We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Experience Tuscany the right way!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of VILLINO DEL GRILLO

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Pancole, San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Andrea C
2 reviews
“Experience Tuscany the right way!”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What can I say about this place? It was such a huge reason on why our trip to Tuscany was so incredible. We stayed 8 days in this property and I have nothing but good memories to share. The place is neat, comfortable, equipped with all kitchen appliances and washing machine, surrounded by a spectacular landscape. The owners Giovanni and Silvia are great! Very pleasant, willing to help, full of nice suggestions on how to enjoy the area, truly caring about your well being while there. We tried their local produced wine and fresh eggs. For us it was an incredible experience, we could really experiment a bit of the Tuscan countryside. From there we drove to the major Tuscan cities with no issues, and thanks to them we learned that we could take the train to Florence rather than facing the parking constraints there. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Dear Andrea
Thank you very much.
Your review is beautiful and we are proud and happy to have made your holiday beautiful.
We hope to have you guests again.
You are wonderful guests.
Thank you, Giovanni and Silvia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne_and...
Peterborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Book Villino Grillo - the reviews speak for themselves!”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Dear Giovanni, Sylvia, and Family,

Thank you so much for your wonderful Italian hospitality. When I first came upon Villino del Grillo online and read your positive reviews, I knew right away that we needed to experience it for ourselves! And I am so glad we did.

Your rental cottage is beautiful and has everything we needed for a comfortable stay. But more importantly you made us feel so welcome and gave us the true Italian cultural experience we were looking for.

From the moment we arrived you were looking out for our every need. We thoroughly enjoyed your homemade wine. It was such a nice welcome along with freshly laid eggs from the chickens on your farm. We also appreciated your recommendations of what sights to see and where the locals like to eat. Our visit was thoroughly enjoyable.

As I write this we are spending our last night night here at Villino del Grillo. As many others have suggested we are feeling a bit sad to leave and wish we had booked longer of a stay here.

Thank you to you and your family for all of your kindness. And to any others reading this: the reviews speak for themselves. You will not be disappointed. If you are seeking an authentic Tuscan experience, look no further than Villino del Grillo. My husband and I have rented many different accommodations in different European countries. Villino del Grillo and Giovanni and his family exceeded all of our expectations by far.

Thank you for everything. We will definitely back and will recommend you to our friends and family.

Sincerely,

Anne and Christian Rutherford
Ontario, Canada

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Carissi Anne and Christian

I have no words to thank you for your beautiful words.
Your review, for us, has a great value that you can not imagine. No other publicity may be just as important.
By your words you confirm one of our bet: the great goals are reached taking care and giving value to many small things.
And 'so that the Villino del Grillo, every day taking care of every little detail, maintaining the values of a small family business, gives guests peace, tranquility and intimacy.

Thanks again and come back as soon as possible to Villino del Grillo.

Giovanni.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123geoffj
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely spot. Attentive and gracious hosts.”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This apartment is in a former barn/cellar of a small working farm. As such it is not luxurious and is rather dark: barns don't have many windows!
Having said that, it was excellent value for money and perfectly adequate for a couple, though would be a squash for any more.
The really strong points are its location on a quiet country lane, but in easy reach of all the main Tuscany tourist "must visits": Siena, Firenzi, San Gimignano, Voltera, etc. The local town of Certaldo also has a lovely medieval walled citadel.
The owners couldn't have been nicer or more helpful, and really do want you to have a great time in Tuscany.
Whilst a car is pretty much essential, Sienna and Firenzi are much easier to visit by train from Certaldo, avoiding the horrendous parking issues in these towns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners and location
Liked least: Living area rather dark and gloomy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review.
I regret that the Villino del Grillo is not completely to your liking.
However, I take this opportunity to provide some explanations to our future customers:
In San Gimignano Farmholiday - Agriturismo can be created only with the renovations of the old barns and old farmhouses used for agricultural activities.
The Villino del Grillo is born from a small barn of which the size and the rustic Tuscan style have been retained. The bedroom (14 sq.m.) is equipped with a large window, much larger than the current window. The living room, in addition to the input port, is provided with a wide door-glass window, which leads to a large terrace leading to the garden and sun-drenched for most of the day.
I would like to point out that to get the license to host people like "Farmholiday - Agriturismo" we must respect very strict rules, especially with regard to the size of the windows than the size of the room.
Obviously the size of Villno the Grillo are not suitable for large families.
I want to conclude by once again thanking the author of this review, because even critical for us are very important, as they help us make improvements Villino del Grillo, when possible.

Giovanni.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historymu...
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Villino de Grillo absolutely bellissimo!!!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A comfortable, well equipped, beautifully converted cottage with lovely typical rustic features, nestled into the hillside among Vines, Mulberry & Cherry trees & sweet smelling Jasmine, with amazing views of San Gimingano just a short walk up the hill.
Giovanni & Silvia and all the family are friendly, helpful & generous providing very tasty new laid eggs & their home produced wine which was very good indeed.
We highly recommend Villino de Grillo to have the full Tuscan experience, peace, quiet, scenery & generous hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tuscan hospitality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
Be available with our customers is always a pleasure.
It 's very interesting to know new people and different cultures.
The Villino del Grillo is a piece of our heart and is always a great satisfaction to make happy our clients.
Giovanni and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preglad
New York
Level 6 Contributor
940 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 690 helpful votes
“If a week's stay in Tuscany could be better, we don't need to know of it”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Villino del Grillo consists of everything ideally suited for a wonderful pampered and rustic though convenient stay in the San Gimignano area of Tuscany. Yet it is clearly so much more than its wonderful parts, with bonuses so generous, and a family delightful to encounter and get to know just a bit.

We read through the book on arrival as well as the advance TripAdvisor reviews. Yet nothing prepares one for the myriad of pleasures of a week here, and it's clear that leaving for further adventures elsewhere comes a bit of a mixed blessing.

I have been traveling over a lifetime through almost twenty European countries, almost half of them many times and lengthily involving each engagement. Nothing by way of accommodation has even proven itself more memorable than being here, and very few approach the level of sheer pleasure we experienced in our week at Villino del Grillo.

Book early or someone else will steal the opportunity from under your nose.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facility and setting are lovely, the family wonderful and the bonuses very generous
Liked least: Having to leave by far--
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Dear Bernard and Mary

Thank you so much for your review.
Your description is beautiful, almost heart-warming.
Silvia has been deeply moved by your beautiful words.
For us, your gesture is important, it is priceless.
Any our description about the Villino del Grillo, could never be comparable to your review.
You have truly appreciated the true soul of the Villino del Grillo. You this way, you have shown that our commitment to make the Cottage a special place, was successful.
Thank you, thank you and thank you again.
You were two guests really special.
We hope to see again you again very soon.

Giovanni and Silvia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing