We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Long Weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Moles House

Moles House with the River Esk in the foreground.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moles House with the River Esk in the foreground.
The new kitchen fitted January 2017 The new kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Moles House with the River Esk in the foreground.
The new kitchen fitted January 2017
The new kitchen
Leading through to the utility room
The sunroom with views of the fields, home to sheep, pheasants and rabbits!
The living room with cosy wood burning stove
The South facing elevated garden with river views.
The Pheasant Room , Kingsize with views of fields at the back and side and river to the front.
The Goose Room
The View from the Goose Room window
Owls Room, bunkbeds, a single and also a chair bed, river views.
Stepping Stones to the pub!!
The House Sign
Ground Floor Floor plan
Upstairs Floorplan
The family bathroom
Outside space at the back, safe and secure, children play house.
Shallow steps down to the parking area.
The Pub, Horseshoe Hotel
Shallow steps to the entrance.
Views from the front door to the river.
Front lawn
Whitby, go for fish and chips.
Cosy lounge with wood burner.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Egton Bridge, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jayne799
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Long Weekend”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a long weekend at Moles house and we loved it. It's perfectly located , close to Whitby, Rosedale, Dalby Forest, Pickering and the North Yorkshire Railway. Grosmont is about 1 and a half miles walk away. there are plenty of lovely walks in the area and my husband and son took their mountain bikes over to Rosedale for a the lovely views. I drove over and took them a picnic, then had a lovely walk taking in the stunning scenery. The house was clean and welcoming. Beds were comfy and it was so quiet, The house overlooks the river and we saw fish jumping, the bird feeder in the garden attracted lots of gorgeous little birds and the cows in the field behind wandered past on one of the evenings. There are 3 nice pubs within walking distance and one evening we drove to Whitby for dinner (approx 8 miles away) and had beautiful views of the sun setting over the sea and Whitby Abbey.
The kitchen is very well equipped, everything in the house is good quality and high standard. We definitely plan to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review and you certainly packed in the visits! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Moles House, please come again and explore some more corners of the North Yorkshire Moors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely response about Moles House, really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for leaving the house so tidy and clean, please come again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean J
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous place wonderful views so tranquil wildlife and birds amazing.”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My son and daughter in law bought us a weekend in moles house as a Christmas present. Wow what a present. We all went together with our grandchildren. Absolutely plenty of space in the house. Beautiful kitchen with everything you could possibly want in it. Lovely conservatory with large dining table which looked out over the fields amazing views and the birds were a pleasure to watch. So close to Whitby goathland and grosmont. We saw the steam train leaving the station going across the valley. Quiet and peaceful but plenty to see and do nearby if that's what you want.we would certainly recommend this lovely well acquiiped cottage.jean Jenkinson. March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Hello Jean, thank you for your review and so pleased you had an enjoyable stay at Moles House.We also love watching the birds and if you're lucky you can sometimes see otters in the river at the front. Please come and stay again to explore some more of what this wonderful corner of the country has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerill
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely location, Comfortable (but definitely not stylish) Cottage”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We loved the location of this cottage, in a valley in the Yorkshire National Park. It felt really remote and there were great walks nearby. At night it was very dark and quiet, which is just what we were hoping for. There were some really nice touches in this cottage, like a basket of free logs for the wood burner, recipe books, a hand blender and lots of beautiful white china plates. There was also a Christmas tree. The master bedroom was triple aspect, had a Christmas themed duvet cover and cushions, a sofa and a cot in it. There were a lot of useful things in the cottage, if you have young children.
However, parts of the cottage were very dated, particularly the sitting room and kitchen.
The kitchen work surfaces were tiled and grouted, and the cooker was very old.
There is only one shower in this property (downstairs) and the water pressure is not good, so getting everyone showered in the morning is not possible.
The downstairs bedroom was definitely more suited to being used as a playroom rather than a bedroom as access to it is through the living room.
The cottage has old cuddly toys in nearly every room.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thanks for your review, just to let you know the kitchen is being replaced this weekend, new eye level cooker , induction hob, worktops, redecorated and new blinds. Glad you enjoyed the walks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillDWrex...
Wrexham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Holiday Home”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved staying at Moles House. It was spacious, well maintained and the kitchen was wonderfully equipped with more than enough equipment and utensils etc for 2 families. We would thoroughly recommend the area which has so much to see and do.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Hi Jill, great to hear you had a nice time at Moles House and thank you for your kind feedback. We never ever tire of visiting the North Yorkshire Moors.
Thanks Naomi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;