spent many hours just enjoying the views. The owners, Iain and Janis, were most helpful and very welcoming. An altogether wonderful time in Cellardyke and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillR49
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Find!”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Just finished a wonderful week at Salt Herring cottage . A very comfortable, well presented property with amazing costal views. Lots of lovely touches and a well thought out layout.A fabulous place in which to completely relax. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shkc26
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“All we needed for a relaxing break.”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Lovely, clean cottage with beautiful view. Ideal location for exploring the East Neuk and handy for evening strolls into Anstruther for a good selection of dining.
Cottage was very warm and spacious for four people.
We would highly recommend and hope to return in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esk201720...
Bellshill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Salt Herrings”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed here for a week and had a lovely time, accommodation ideal. Lots of little extras and welcomed personally on arrival.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing