We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage to explore the beauty of Galloway...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Front of Lavender Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Lavender Cottage
Front entrance of the Cottage Local River - 'Water of Deugh'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Front of Lavender Cottage
Front entrance of the Cottage
Local River - 'Water of Deugh'
Living Room - spot our dog 'Tootsie' at the bottom of the picture
Dining Area
Serving Hatch from Kitchen through to Dining Area
Seating Area in Living Room
T.V. & Coal / Log fire
King Sized Bedroom
2nd Bedroom with Bunk Beds
New Bathroom Suite with Mixer Shower
Fitted kitchen incl. - electric cooker, washing machine, tumble drier, fridge freezer + microwave
Back enclosed garden for pets
Side view of cottage
Local view near cottage
View from cottage window
'Water of Deugh'
Heritage Centre near the cottage
Road to Loch Doon
Road to Loch Doon
Loch Doon
Loch Doon
Loch Doon
We are pet friendly
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Carsphairn, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nils P
Oldenburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage to explore the beauty of Galloway Forrest Park”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Levander Cottage in August 2014 for 10 days. We had a very warm welcome on our arrival. Bob gave us all the detailed information about the house and the use of all devices including the fireplace. He also provided us with tips for tours in the surrounding area.

The Cottage is very well equipped and the cleanness was perfect which ensured a perfect holiday in Galloway Forest Park. The landscape is spectacular and inspires to explore the beauty of the forest park. It was also the perfect base for us to visit Glasgow, Ayr, Dumfries and the Mull of Galloway. We also purchased the Historic Scotland Explorer Pass which enabled us to get free entry to a lot of intersting historic sites, including Dundrennan Abbey, MacLellan’s Castle, New Abbey Corn Mill, Sweetheart Abbey, Threave Castle and Cardoness Castle.

Even though the weather wasn't perfect for a summer vacation I'd say that this was a perfect holiday.

Being back in Germany our son realized that her forgot his furry soft-toy in the cottage. Bob was so kind to go back to the cottage searching for it. Fortunately he found it and sent it to us without wanting me to pay for the postage. That was just great and a very good example for perfect customer care. Thank's again Bob.

We are well recommending Levander Cottage for your future holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxrenn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great cottage, great views, fantastic if you want peace and quiet!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Bob was incredibly helpful and informative, the cottage is well appointed and cosy. The location is beautiful and a good base for exploring the Galloway Forest. I personally think the location/views are even better than it appears in the photos. My only issue was that the only shop in Carsphairn seemed to be closed a lot and meant we had to do a 20 mile round trip for a pint of milk! However, this aside I would highly recommended the cottage and location - just make sure you come prepared!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the real fire
Liked least: had to come home0
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool
Reviewed 28 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness and peace.
Liked least: No wifi, however did me good to have a break from the Internet
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing