We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best In Town!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bassett House Inn

Bassett House Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Hampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bassett House Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 East Hampton B&B and Inns
nygirl2587
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best In Town!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

My friends and I stayed here for one night in the Hamptons over Memorial Day Weekend and were pleasantly surprised. Mike was so nice from the get go and was very helpful and accommodating. I have stayed at many hotels over the country and have never received service like I have here. It's not about perfection, the house is warm and inviting, it feels like you are staying with family or friends rather than a stuffy hotel. His rates are the best in town, and he went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. He is a sweet guy, and reviews can't do him justice. You just have to see for yourself!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nygirl2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    19
    4
    0
    22
See reviews for
8
17
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

A lovely place to stay with a beautiful garden and outdoor area in general. We wanted to just sleep under the stars (and we did, for a little while at least)! Michael, the innkeeper, was a kind soul who treated us with care and generosity. We were just 4 kids (well in our 20's and 30's) needing some tender, loving, care... a bit lost and without a place to stay in Montauk and he offered us a space and such hospitality at the Bassett Inn. We would and will return very soon, our next trip east, to stay again.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CeciliacSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

I stopped here at random while searching for a place to crash on the eve of the 2010 Mighty Hamptons Triathlon. Michael was very kind and accommodating. He even let me return after the race to clean up, sort gear, nap.

I was not prepared for the expense of staying in Easthapmton, and Michael was kind enough to offer me a rate that we could both agree upon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriGuy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

We were in need of accomodation at 1:00 in the morning and Michael (inn-owner) was not only awake at that hour to answer our inquiry but went over and above his call of duty and gave us a very special place to stay. Without being overbearing, he provided a level of service that is rare to find.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiona11b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

Michael, the innkeeper greeted us upon arrival with a big smile and a warm hello. It was our first time traveling with our 15 month old dog and, if it's true what they say about dogs sensing danger, her tail wagging quickly put us at ease about our lodging. The Ritz Carlton it's not, but it is a wonderful country style home with clean, light, airy rooms with lots of charm. Our aim for this little getaway was to allow our dog to experience the ocean. Michael had many suggestions that fulfilled our needs and led to a good night sleep for all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isaroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
7.2 km away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
16.8 km away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
8.9 km away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
20.1 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
1.9 km away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#1 of 12 in East Hampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bassett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassett House Inn

Property: Bassett House Inn
Address: 128 Montauk Hwy, East Hampton, NY 11937-2811
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price range (per night): $149 - $259
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Bassett House Hotel East Hampton
Bassett House Inn East Hampton, Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing