We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
129
104
46
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
104
46
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee and fruit juice san gimignano pool area restaurant staff air conditioning beautiful countryside small hotel via francigena peace and quiet pleasant stay comfortable rooms room was large home made olive oil flower garden night holiday balcony
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We started our holiday here with 2 nights stay. The hotel itself is very nice, although it is rather remote.
Rooms are a good size, comfortable and clean. Breakfasts and evening meals are very nice. But on our second night there was a lot of noise ! People being very loud and it went on all night. We rang reception to complain and the person claimed not to speak English. They didn't bother to come up and find out what was wrong or try to speak to us in the morning. A real shame as it tainted a pleasant stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RobertsonSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear guest,
thank you for the review and for the information you consider important.
I’m sorry for what happened during your stay with us, because we could not solve the matter. The night porter does speak English correct and any question you have explained to him, he could not understand. In this case he is used to say few poor words to inform when English speaking colleagues are available at reception. By this way, the night porter was sure that you would have said to the reception the morning after. That is why, any question or claim guests could have had, it was necessary to tell at the receptionist, the correct person who is uncharged to manage the guest’s claims.
I would also say that in a 3 stars hotel, like we are, may happened to find staff who is using poor knowledge of foreign languages or does know any. In this case a small dictionary or a direct way to speak in person, would be helpful, instead of a phone conversation.
I would also say that very laud people are not regularly staying with us and your shame of a night is not in our standard. Regards and apologizes from Hotel Le Renaie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Nice clean and comfortable hotel, friendly staff and great breakfast topped off by sitting eating on the veranda. Lovely

Rooms small but comfortable and all in all a great choice

Nice L shaped pool, opens at 0730 which is great but closes at 1930, which is not. late night dip would have been nice

Room Tip: Get to breaklfast early!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Turtle5954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear guest,
Many thanks for the nice review. Many thanks from all my colleagues and me for the valuable consideration of us. The copious breakfast and the service on the veranda for all our restaurant services is something special, particularly during the summer, when the morning the air is still fresh and in the evening when the light and colors of the sky make a unique atmosphere. Sorry for the pool closed at night. If that’s our lonely question from you, it’s accepted.
We wish to welcome you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

This hotel has great flower garden and very comfortable rooms.Friendly and warm staff can make you feel at home.The clean and pretty nice rooms has beautiful view .Especially Leonette restaurant which is in the hotel has most delicious meals in San Gimignano.You can also get relax in swimming pool.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear guest,
Many thank your nice review, you felt exactly what we like the feeling can be with us. Like at home. All together the property and the staff is doing the best possible, to realize the home feeling and the relax. At the desk on welcome, when you have your preferred drink, when you have dinner with the delicious food the two chefs can offer every day. We wish to welcome you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Do not book this hotel!
Dirty hotel, old furniture.
This place need a big facelift. The people in reception where friendly but the restaurant staff where a bit rude. The made rolling eyes/Or very anoing answer when asking about table Or something on meny.
Had a really bad smell in bathroome (fish) but they did not do anything about it.
Breakfast was the best thing on hotel. And we had balcony with sun in evening.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear guest,
we have read your review with a little surprise if we compare to the reviews of other guests. Anyway this is what you experienced and I accept your opinion. Actually this is the occasion to say all the guests staying with us, that if there is something to complain, the perfect way is to tell once you are here, when we can manage and are able to follow up. We are happy that you have found a good breakfast and assistance from the reception. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Very Close to San Giminiano, this hotel offers restaurant service (except on Tuesday). The rooms and bath rooms are clean, but sober (wi-fi did not function in the rooms on 2nd floor). In the scorching heat of Tuscany in July, the Air Conditioning in the rooms gave the necessary refreshment. A lot of choice was offered at Breakfast (outside; beautiful weather), although we prefer coffee and fruit juice a little bit more home made. In all, a decent hotel to visit San Giminiano. Friendly assistance overall.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AlainL2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear guest,
we thank you for the review and the information you have liked to recommend about the hotel. Essentiality is generally very important when staying in the country side and the friendly assistance, is a precious treasure for the hotel guests. We would like to welcome you again in the future, with the best wi-fi connection of the world. Regards from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews