We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place, lovely owners”
other travellers have booked this property
This photo is taken from the farmyard opposite Meadow Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This photo is taken from the farmyard opposite Meadow Cottage
ANOTHER FRONTAL VIEW OF MEADOW COTTAGE. THIS IS THE LOUNGE
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
This photo is taken from the farmyard opposite Meadow Cottage
ANOTHER FRONTAL VIEW OF MEADOW COTTAGE.
THIS IS THE LOUNGE
THIS PHOTO IS OF THE  KITCHEN
SAME AS ABOVE DIFFERENT ANGLE.
THIS IS THE ENTRANCE TO THE 2 ACRE PLAYSAFE FIELD AND PICNIC AREA.
ANOTHER VIEW OF THE KITCHEN.
THE MAIN ENTRANCE TO THE FARMYARD.
THIS IS A PHOTO OF THE DOUBLE BEDROOM OVERLOOKING THE PEAK DISTRICT.
THIS IS A PHOTO OF THE FAMILY ROOM.
THIS IS [ELLIOTT] SHARING A JOKE WITH A CUSTOMER.
THIS IS A PHOTO TAKEN FROM THE LOUNGE OVERLOOKING THE MEADOW AND BEYOND TO THE PEAK DISTRICT
THIS IS THE FULL SIZE BATHROOM.[BATH WITH SHOWER,TOILET WASH HAND BASIN]
THIS IS THE BENCH THAT OVERLOOK'S THE COUNTRYSIDE.
THIS IS A VIEW OF THE 2 ACRE PLAY-SAFE FIELD.
THIS IS THE FARM GARDEN VIEW.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Winkhill, Leek, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rhianna D
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful place, lovely owners”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Including myself there were 7 of us who stayed at Meadow Cottage and we all absolutely adored our stay there. We booked for 3 nights but unfortunately had to leave after the second night for personal reasons - Graham was very understanding and it caused no problems.

Graham met us all on our first day with tea and was extremely welcoming and helpful in pointing us to a takeaway as we didn't want to cook that evening. The cottage was clean and stocked with the essentials as well as being very homely. We spent our days and nights in the cottage, having no reason to leave since we'd brought board games (and some were provided too!) and Graham kindly lent us a ball and some cricket equipment to use on the Play Safe Field.

Graham was a wonderful and gracious host and we all really enjoyed our stay. Our only problems were getting signal on our mobiles - though that is of course not Graham's fault! - and using the WiFi, which could be a bit tempermental.

Overall had a fantastic time and would go back! Thank you, Graham!:-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess A
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location and amazing value”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I have stayed at Broomyshaw cottages 3 times now with different groups of friends. I have stayed in meadow and stable cottages and my friends have stayed in swallow cottage. We absolutely love it here and will definitely be coming back next year for a 4th visit. Graham and his family make you feel very welcome and the cottages are really comfortable and cosy. The prices are great value and the location is amazing, beautiful walks and scenery on the doorstep and Alton towers is a 10 minute drive for those who want a bit more excitement!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainag
1 review
“Great location and very good value.”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Owners next door are lovely and even waited up for us arriving at 01:30am.
Thank you Graham!
Location is superb and cottage well equipped although you will need to bring your own towels

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIA A
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottage had everything that you could possibly need for a family break clean and comfortable. selection of games and DVD's to keep the children occupied.
within easy reach of Alton Towers

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet with great views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quant country cottage for two families.”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had the pleasure of staying at Meadow Cottage for 3 nights while holidaying from New Zealand. It slept two families (8) with no problems. It was great to be all together at night after exhausting/fun days spent at Alton Towers (which is about 4miles away). Its in the countryside with lots of animals i.e. Elliot the miniature horse.
The kitchen has everything you need, including a washing machine. Graham is very friendly and helpful. There's a 300 year old pub nearly, which we enjoyed a drink or two. The name of the property is Broomyshaw Country Cottages. Its between Winkhill and Waterhouses. Quite difficult to find, so we rang Graham and got better directions by phone. All and all we loved our stay there and would recommend it, especially if you are going to Alton Towers. So much cheaper and nicer than B&B's.
We don't have very old buildings in NZ, so to have to put coins into the power meter was something very strange to my boys. I think they thought they were staying in a museum!!! Especially with all the antique machinery outside in the gardens etc. So have some 1pound coins ready!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The look and feel of the old cottage.
Liked least: Having to walk back from the pub!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing